Horizontal Down Dog

Hey all! Hope you’re having a fab start to your week!

Before I get into yesterday, it’s official! I signed up to take the ACE exam for next month! I think a couple of you thought I had already taken the exam and was certified when I posted my certificate of when I finished the course, but that was just a certification saying that I successfully completed the ACE Personal Training Certification course! Confusing, I know – haha. Anyway, a few of the other girls from the class are going to the same one and we’re car-pooling – should be a good time! Now it’s time to get into study, study, study mode.

Unfortunately, my start was a wee bit a lot stressful (like hardly getting up from my desk to take a potty break and phone ringing off the hook stressful) unfortunately. Although, I did get in a groove for a while there while listening to the Glee channel on Pandora 😀 It’s OK…because this week is only three days for me – then it’s a four day weekend! Holler 😉

The thing about stress, for me, is that it really knocks me flat on my ass. I typically boast about having an immune system that’s as strong as an army. I can be around sick people all day long, and not get sick…as long as I’m not under stress. And usually I don’t let the stress demon get the best of me, but today, it snuck up on me and gave me a surprise attack! That, plus only getting a couple hours of good sleep last night can take its toll.

So, when I was planning on telling you all about my new yoga class experience I had last night (I even rocked out some of my new Lululemon gear and did a tree pose before leaving):

IMG_2265

…then my throat got sore. It’d been getting steadily sore-er all day long, but it hit me right as I started flashing the tree pose. So I turned my downward-facing dog horizontally…

IMG_2268

..and took a nap!

IMG_2278

Niko loves taking naps with her mama 😀

 

OK, then afterward I did a couple of regular-way downward dogs to a hot yoga podcast:

IMG_2287

And I’d like to tell you it was a glorious hot yoga sesh, but I think I’d rather be horizonal, heh. It’s actually probably good I stayed home. I haven’t had a “night in” since last Monday. Yikes.

 

I did make it around to cook up a nice dinner, though!

Spaghetti Squash and Meat(less) Balls

Also in the mix there, were some sliced zucchini and tomatoes. This dish was easy peasy. I roasted a spaghetti squash, and while that was roasting, I sauteed some sauce (tomato sauce, olive oil, garlic, Italian seasoning – or you just use Prego 😉 ) with some of the Trader Joe’s meatless balls, zucchini, and tomatoes, then tossed all together!

IMG_2288 IMG_2289

IMG_2292

And then on the side, was this dough-y, carby, garlic-y goodness:

IMG_2290

Mmm. So good when cooked in the oven in tinfoil with a little Earth Balance or butter.

 

IMG_2291

Trader Joes, if you’re reading this, you need to open a store in Central Illinois. Kapeesh? 😉

I had very little energy the rest of the night, so I plopped on the couch with the husband and some loose leaf tea, and zoned out to some educational One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl. Like veggies for the mind! haha 😉

IMG_2293IMG_2294

And then a little while later, I got up the gumption to make some banana soft serve!

IMG_2298

Wait…what’s on my banana softs erve, you ask? Well, before I made the soft serve, I pulsed Averie’s peanut butter cups I made the other day in the food processor, and then topped the soft serve. Best. Thing. EVER!

I hope you all have a wonderful today! I’m not sure how long I’ll last at work. I was up and down blowing the nose all night, and it hurts to talk. I know I hate when people come to work and spread their germs, so if I don’t feel any better, I might not last too long! We’ll see though.

32 Responses

  1. Keep fighting that cold. It would be a shame to spend a four day week end sick in bed:-(

    Sore throat or not, you look great in your new Lulu atire.

  2. Hope you feel better very very soon!!!

  3. Oh no, I hope I didn’t get you sick! Haha, wouldn’t that be horrible if germs spread through the blog world? I hope you feel better soon!

  4. I’m the exact same way. I can fight off anything, but throw some stress and a few sleepless nights in the mix, and I’m immediately sick. Rest up my dear, you’ll be better in no time 😉

  5. Aren’t spaghetti squash noodles the best thing ever? I actually think I prefer their texture over traditional spaghetti/linguine/angelhair. Can’t find a good substitute for my beloved rotini, however. Darn!!

    Feel better!!

  6. Yay for signing up to take your test!! Congrats!

  7. I hope you’re feeling better today! and yay for signing up for the exam 😉

  8. Love the banana soft serve with the peanut butter cups. Yum! I’ll have to try it!

  9. Feel better. I need to try those PB cups. Can you taste the nutritional yeast? (I’m thinking of the right recipe, right?)

  10. SYNERGY GIVEAWAY!

  11. sorry about the sore throat! and dude.. pandora at work is a god send. i hear you on the busy thing at work! averie’s recipes are the best.

  12. I hope you feel better soon. Get a lot of rest.

  13. Sorry you weren’t feeling well. Hope it’s better today!

    So Gossip Girl was on?!? I turnd it over and it didn’t look like it was on. Man!

  14. hey girl! thanks so much for visiting my blog and I am SO happy you did bc now I found you (how did I not find you sooner?!)

    yeah, the persimmon was notthing to write home about but I was told that I need to try the other variety called Fuyu?
    ohhh averie has the best recipes!!!!! so jelly in the belly of the banana soft serve with the PB cups!

  15. oh man- I hope you feel better girl! That dinner looks INCREDIBLE! I haven’t had spaghetti squash in forever- so good. Good luck on the ACE exam!

  16. I’m a huge spaghetti squash fan, seriously have it 1-2 times a week!

    Hope you feel better soon!

  17. Feel better soon deary! You and your doggy are adorable!

    That squash meal is genius.. definitely going to have to try that soon. They need to open a TJ’s in FL too! 🙂

  18. Go you for signing up to take the ACE exam! You are going to do amazingly well, too 🙂

    Oh, and I got the banana keeper! I hadn’t checked the mail all week and since we will be out of town for a few days I went and saw the package in there. You are too sweet!

    I hope you feel better soon!

  19. Central Illinois…close to Champaign? I went to U of I, and my husband is from Champaign… : )

    Love the post, your pup is cuuuute! And your food for the day looks yummmm-eee!

  20. Time out! Where do you live? I grew up in Central Illinois and only moved to Ohio three years ago!

  21. Feel better girl!! I love your yoga mat, btw- where’d you get it??

    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  22. Question for you… You know I’m a senior in high school, so I’m obviously working out my “life plan” at this point for what I want to major in and what I want for a furture career. Right now, I’m thinking that I could really see myself working/managing a fitness or wellness center. I can see myself doing a variety of jobs – sports related nutrition, teaching yoga classes, personal training, and everyday managing tasks. I was wondering what you would think a good major for this path would be??? I’m obviously very interested in nutrition, but I wouldn’t want that to be the only thing I do all day. However, isn’t it very important to be an RD if you want to give any sort of couseling/advice, even random advice? In a perfect world, I think a combination of Kinesiology, Nutrition, and Management would be ideal, but that’s really not humanly possible unless I want to go to school for 10 years. Do you think I could get where I wanted to be by majoring in Dietetics, getting a Certification in Business from my college, and then taking an ACE course like you are doing?

    Sorry for the long comment, but hopefully you have some ideas for me! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  23. Hope you are feeling better!! I’m with you on the not going to work sick – rest up!

  24. I hope you are feeling better! Your yoga mat is awesome – love the colors 🙂

  25. Hey girl, I confess, I dont have you in my reader. But you’re there now. I have no idea how I have lived without all your posts.
    First, thank you for the shout outs on the PB Cups again!

    Lulu-always great.

    Your ACE. OMG I have been talking with 2 other girls, actually Naomi who commented on this post and Jessica of HowSweet regarding getting my CPT. I have my 200 hour yoga credential and have since 2001. I have no desire to really do tons of personal training; rather want to get it to supplement my yoga knowledge and just enhance my overall health, wellness, fitness knowledge. Shoot me an email if you have time…but did you feel like ACE was easy, worth it, hard, etc. I was thinking of getting my ACSM rather than ACE. But I have narrowed it down to those 2.

    Did you feel like there was anything holistic, natural, earthy hippy dippy friendly about ACE? ACSM seems soooo clinical from what I can tell just looking into it…almost too much so.

    Anyway feel free to email and chat bout this, would love to when you have a free minute 🙂
    xoxox

    • Aw, thanks! I love your blog! Always entertaining and definitely informative 🙂 I actually took an ACE course at my local community college first, and I’m SO glad I did. The instructor was amazing, and the additional information we learned was invaluable. I actually haven’t taken the actual ACE exam – and won’t until next month, and then I’ll be officially certified (if I pass – gotta get studying! haha) I think having a personal training certification would be a great supplement to your yoga credentials. ACE is great, but I think as long as you get it through an accredited program (I believe ACSM is accredited as well) you should be good. Yes, ACE was pretty by the book and structured, however, my instructor told us as long as we follow the basic guidelines, we can incorporate our styles into our training. Overall, I felt most of what we learned in the ACE text was common sense (to a fitness-minded individual) with some memorization required (muscles, bones, body part movements, etc.) Let me know what you decide!

      Have a great day! Paige

Leave a Reply

