Still Sickly

Good morning, bloggy friends. First off, thaaaank you for all the well wishes! You guys are way too freakin’ sweet :-D         

Although it’s almost afternoon, I just arose from my bed. Yep, the sickness definitely didn’t get better. I didn’t go in to work today, and any chance of going into work around lunchtime like I said I’d try to is getting less and less. My fever is only about 1.5º over what it usually is, but I feel like a truck hit me. And I’ll be damned if I let this sickness ruin Thanksgiving! So, I’m hereby ordering myself to bedrest for the day. This is very hard for me. Very, very hard for me. I’m the type of person where I can’t sit still. In fact, the husband and I joke that we can’t sit down to watch movies/TV for the night until 8:00. But it’s true, I usually won’t let myself “retire for the night” until 8:00 or else I feel lazy! I like it that way though 😀

So I came home from work around noon yesterday, but brought my laptop home to do some work, because I was super slammed with a couple deadlines. Although it sucked to be working at home, being in bed with PJ’s on and my doggy next to me sure helped!

After a while, I took a brake from this:

IMG_0933

to make some soup/casserole that sounded superb to me. I’d been wanting to try this recipe out from Vive le Vegan for a while, but then decided yesterday was the perfect day to do so.

IMG_2299

 

There’s a lot of ingredients that are super healing and medicinal. Just what I needed. Ingredients such as garlic, coconut, and curry would be sure to help speed up this cold.

Although there’s a lot of ingredients, the recipe was super simple. Just combine everything and put in the oven, stir, cook it s’more, and eat!

IMG_2302IMG_2304

Ahh… this was definitely a lunch for the mind, body and soul. It also got things moving around my stuffed up head. I made the whole batch, because I knew I’d want leftovers.

The rest of my day was spent here:

IMG_2308Niko kept me company (and warm – she’s like a heat blanket.) While Clarabelle was the “watch cat” to the bedroom:

IMG_2309

She always lays in the doorway when I’m in the bedroom. Silly kitty.

The cold got worse as the night went on, and then by about 6, I had the chills until I went to bed. I think my shower lasted a good hour and a half. You know where you just don’t want to get out because the heat just feels so good. Yep, one of those kind of showers.

This morning has been pretty pitiful. I’ve been drifting in and out of sleep, and checking my work emails and doing a little bit of work in between. Hopefully all this rest will = a very healthy Thanksgiving Paige!

Hope today is going fabulously for everyone! Ciao!

13 Responses

  1. Hope you feel better girl!!

  2. Sounds like you have the FLU. H1N1, anyone? Feels like a truck hit you, can’t get out of bed, fever, shower feels perfect… yup, you got it. Stay in bed, don’t do anything, and REST. You’ll be better soon, but don’t push it. Feel better, honey!

  3. Awww rest up! I hope you feel better tomorrow.

  4. Feel better! Enjoy Twilight in bed : )

  5. I love that animals make such good heaters! My cat sleeps on me everynight, and all I have to use is a fleece blanket instead of our down comforter.

    I hope you feel better for tomorrow! It sounds like you have flu symptoms 😦

  6. Feel better!!!! Drink lots of fluids and rest!!!

  7. Good plan to rest and recoup 🙂 Feel better!!!

  8. Oh dear…I’m so sorry…I hope you feel better soon! You should be able to enjoy your holidays without any sickness!

    that is a medicinal dish indeed….but sounds fabulously delicious, too!

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

  9. Hope you’re better for Thanksgiving!! Rest and dog cuddles usually do the trick.

  10. I agree with the other comments…your symptoms sound worse than a cold:-( Rest, rest, rest, and Thanksgiving can be put off until Saturday or Sunday when you are thankful to feel better.

    So sorry 😦

  11. […] I started my Thanksgiving out yesterday by hitting up the gym with a friend. I’ve been sick the better part of this week, and it was my first time exercising since Sunday. Although I woke up feeling about 80% better than […]

Leave a Reply

