Sleeping In + Black Friday?

Yes, my friends. It’s doable 😉

Hey everyone! Happy Black Friday! Have you crazies been up since 3:30 a.m.?? :-p Shane and I got an awesome Black Friday deal on a  new frontloading LG washer and dryer! I’ve wanted these for years! Our washer/dryer is getting pretty ghetto. And we didn’t even have to wake up at an insane hour to score them! Thank baby Jesus for online Black Friday deals! And free shipping 😉

And did everyone have a good Thanksgiving? I started my Thanksgiving out yesterday by hitting up the gym with a friend. I’ve been sick the better part of this week, and it was my first time exercising since Sunday. Although I woke up feeling about 80% better than I did Wednesday, my body was not ready for a work out. After 10 minutes on the treadmill, I felt weak, shaky, and headachy. When we switched over to the elliptical and I still felt that way, I bowed out and opted to do some stretching and light ab work while my friend finished her workout. My hard work was definitely rewarded when we hit up Starbuckie’s afterward and got some lattes in their holiday cups! I got the gingerbread latte and it was delicious, however, my friend’s peppermint white mocha smelled even better!

I have to admit, while I wasn’t in tip top shape to be working out just quite yet, the little workout I did get made me feel great afterword, and gave me plenty of energy to get started on cooking for the day’s festivities:

IMG_2315  And that’s me post workout, pre shower and makeup ha..

I baked my booty off! Starting with a vegan pumpkin pie:IMG_2317 IMG_2318

This was the first time I made my own pie crust, and although the crust was a wee bit too thick, it turned out amazing! Lookie:

IMG_2320IMG_2321

And I also made some kale chips for the first time:

IMG_2319IMG_2322 

I was totally surprised when my dad told me he loved these! And then I was even more blown away when my brother said he liked them! He’s like the husband in that he thinks Green Monsters are absolutely disgusting, and before he tried it he said it better not be anything I put in those green monsters! haha. I think I waited until after he tried it to tell him that yes, occasionally kale does go into the green monsters. Muahaha

I also made Autumn Puree and Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas, but forgot to take pictures.

We took off to my parents’ house around 2:00, and when we got there, we started on the drinks:

IMG_2324 

My parents’ house is dry, so we stuck to kiddy cocktails. Can’t you tell? 😉 IMG_2326

Actually, that’s a mich ultra in Shane’s hand and a mimosa in mine. Oh, and this is post-shower and makeup. Much bettah 😀

I actually didn’t stuff myself for this meal. I think having two Thanksgivings will do that to you. But this was my plate:

 IMG_2328

Smashed red potatoes with green onion and sour cream, aforementioned autumn puree and chickpeas, croissant, and some cauliflower. Now that’s a plate full of carbs! It did kind of feel like I was missing out a bit when I didn’t have any ham or turkey, but remembering why I’m not eating it helped a lot. I did end up going back for some cauliflower, and then had a big ol’ piece of pumpkin pie with some vanilla ice cream.

 

How did your Thanksgiving go? What was your favorite dish this year? How about your least favorite?! – were there any total duds?? haha

8 Responses

  1. Everythign looks great, my fav dish is always my Mom’s dressing!

  2. You’re so cute in that photo! 🙂 Good for you for working out but stopping when you needed to. I always want to exercise when I am sick too 😉

    Your vegan pie looks prettier than ours! Did you share the recipe? I don’t recall 🙂

    We are celebrating Thanksgiving today, so I will have to do a little post about the goods and the duds. A lot of the recipes are new vegan ones 🙂

    Score on the LG appliances! WOO HOO!

  3. So could I dogsit that sweetie, Niko, and bring my laundry to your place? As soon as my washer/dryer dies, those are the kind I want.
    My favorite dish this year was the mashed sweet potatoes and squash, and my least favorite was the ham. Dear Dad insisted on ham and raved about it, but I won’t eat it.

  4. Canadian Thanksgiving passed a while ago but it was really nice 🙂

  5. Glad you were feeling a bit better to enjoy the holidays! You and Shane are so cute together! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  6. You look adorable even sans makeup and shower! Happy belated thanksgiving!!

  7. […] sure. Today is also the day our new Black Friday deal should arrive. We scored a deal on an amazing LG front loading washer dryer, that I’m super pumped to use. I’m gonna be a clothes washing machine-queen when I get back […]

  8. […] the side I had some Kale chips I made with kale, sea salt, and nutritional yeast, but my appetite was way too quick for the cam. […]

Leave a Reply

