Fruits and Veggies In, Toxins OUT!

Hey, hey, hey! Happy it’s still the weekend for those who had Thanksgiving off, and happy now it’s the weekend for those who didn’t 😀

I had quite the productive Friday yesterday. After a week full of coughing, hacking, being immobile, and sniffling, in addition to consuming copious amounts of yummy food, and champagne on Thanksgiving, I was definitely ready for a get my bod back in healthy mode. I hadn’t actually sweat (due to a workout, not a fever) since Sunday, and I was just feeling icky and congested with nastiness. Cute, heh?;-)

Naturally, the first step to this remedy is a Green Monster breakfast. Upon waking up, and after chugging some coffee for the first time in a week (coffee and wine, my two loves, repulse me when I’m ill) I threw 1 frozen banana, 2 cups of kale, 1 chopped carrot, 1 scoop of Amazing Grass Amazing Meal Chocolate Powder, and some chocolate Almond Milk, and 1 T of dark chocolate Maranatha’s almond butter into the blender, and whipped up this glorious concoction:

image

I swear, this combination keeps me FULL for days. Or at least until noon.

Shane had to head out to Chicago to a datacenter to the ball rolling on a project he and his business partner are working on, and he’d be gone all day long, so I decided to make it a productivo day. After whittling down my huge pile o’ laundry, I started to whittle my middle and twerk it out. It was this first workout since Sunday since I was a sweaty beast afterward, and I welcomed it with (sweaty) open arms 😀

I deed:

  • 10 minute warm up on the elliptical
  • Upper body: chest, shoulders, tri’s
    • overhead press
    • lateral raise
    • supine longarm pullover (haven’t done these in a while – helllooo upper triceps burn! 🙂
    • chest press on stability ball
    • triceps dips
    • pushups
  • 30 minutes on elliptical
  • stretch it out

Speaking of stretching it out, I’ll have to either do a post or finally make a fitness tab and show you my go-to stretches that I do after every. single. cardio. workout. By now it’s just habit, but it’s my tried and true post-workout stretching exercises!

After working out, I felt energized and ready to take on the day, so I got started on my first task: preparing for the new LG front-loading washer and dryer. We are changing which room our laundry room will be when they arrive (on Friday EEEP!!!) so I had to clear out that room for the big arrival. Then I kinda got on a kick and just decided to give the basement a good deep cleaning for old time sake.

After all this work, I was haaangry. I knew just what I wanted: a Hugh Jass salad, baby.

IMG_2329

You’re looking at the base of the salad rightchyeah – spinach, kale, button mushrooms, tomato, and red, yellow, and orange bell pepper.

Then a crumbled veggie burger, Goddess dressing, goat cheese, and a hummus glob was piled on:

IMG_2330

Served up in a medium-sized Pyrex bowl:

IMG_2331

Oh yes. Scrumptious it was. Afterward I may or may not have had some juicy delicious pineapple and a couple raw chocolate chip balls.

A little more cleaning was done, and then some indecisive texting back and forth with one of my friends about whether we wanted to brave the crowds or not and finally, we decided to get our crowd-pushing, deal-snatching faces on:

IMG_2332

OK, I actually don’t shop like that, so I’m not sure what that face is, but holy pale face! I gave up tanning after my second year in college, and my skin’s been awesome to me since, but I still have to get used to the paleness from time to time.

So, I jumped in my car, and realized Shane wasn’t kidding when he said I needed gas last night. He drove my car home from my parents’ and alerted me that my gas light was on, but he’s “seen the needle lower before.”

IMG_2335

Um yeah, husband. Not so much. I think I drove to the gas station on fumes!

I also got my shopping fuel:

IMG_2336

and prepared to power through the ultimate Black Friday nightmare: Tarrrggeeetttt (said in scary voice.) I should have taken a picture of the parking lot, although I’m sure you have all seen the crazy town that is Target. Apparently, we’re not really meant for Black Friday crowds, and called it quits after that LOL. I did manage to make it to Fresh Market, and picked up a selection of new and interesting additions to the RAN pantry:

IMG_2339

IMG_2340

Dinna:

IMG_2341

Most exciting score? Chocolate-covered banana chips!!!

IMG_2338

Foodgasms R Us. My friend Kristin mentioned these suckers were in the bulk bins there, and I knew I had to get my hands on em. You know what’s super sweet about the Fresh? They have these aisles of bins filled with different trail mixes, veggie chips, fruit chips, nuts, etc… and you can try before you buy! It’s about the best thing ever.

The husband and I had gran plans of going to a hocky game and playing poker with a few other couples, but he didn’t get done with his datacenter…ing until about 8:30, which meant he was home at 11:00, which did not = a night out. Instead, I decided to live on the edge and have a wild night of spice cabinet organizing. Yes, my friends, sometimes you just have to live on the edge.

Before, a cluttered, I-can’t-find-tumeric-I-could-have-swear-I-bought-tumeric mess:

IMG_2342

And after, alphabetized, and in rows, so I know I can find tumeric in the T secion:

IMG_2344which will stay like that for approximately one week.

To round out my getting-back-my-health Friday, I did some detoxyfying assisted back bends:

 

IMG_2353

Haha..like my slippers? Hmm…apparently I need to work on getting that left arm in closer to the ball. The stability ball is a great tool for the back bend. It’s so beneficial and feels sooo good. If you’re like me, you’re hunched over 90% of the day either at work, over the stove, etc, and a nice back bend stretch and do wonders for stretching out the chest and shoulders.

Finally, I finished off the night with some vino and blog reading:

IMG_2355

The blog reading didn’t last very long though. Clarabelle has been in such a needy/lovey-dovey mood with me lately, and fights for my attention and follows me everywhere! Including the computer room. Last night as I was sitting and the computer, she continuously strutted back and forth across the key board, just to get in my way of the computer, letting her huge puffy tail whap me on her way through:

IMG_2356 IMG_2357

You try ignoring this tail!

IMG_2360

 

Well I’m off a yoga class (if I can get out of here on time!) and then do some core work and cardio. Today the husband and I are putting up the tree!! I’m SO excited 😀

Do you feel the need to get back to your healthy ways after a bout of sickness or after a couple days of eating way too much?  I typically feel a nice, long sweat session will do the trick!

Have a wonderful Saturday, everybody!!

21 Responses

  1. As usual you get me motivated. I have been drinking coffee and online surfing since 7 this morning. After reading your blog, I’m off for the gym!
    Did you like those beets from Fresh Market? I LOVE hot buttered beets, but I usually skip the work of boiling and peeling them. I just open a can, heat them up and salt, pepper and butter ’em. Again, you motivate me; after the gym, I’m off to Krogers for a few cans of beets:-)

  2. Those chocolate covered banana chips look awesome!!!

    For some reason eating really simple food always makes me feel back on track with my health. Fancy or packaged stuff starts to make me feel blah after a while.

    Have fun putting up the treeeee!!

  3. Love your green monster mix this morning!! And that salad?!?! Nice.. nothing makes me feel better than a bunch of fresh veggies.

    Props to you for alphabetizing your spices.. what a super idea. i have a spinning rack thing and still can never find anything! lol

  4. Yup, I definitely went to the gym for a 3 mile run yesterday. And I had salad for lunch today. I feel much better.

    I can never find the turmeric either. And I think I have those slippers. Target?

    • I don’t know why it’s such a hard spice to find! Slippers are my beloved Ugg moccasins I it for Christmas a few years ago! The target ones look just the same though. I just may go out and get that pair too. Love em!! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. I am jealous of your organized spice cupboard! I’m sure I have turmeric somewhere too 😉

  6. Thanks for your kind comments on my blog!

    Yes, I always feel the need to eat extra healthy after big meals or days of being sick. I have been attempting to eat healthy the past couple days, but it’s not working very well. I DID however get to workout, which was nice 🙂

    Your Hugh Jass Salad (haha) looks fantastic! And, I cracked up when I read your husbands words “I’ve seen it lower before” haha, sounds like a typical guy comment!

  7. Your spinach, kale, button mushrooms, tomato, and red, yellow, and orange bell pepper salad looks awesome!

    And so do the choc covered banana bites.

    And I just love the feeling of backbends and you look so open and peaceful in your backbend.

    What recipe are you using for the cookie dough balls? I went to the linked page you gave and the link on that page (beasties & balls) wasn’t working for me. Would love to see what recipe you’ve come up with for those!

  8. I’m totally with you–gotta get these toxins OUTTA here! Good for you for quitting the bed. I used to go from time to time in high school too but now I’m too scared of wrinkles 🙂

  9. I just do whatever I feel like doing…I don’t make myself feel like I have to eat a certain way or anything after a holiday of eating alot…just eat normally!! no ‘stupid’ restrictive/crazy cycles – life’s too short and food is too darned good!! nice blog 🙂

  10. I’m glad you are feeling a little better. Being sick BLOWS!

    I feel you on the paleness thing. I hate being so pale, but it’s not worth going to the tanning bed and getting skin cancer…

  11. I try and workout when sick b/c it makes me feel better unless too sick.

  12. chocolate covered banana chips sound yummy!!! That’s so scary about being so low on gas… that’s one of my worse nightmares lol. Very exciting about your Christmas tree! 🙂 Can’t wait for the holidays ❤

  13. Hi Paige,

    I just found your blog through Kath’s, and I’m really enjoying it!

    I’m definitely trying to be on my best behavior, health-wise, for the next few weeks before the Christmas/holiday festivities REALLY get going!

    Enjoy getting your tree– we’re decorating our house today too!

  14. […] having your husband eat the entire thing thinking there was mayo on his sandwich. I had yet another Hugh Jass salad. I didn’t have to substitute annnnything but hummus for more […]

  15. Great job getting all the toxins out! I gave up tanning too and the paleness gets me sometimes, haha. I think your skin looks gorg though 🙂

  16. You’re reading my blog!! 😉

    I love Clarabelle’s attention-getting tactics. My cats are pretty similar, although Willow will actually lay on my forearms while I’m typing away on the computer.

    P.S. You don’t look pale, your skin looks gorgeous!!! I totally know what you mean, though. I have very fair skin and quit tanning a couple years ago. I’m still trying to embrace the porcelain look!

Leave a Reply

