I’m BEET!

Hey everyone! I woke up a wee bit late this morning, so this post is going to be rather speedy.

Last night for dinner, I dreamed up some wild combinations in my head. Some came from recipes mixed in with my own ingredients, and some came purely from my brain. Scary, huh? πŸ˜‰

The stars in the show of dinner:

  • squash
  • red beans
  • golden beets
  • brussells sprouts

These stars scared the husband a little too much, so I ended up cooking him one of his faves – chicken and noodles in the slow cooker.

Jicama was also going to star last night, but then I figured I was getting a little ahead of myself, and I ixnayed it until tonight or tomorrow.

Anyway, I was doing about a million things at once for this dinner, since there were so many elements, but I started with the beets and the squash.

IMG_2414

I sliced up the acorn squashie, and cut the stems off of the beats, and popped them in the oven for 50 minutes at 375ΒΊ. At this point, I knew I’d need a little help with dinner, and luckily, help was available:

 

IMG_2415 While the beets and squash were cooking, I got started on the sauces:

– a sweet and spicy dark brown sauce for the squash and beans (which I adpated from ED & BV)

– a sweet and spicy sauce + almond butter for the sprouts

– a savory caper sauce for the beets (adapted from one of  this months Clean Eating recipes)

Next, I sauteed up the beets in said sauce, and then it was about time for everything to be done! Somehow I had perfect timing. This nevah happens! And surprisingly, everything turned out excellently!

IMG_2416

Actually, the brussell sprouts were a little too crunchy, so I stuck em in the microwave with a couple tpbs of water, and then they turned out excellently.

IMG_2417 IMG_2418 IMG_2419

After dinner, I finally got to tear into the mystery box that was taunting me the whole time I was cooking!

IMG_2420 I was like a pirate looking for her buried treasure

IMG_2421

Found it!

 

IMG_2422 Since I won Katy and Michelle’s Vegan for a Day challenge, Vega sent me some goodies! Whoop Whoop!

IMG_2423 IMG_2424

Clarabelle found some goodies herself.

IMG_2426 Cats and their packing peanuts…

IMG_2428

Gotta go! Have a fabulous day everyone!

26 Responses

  1. What a dinner! Looks like my kind of heaven! How good is squash right now. I could eat it EVERY night- no problem. I haven’t had golden beets. I need to give them a go. Yay for the fun package. Can’t wait to hear what you think about all the products

  2. Great goodies! Congrats on the win.

    I thought I was the only person in the world who loved brussell sprouts, yummy.

  3. Would you believe I’ve never had a beet?!

  4. So jealous of that package but you deserve it. Didn’t you go vegan for more than a day? I can’t wait to see what you think of the vega products!

  5. Congrats on winning the challenge!

    Mmm love me some beets, but I’ve only had them on salads. Never roasted or anything. Or of a golden color!

  6. Dinner looks DELICIOUS! πŸ™‚ Golden beets? I don’t think I’ve ever had those!

  7. wow girl what a lovely prize you won, I have tried some of those vega products but love the bag you got too.
    and of course your dinner looks awesome, golden beets, and B.Sprouts. yum!

  8. Dang, girl! What a veggieFULL dinner! Nice work!!

  9. Congrats what great goodies from VEGA!! Im loving your din din.. absolutely perfect combo! πŸ™‚

  10. That dinner looks FABULOUS! Love the combination. Your squash looks perfectly baked as well.

    And what a great load of goodies! Can’t wait to hear what you think of them.

    xxoo
    Heather

  11. I love the idea of almond butter in a sauce on top of brussel sprouts. yum! I think. I’ve never had brussel sprouts πŸ˜‰

  12. Just stumbled upon your blog – what a creative name – I love it!! And, I, like Jessica, have never really ate beets. They kind of make me cringe.

  13. That’s an incredible dinner!! So many wonderful new foods and great preparation!

  14. I love your cat, she looks just like my cat, Jinx. And your dinner looks great – gives me motivation to get creative tonight πŸ™‚

  15. I love your roughage filled dinner. Looks great!

  16. You’re so creative, love it! Jicama…soooo yummy!!!

  17. Yum, what a fresh and creative meal!

  18. Kabocha is all over the blog world! Your din looks esp yummy with it, though. Have a great day dear!

    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  19. I haven’t had a beet in much too long. I better beet it and go make one πŸ™‚

  20. Www, Clarabelle is so cute! I love it when you post pics of her. Congrats on winning the prize!

    I wish I was more adventurous in the kicthen like you! I am getting better, but not at your level yet. I rely on my husband to show me the ropes in the kitchen.

  21. I like that kind of help with dinner, too πŸ˜‰ Pinot Noir is my favorite!
    ‘m interested to know what you think of the Vega products–esp how they compare with Amazing Grass!

  22. Your dinner looks amazing! We were all set to have toufu with peanut sauce but after I got home from my run and Carl got home from work we had a “fend for yourself” kind of night and I had homemade pita chips with hummus, kale chips (so good!) and a bun with a slice of cheese…not so balanced – hahaha! Ah well…one day I’ll manage to get more veggies on my plate but at least I can look at you for inspiration πŸ™‚

    Wow, that was long…sorry about that! πŸ™‚

  23. that is a really freaking creative dinner! i love it. and i love the styrofoam party πŸ™‚

  24. […] also throwing in an awesome Reusable Vega canvas bag, shown […]

Leave a Reply

