Moderating Moderation and Missing Home

Good morning, bloggy friends! I’m finally back home, and while I wish I were exploring yet another new island, it is nice to be back with my loved ones and pets. Besides, who has time to be depressed when Christmas is two weeks away?! Lots to do, lots to do. For example, I have to study, study, study for my ACE exam, I just found out last night that I would be hosting the annual girls’ night secret Santa party, and then there’s Christmas shopping in itself! Ay ay ay.

Enough about that. It is very nice to see the furbabies again. I seriously missed them throughout the cruise:

IMG_1127

REUINTED and it feeels so goood! Please disregard any note for how my four-hours-of-sleep-traveling-all-day-wearing-half-washed-off-makeup-from-the-night-before-with-a-slight-hangover look I’ve got going on here.

Even Clarabelle is happy to see us!

IMG_1138 

I missed you Niko, and Clarabelle!!

And since it was technically still vacation last night, we broke out a little celebratory Kahlua and Baileys:

   IMG_1129 IMG_1132

And for some ungodly reason, I decided to unload our suitcases right when we got home to get started on laundry:

IMG_1130

   Ew, ew, ew. How I missed you, little pile o’ laundry.

And currently, I’m working on tackling that said laundry, while drinking a cup of very much so-missed French Press coffee:

IMG_1139 IMG_1140

And dabbling in some of this deliciousness:

IMG_1133

Alongside of some juicy pear slices with cinnamon:

IMG_1134

There was much, much more that I missed about home (ahem, green monsters!!) but this is a great start.

Over the next couple days, I’ll be writing a post about my experience and my opinion on how to stay healthy when you have a long trip like this on the agenda – the befores, durings, and afters – while still being able to indulge. I have to admit, while I did manage to get in quite a few workouts, and I ate many a huge salads for lunch, this trip was extremely indulging, and moderation wasn’t practiced like it usually is in my life. And while it really is all about balance, for something like a cruise, I honestly do not regret letting myself have a drink (or three) during the day, or having dessert after dinner every night. This week it’s all about getting back on track; kind of jump starting my healthy body back into shape, if you will. I’ll explain more on this the aforementioned post, but wanted to let you all know, that in my opinion, it’s OK to let yourself indulge every once in a while for special occasions like this.

What are your thoughts about indulgence while on vacation or on a special occasion? Do you let yourself slack off a bit when it comes to eating healthy?

12 Responses

  1. awe i bet it was so great to come home to your babies!!! when i am on vacay all my eating habits go out the window. i am a firm believer in enjoying the authentic cuisine and not worrying about calories! i can do that the rest of the year~but when on vacation.. eat whatever!

  2. It is very important to try and maintain a healthy diet and lifestyle while on vacation and not just throw all healthy habits to the wind. Don’t use vacation/special occasion for an excuse to go completely all out crazy!! But I agree that indulgences are an important part too. Indulge in what you can’t have on a normal basis, and choose your indulgences carefully! Sounds like you had the perfect idea 🙂

    Can’t wait to read your recap!!

  3. hay love, super glad your back and safe!! : ) i know why u were amped to do that HUGE PILE of laundry…… um because of that awesome opossum washer/dryer you got !! i want those soooooo bad!!

    good ideas for upcoming bloggy…. im interested! xoxo

  4. I agree with moderating moderation. We went to a wedding back in June at an all inclusive in Mexico. I think when you eat healthy in your daily life, some of those habits are always with you, like eating greens, choosing whole grains etc, so indulging isn’t as crazy as it is for other people. I actually felt fine and was back to my old self after two days of my normal eating and workouts, and we definitely indulged! But I don’t regret one minute of it because we had fun, and it only happens 1-2 times a year, if that.

  5. I totally believe in indulging on vacation. I figure vacations are only a small proportion of the total year right? Like, you, we usually find that exercise is part of our trip as well. It’s all about balance.

  6. hey lady, cant wait for all your trip pics and recaps!
    but in the meantime good luck on the studying….LMK how that goes for you, I havent fully ruled out my ACE once I complete the highest level of my yoga certif. which should be done by early spring.

    laundry…i do it RIGHT away but i am anal like that!

    coffee brewed at home the way you like it = priceless. just blogged about my coffee addiction in aruba 🙂

    i dont slack off but i cant. food intolerances keep me on the striaght and narrow w/ my veggies and fruits.

  7. I always let myself slack off on the healthy eating when it comes to vacations or holidays, but I make sure to keep up with exercising. I also mentally pump myself up for the fact that I’m only misbehaving for a set number of days, and after that it’s back on the grind. I find that if I don’t do that Christmas can very easily turn into Christmas month.

  8. welcome home! i’ve never been on a cruise when i haven’t been binge eating so i’m curious to see how i’d do on one now. can’t wait to hear more of your thoughts.

  9. Everything in moderation, is my moto! I couldn’t go on a cruise and NOT indulge some!

    I bet you missed your furbabies! I miss mine when I’m at work!

  10. Glad you made it back safe!

  11. I somehow missed this post yesterday. Yes, getting back home is good and bad. Nice to see pets and get in your own bed, but work takes up way too much time and energy. But how can we afford awesome vacations without the pain? AND if life were one big vacation, would we be jaded? Wish I knew:-)

  12. I miss our furbaby so much when we travel! It’s so good to be reunited. I like to tackle laundry as soon as I get back too. Mine always seems to smell different when I travel. Have you noticed that? Or is it just me? 😛

    I indulge on vacation for sure! I would like to get better at the extent of my indulgence, but I really think that is what vacation is all about! I am happy you were able to enjoy it without the feelings of guilt so many people are plagued with!

Leave a Reply

