Cheesy Quotes (and Tofu Fried Rice) Make Everything Better

“Life is What You Make It!” “Happiness is a Choice,” “People Can Only Upset You if You let Them!”

I had a realization last night. Some of you may have noticed that I’ve been uber stressed out lately. Work has been taking a toll on my stress levels, because the amount of work I’m doing is going to double in one week, and let’s just say I haven’t been taking it well. I’ve been freaking out, assuming and picturing the worst, and having a woe-is-me mindset. Well, tonight after a kick booty yoga session, I realized something.

 

7265-hp_219_Ustrasana_248

I think this is the most therapeutic posture, by the way.

Refer to quotes above. I need to go into work with a completely different mindset. Going into yoga last night, I felt defeated, weak, and physically in pain. I tend to let stress really affect me at times. It always settles with a tightness in my shoulders, and worse, my chest. After a little self-reflection, twisting, and warrior postures, I decided to change my attitude. Aside from the fact that things are changing there, it’s a job where I make good money, and I have really good friends right around the cubicle from me. I’ve been down and out for exactly one week now, and it’s about time I quit feeling sorry for myself, grin and bare it, and try to enjoy myself (or at least not give myself a heart attack ;)) while doing it. We’ve been thr   ough this…right? The power of positive thinking! Or perhaps, the power of revitalizing yoga 😉

The husband has also been a HUGE help in lessening the stress. He knows how much it’s been affecting me, and has been keeping the house SO clean lately. I even came home to him doing laundry yesterday!! He never, ever does laundry, people. This is big. And lastly, he has his gifts to me wrapped before I do! I came home from work last night, and saw these under the tree:

IMG_1361

 

I have everyone else’s wrapped but Shane’s (thanks to Von Maur’s free wrapping) so I need to get on it.

IMG_1362

And one of my favorite ornaments just because:

 

IMG_1363Two days until Christmas, what?!

Before I headed out the door to yoga, I had a big juicy apple with some almond butter for a snack:

IMG_1351

And then bopped out the door for some cardio, and then said yoga sesh.

IMG_1355

Ew, blurry pic…

Well, we all know how yoga went, but I was just as thrilled to come home after yoga…

 

because I had made some homemade tofu fried rice!

IMG_1353

Fried rice sounds pretty difficult, no? Well it’s not! All you need is some brown rice, veggies, oil, garlic, 2-3 beaten eggs, tamari (or soy sauce,) and whatever “meat" – or non meat you want to add!

For mine I added tofu:

IMG_1357IMG_1356

I finally found a tofu I like! I’m not a fan of the boxed version much, but I love the refrigerated kind – especially Nasoya!

And since Shane thinks he hates tofu, when mine was done, I scooped out all the tofu bites – along with some rice into a bowl deemed mine, and then added some chicken I had cooked and chopped up Sunday into the mix for his portion.

Shhh..don’t tell him there’s tofu juice in there.

Easy and Nice Fried Rice

I adapted this version from Food You Crave.

Soften some minced garlic in some hot canola oil – 1 or 2 cloves will do

Add your veggies, and the rice

Next add your “meat” and let cook for a few minutes

Scoop out a section from the middle and pour some oil in the center – 2-3 tbps

Pour beaten eggs in that center, and stir just the eggs around…looks like this:

IMG_1352

When cooked half way, scramble all throughout the mixture

Pour in your sauce, and you’re donzo!

——-

SO good, and SO easy! Especially if you utilize your Sundays. This past Sunday was the first time in a long time that I did a little prep work ahead of time for my meals this week. For this meal, I already had the tofu drained, pressed, and cubed, the chicken cooked and cubed, and the veggies chopped. If I had thought about it, I would have cooked the brown rice on Sunday too. This made SUCH a difference yesterday when it came time to actually cook the meal. Instead of running around stressed because cooking would have made me late for yoga, I had an extra 20 minutes, which I took advantage of by getting a little cardio in with my friend, Heidi, before the class! Awesome! I recommend ya’ll try it this week.

Now it’s time to go eat some breakfast! This morning, I’m eating my faaaavorite breakfast cookie combo, that I made and popped in the fridge last night just before I called it quits. I shall call it the Pumpkin Cubed Breakfast Cookie:

 

IMG_1358IMG_1360

This favorite includes: a handful of oats (exact measurement here,) a tpbs of hemp powder (optional, or whatever protein powder you have on hand,) a tiny handful of pumpkin seeds, some chopped pecans, a squirt of agave or whatever sweetener you choose to use, 1/4-1/3 cup of canned pumpkin (use 1/3 if your sweetener isn’t a liquid,) and golden raisins. Mix the dry ingredients together first, then smoosh in the wet until everything is mixed together, and pop it in the fridge! Oh, and I couldn’t resist smearing on some (TJ’s) pumpkin butter this morning. Mmmm – delish and keeps ya full for hours!

Have a terrific Tuesday, everyone! I’ll let ya’ll know how my “new attituuude” fared today 😉

How do you deal with stress? Do you let it get to you, or can you let it roll off your back each and every time. I try, I mean really try this technique, sometimes it gets to me regardless.

24 Responses

  1. I’ve heard yoga can do wonders, but you actually make me a believer. I’ve never tried it, but now I want to.

    I usually pretend I’m not stressed or depressed, (to me they are closely related) and pretty soon the stress or depression lessens.

  2. I love the quotes! 🙂 Sorry you have been feeling stressed lately. I have a hard time dealing with stress, but I REALLY try not to let it get to me too much… But it’s all a work in progress. Sounds like you are moving in the right direction! 🙂

    And I agree, a little bit of meal prep on the weekend really makes a difference when it comes to week night dinners.

    Have a good day!

  3. Tofu fried rice, brilliant! I have everything I need and I have to use it before leaving for the holidays, thanks!
    I always try to let it roll of my back, but that doesn’t work. Yoga, a hot shower, a glass of wine or a good cry always does the trick!

  4. SO sweet of the man to do extra around the house when he knows your stressed- love it! Your presents look professionally wrapped.! Cute ornament and the rice sounds so so good.

    I often get over stressed too. I try to workout, get myself a little something special (STARBUCKS!), or just take lots of deep breaths

  5. love how yoga just completely reenergizes you! and makes you feel like a completely new person 🙂

  6. I know most therapists would advise you to share your stress with others, but I find one of the best ways to deal with it, especially when it pertains to work, is to not talk about it at all. If I bring it up to friends and family, I know they are just going to egg me on and assure me that I’m right and the people at work are doing me wrong. If I refuse to speak it out loud, I can keep my peppy attitude going around others, and often I just forget about it. I also give myself little internal pep talks about how I can make it and it’s not that bad. I think overall, you just can’t doubt yourself.

    • You know, you’re so right!! Whenever I vent to others about it, that tight feeling in my chest comes right back. It’s def better to just leave it at work and not think about it afterward. Thanks 🙂

  7. I try not to let things get to me, but when I feel them starting to I try to take a step back and realize that I have a great life and the things I am stressing about are trivial in the long term. Sometimes, though, I just need to sweat it out! I love yoga (and camel pose!) and I think it has been essential in helping me stay calm and centered. There is something so restorative about exercise; I love it!

    btw, super cute ornaments! 🙂

  8. Mmm I think I’m going to have to try that tofu rice–I finally found one I actually enjoy as well so this will be great!
    Wow, I may need to take a yoga class! So glad it put you in a better mindset!

  9. We cut all of our veggies on Sundays so we can easily throw them into meals too. It’s so helpful!

    I deal with stress by working out and writing about what is bothering me. It definitely helps a lot! Usually it gets rid of it, but sometimes I let things linger longer than I should. I am happy yoga is helping you feel better!

  10. That fried rice sounds awesome!

    I find I need to say that I’m stressed, and busy, when I am. Just saying it helps me. Also, I figure out the ‘worst case scenario’ and then realize it won’t get that bad.

  11. Oh sweetie, I’m so glad you’re feeling more like yourself now. I don’t know where I would be without my yoga. Take a little time each day for YOU, whether it’s with yoga, going for a walk, reading, etc. I promise it will make you feel so much more prepared to accomplish anything. And don’t be afraid to ask other’s for help! More than likely, they’ll be happy to do whatever they can for you!

    Hang in there and enjoy the holiday season Paige!

    xxoo
    Heather

  12. Glad you were able to rock out the yoga and feel better! I love camel pose too. When I am stressed, nothing beats yoga.

    The tofu fried rice looks awesome. And over the years I have gotten Scott’s eating to be soooo much cleaner and usually it starts by “accidentally forgetting” to tell him something’s in a dish I made for him.

    CUTE workout clothes, too!

  13. I love your attitude! Yoga always makes me feel better too.

    Fried rice with brown rice and tofu is the best!

  14. I like to go running or listen to music when I’m stressed. I also like watching Friends and I always have a good laugh.

  15. I find that working out or shopping makes me less stressed. Or drinking. I kid, I kid.

  16. Wow found your blog on Jenna’s – and can I just say I really needed this post…I could have written exactly your first couple of paragraphs. I am unhappy in my job, life all that ‘stuf’…I am trying to focus on the positive and blog about Gratitude lists and the positive in each and every day and how lucky I (we) are not to be in a hospital or homeless at this time of year…but still it’s hard not to be completely defeated at times…but thank your for your great insights. I’ll keep reading.

    • You are so right. Staying positive on the blog-front helps tons! And in the scheme of things, we should be so grateful for our health and shelter. I’m so glad I could help you out a bit with this post! We’ll power through it 🙂

  17. Aww your husband is so sweet. I love his wrapping paper!

  18. Keeping your thoughts positive have a huge impact on your life! My favorite quote by Abraham Lincoln: “Most people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.”

  19. Keep Writting goodposts.

Leave a Reply

