Veggie Bean Burritos and Vega Vibrancy Winner

Merry Christmas Eve’s Eve!

How we all doing this morning? I, for one, can’t believe how close Christmas is! It doesn’t really feel like it to me. See, I used up all of my vacay days on the cruise, so I’m working right up until noon on Christmas Eve (Christmas Day is a work holiday.)

I’m currently enjoying a delicious breakfast of a great big GREEN monster.

IMG_1371IMG_1370

1 frozen nanner, 1 c. almond milk, 2 cups of spinach, Smooth Operator PB, and some Vega Smoothie Infusion. Yummy and filling 🙂

So my decision to change my way of thinking helped out a ton today. I only got stressed out once, and it only lasted for about 5 minutes, so I’d say that’s progress in its fullest 😀 Work actually went fairly smoothly, and before I knew it, it was time for me to head on home! So headed home I did, and then headed straight to the gym, where I had a major cardio session. I couldn’t make up my mind on what I wanted to do at first (spin class or run, spin class or run.) I decided on running, and ran some intervals! However, technically it wasn’t intervals, because they weren’t timed intervals. For last nights run, I chose a different method:

I strapped on my Polar F6 HRM to monitor my HR, did a 5 minute brisk-paced walk for a warm up, and then:

  • Ran at 6.4 until my heart rate reached 160 – about 80% of my max HR
  • Kicked it up to 7.2, and ran at that speed until HR reached 170 – about 85% of my max HR
  • Backed it down to 6.4 until my HR recovered to 160
  • Sped up to 7.2 until my HR reached 85% again

I repeated that series until I completed 3.1 miles, and I was absolutely breathless by the time I was done. Actually, I think it was a wee bit rough on my cardiorespiratory system, but that’s what HIIT will do to ya! Gotta love those anaerobic workouts. After I did a 5 minute cool down, I did 10 more easy minutes on the elliptical, stretched it out, and called it a day. Speaking of stretching it out, make sure to stop by tomorrow morning for my go-to post-cardio/legs workout stretches!

Was out of the gym by 6:00, and then stopped at the store and found a couple unicorns!

IMG_1368

Still haven’t found the coveted Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride though :-/ I feel like I’m on a goose chase!!

When I got home, the husband let me know he was about to wither away if he didn’t get some dinna, so he and I decided to cook some veggie and bean burritos together! The recipe we followed was from Vive le Vegan!

We got to cooking the innards:

 

IMG_1364

Wrapped em up in his (whole wheat Chi Chi’s) and hers (Ezekiel) tortillas, and popped em in the hot box for about 15 minutes at 375º

IMG_1365

 

They turned out wonderfully! Hot and gooey on the inside, and crispy and warm on the outside. Then we proceeded to top them with mozzarella and an abundance of salsa:

IMG_1367  

And devour. Mmm mmm good.

IMG_1366

 

Vega Bar Winner

And the winner of the Vega Vibrancy Bars is…………

Random Integer= #18, which is Kate!

Kate, please email me your address and I’ll have your Vega Bars shipped to you ASAP!

Everyone else – thank you SO much for participating 😀

Hope everyone has a fabulous day and Merry Christmas Eve’s Eve!

 

PS – for more giveaway fun, check out Averie’s Nutridel giveaway!

19 Responses

  1. Nice job on the workout and on not stressing! Great day. I am saving up my vacation time for our vacation in March so I am also working and working up until Christmas! Nice dinner. I might need to whip up some burritos soon (one of Josh’s favorite dinners).

  2. How could your hubby possibly wither away, the way you cook? Mine “starves” on a daily basis too. However, we will eat lunch out today; we are still shopping:-( Next year, Dad said he can get all his shopping done in one place in our town…a Dunhams is going in right next to the Staples and Cefcu location!

  3. Yum! Your burrito looks yummy. And way to go on the run!

    And, I’m actually hosting a Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea giveaway on my blog, if you’re interested!

  4. Mmmm now I’m totally in the mood for a burrito!

    Happy Christmas Eve’s Eve to you, too 🙂

  5. Loooove burritos. Those look delicious!

  6. I need some good stretch ideas – can’t wait for the post tomorrow!

  7. Thanks for the Nutridel shout, and all your entries!

    “Still haven’t found the coveted Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride though :-/ I feel like I’m on a goose chase!!”–Girl, I didnt find it til like Dec 10th. It was almost the holidays here and gone and I had barely just found it! It’s good but you’ve gotta like tea. I love coffee so much that tea is just hard for me, but as tea goes, it’s good stuff.

    Love your burrito action!

    And thx for the bloggie roll add 🙂
    xoxox

  8. I LOVE the Peanut Butter & Co. products, especially the Chocolate Dreams! I have also been on the search for Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride! I feel like everyone I talk to is on the look out for that one! I looked online and I think a number of Dominicks and Super Targets around Illinois carry them, so you may want to try there!

  9. The burritos look great! I just checked that book out from the librabry! The cookie sleigh ride was sooo hard to find. When I did, finally find it, it was on a seasonal display and not in the tea section.

  10. I have to work tomorrow too 😦

  11. This is so me, but I totally noticed the GREEN smoothie, and the RED sauce. 😉 Gotta love the holidays.

    But seriously, those burritos look delicious!!! Perfect, simple recipe.

    xxoo
    Heather

  12. I need to learn how not to stress. Good job!!! And your burritos look really good!! I love Mexcian food.

  13. Those burritos looks delicious.. I need to make some!

    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  14. My next PB purchase needs to be the Dark Chocolate peanut butter – I love it on whole wheat toast with honey. Total sugar overload but also? Total delish!

  15. Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride is impossible to find! I thought it might just not be available in Canada, but I can easily find all of the other festive flavors.

    If you ever find it, buy an extra and ship it to me please! 🙂

    Merry Christmas!

  16. Wow; those look delish….I love making burritos. Those Celestial Seasonings teas are so hard to find…enjoy them; they’re so yummy! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

