Eyelids A-Droopin

Hey bloggies! I don’t know about you, but I’m BEAT! It’s about 9:30 p.m. here and I could just crash and go to sleeeep.

Over lunch I had to go out and run some personal errands, but I also swung by Borders to use my surprise Borders gift card! I don’t have any good reads, and wanted to pick up one. I told myself I was going to go in, grab about 2 or 3 really good fiction/nonfiction books, and that was it.

Instead, I got this:

IMG_4649

 

I couldn’t help it! I’ve been wanting to read it for a while since making the transition to going veg in October, so I bought it. Oh, and a cute 365 Days a Year Puppy Calendar. Couldn’t help myself on that one either 😉

But I’ve already started reading the introduction in the Kind Diet, and I like it already. Although I’m guessing it’s all stuff I’ve already heard before, I really like Alicia and her personality and the message she’s trying to convey, and think it’ll be a good read. Plus, I’ll most likely try out a recipe or two 😀

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to try out a recipe tonight, but Amy sure did!

IMG_4645 

Since I was going straight from work at 4, to the gym until 5:15, then to a trainer job shadow until 7, there was no time for dinner, and barely even a shower! (Don’t you worry, I penciled one in before eating dinner :)) At gym #1, I got in a quick 3.5 mile run in about 32:30, followed by 10 minutes on the stair stepper, and then about 10 minutes of plank work. This took up exactly an hour, and I did a quick change into dry, clean workout gear, and headed to gym #2.

I spent my time at gym #2 observing/shadowing a personal trainer and her client for a little over an hour. Twas a good time. It was all about supersets for the first half, and circuits for the second. I even got in a second workout by participating in the second half a bit 😀 Whoop whoop!

But again, afterward I was pooped!

Luckily Amy came to the rescue with this Indian dish of Palak Paneer:

IMG_1484

 

Before consuming, I transferred it to a plate, to give it that, erm, home cooked Indian food feeling…

 

IMG_1485

and of course with the obligatory glass of red. Yes, it was obligatory. Tonight.

The meal was pretty good, but the flavor could have been kicked up a notch.

After a little bit of working on the computer, I decided to read some of the Kind Diet while snacking on some graham sticks with sweet pumpkin dip.

 

IMG_1490    

Aaaand now it’s crash time.

Good night all! Sorry for the lame/short post, but my eyelids are a-droopin’!

23 Responses

  1. Hope you have a great night!

  2. hehe love the puppy calendar! I’m glad you’re liking the book! I vividly remember being super happy for Alicia as though we’re tight when she found vegetarianism and told us about how much it helped her body and skin and everything! Love her!!

    It IS crash time -night!

  3. I bought that Amys dinner but have not tried it yet, what is your opinion of it?

  4. What a day; I hope your Wednesday is much easier.
    I just got a great easy, fresh vegetable soup recipe (only thing not vegan was the chicken boullion, 2 cubes) from NBC’s Mr.Food! Surprisingly, he was also pushing curry and cinnamon as healthy spices:-)

  5. Is her book about going vegan? I don’t remember if she is or not.

  6. I’ve wanted to read that book too! I really didn’t care for that Amy meal when I tried it, but maybe I should give it another shot.

  7. Ow! I saw Alicia’s book and thought about getting it on Monday! I ❤ her. Have you ever read about her wedding? She went all veg and everything looked amazing. Great job on the workout and very cool about the shadowing. Hope you have a good one 😉

  8. This is the second post today where I read someone with The Kind Diet, and I eyed it in the bookstore the other day. If you give it a good review, I might just break down and buy it.

  9. You’ll have to let us know what you think of the book! The obligatory glass of red wine generally happens on a nightly basis for me… it’s good for the heart! 😉

  10. i worked with alicia on a tv show a few years ago – she’s lovely.

  11. I’ve been wanting to check that book out to. Can’t wait to hear what you think about it. Amy never lets me down 😀

  12. Ugh I’ve been dying to pick up that book! I can’t wait to see what you decide to make from it and hear what you think!

  13. Oh! I really hope my mom got me that book for Xmas (will see her next week). I REALLY want to read it!

    I bet it was really interesting to shadow a trainer! I always love overhearing what the trainers say to the people in the office gym!

  14. I saw that book while we were Christmas shopping last month and was thinking about buying it. I’m looking forward to hearing your review.

    P.S.
    Other than E,D &BV where are you finding your delish veggie recipes? I’d really like to expand my repertoire and was wondering if you have a “go to” place.

    • I really love Dreena’s other book, Vive le Vegan, too 🙂 Most of them come from those two. Others come from blogs and some I just create in my head! I’ve been meaning to create a recipes tab here soon.

  15. Im interesting in hearing your opinion of the book. I like Alicia Silverstone and have thought about picking it up.

  16. I’ve tried that Amy’s meal before. It was one of my favorite.
    I always thought Alicia Silverstone was raw vegan?

Leave a Reply

