Five Doors Down

Greetings!

 

Oooh, man – a blizzard is coming tonight! My company sent out about a dozen emails today telling employees to take their laptops home – and this place hardly EVER closes down. It’s only 9:30 p.m. now, and it’s supposed to continue on through the night along with high winds. I’m a wuss in the snow, so even if it doesn’t shut down, I doubt I’ll make it in at my usual time of 6:30.

This morning for breakfast, I had the most amazing breakfast cookie ever! I know I’ve said it before, but this one takes the cake cookie, folks. With that said, I’ve FINALLY found something that I like PB2 in. A breakfast cookie!!

IMG_1500

Might not look to appetizing, but it was scrumptious! First I mixed the dry ingredients: 1/2 c. oats, 1.5 T hemp powder, 1.5 T PB2, chopped raw pecans. Then mixed the wet ingredient: 1/4 c. canned pumpkin puree, 1 T agave nectar.  Set it in the fridge over night, and woke up to a seriously delicious feast of breaking. Try this at home, kids 😉

Work was work. Had a lunch meeting, and did some catch up work, and came home to try and take Niko for a walk. I feel like I’ve been gone ALL the time, and I barely have time to exercise her and just spend time with her in general. Tis sad. But first, had a little snackie since my stomach has been somewhat of a black hole today:

 

IMG_1495

Pretty slices huh? Thanks to my new little Pampered Chef toy 😀

 IMG_4346

Since it was only 14º out, we bundled:

IMG_4658 

Yeah, remember this doggy coat? She absolutely refuses to wear (or at least move while wearing) the faux fur hood on this coat. It’s too much for her. Luckily, I figured out it was detachable! Who knew. And we were off!

Aaand got about 5 doors down before the sidewalk turned to pure ice, as did the street, so we turned around and walked back. Oh well…an offer’s as good as a buy, right? 😀

 

After getting in and hopping on the elliptical for about 30 minutes, followed by lower body weights, it was time for dinner.

But by this time, it was already 7:00, and I really didn’t feel like cooking much. You know what this means…salad time!

IMG_4661

Mmm, mmm. Spinach, broccoli, orange bell pepper, tomato, mushrooms, avocado, and julienned zuke. Wait a second…ok I’m an idiot. I have 5 Trader Joe’s Meatless balls sitting in the oven right now. Apparently I forgot to add them to my salad…and JUST NOW realized that. Darnit! I was really craving those too 😦 Bahaha I’m so aloof sometimes. Hey, at least I remembered to turn the oven off…

Regardless, this salad was scrumptious. And alongside I had a piece of brown rice toast and black cherry preserves.

IMG_1496

 

The rest of the night has been spent lying on the bed watching Wednesday night TV (In the Middle, Modern Family, Cougar Town) with the husband. While watching, we munched on a HUGE bowl of air popped popcorn. We decided to relax and watch shows on the bed tonight because A) our upstairs living room furniture, while super cute, is uncomfortable and B) you just can’t cuddle in the theatre seating downstairs with unmovable arm rests! Sometimes you just need to snuggle 😀 Especially when it’s about nada degrees outside.

 

Well I’m off to bed to dream of work cancellations in my head 😉

20 Responses

  1. Salad, brekkie cookie, and the black cherry preserves look/sound great!

    As for my dressing you commented on, yes girl, make it. Sooo easy and if you like tangy and sweet, you will love it.

    xoox

  2. Does brown rice toast taste like real toast…or brown rice? Just curious! Good luck on the snow day!

  3. Snow day for me…YEA! Today was supposed to be my first day back, but I got the automatic calls on my home and cell saying, “You have the day off.”
    Dad has to go in tho’, so I’m loaning him my Escape; his pickup sucks in snow. Any suggestions for my in house workouts? I know, shovel some snow:-(

  4. That is too funny that you forgot to add them to your salad! I do that sort of thing way too often. Good to know I’m not the only one 🙂

  5. Hope you get a snow day!

  6. its blizzarding here too! yuck! but i still have to make the trek to the city

  7. So great that your office planned ahead for the blizzard so you can get your work done in the comfy coziness of your own home! Sadly, I don’t know if my office will ever close. NYC DOT is waaaay to diligent about plowing/salting to let Manhattan close for a day. One can dream though!

  8. Ha I ALWAYS have a huge bowl of air popped popcorn..with pam butter spray and seasonings…amazing! Never getts old!
    We have a snow storm here in Indy too!

  9. I was advised to take my laptop home last night too. And I am in the office today. We are supposed to get a 12″ here by the lake!

  10. My pup refuses to walk around if his hood is on his jacket too! They can be so tempermental! You usually get to the office at 6:30?! So early! It must make for an early leaving time, which is always good. Enjoy your work from home day!

  11. Hope the cancellation came through!

  12. I love putting coats on my dog, though I know she hates it too. lol

  13. I heart breakfast cookies 🙂

  14. I don’t like PB2 either. I got kind of excited that someone else out there isn’t obsessed with it! I don’t understand the appeal.

  15. I think I need to find me some PB2! I keep seeing it on blogs, and everyone raves about.

    I also love Pampered Chef. When I start making money, I have a list of gadgets I’d like to purchase!

    Glad you liked my BL review. I try to give my honest opinion, as much as possible. It’s fun.

  16. there’s a movie theater in los angeles where they have love seats! so you can snuggle 🙂

Leave a Reply

