A Snow Day!

Good evening!

I’ve had myself quite the nice little day! When I went to bed last night, a big winter storm was approaching. It kept on throughout the night and early morning, and ended up bringing along with it 7 inches of snow and heavy winds!

So when Niko woke me up at 5:00 this morning, the first thing I did was all our company’s hotline, to find out…they were CLOSED! Wahoo! Well, there was a delayed opening until 10:00 a.m., but since I already had my work lap top home with me, and at 9:30 our street still hadn’t been plowed, I decided to stay inside and work from home the whole day.

And not only did I get to work in my slippers (which makes work MUCH more tolerable, by the way) but I also got to work all day with this as my chair:

 

IMG_4691

 

I’m a huge proponent of using your exercise ball as your office chair. They’re much better for your back, because the way you’re sitting, it forces you to tuck your tailbone under and have a flat back. Thus it naturally makes you to use your tranverse abdominis more in order to tuck your tail bone in. If only I weren’t too embarrassed to bring one into the office. Heck, I don’t even know if they’re ALLOWED in the office!

Besides, I couldn’t have used the computer chair if I wanted.

 

IMG_4694

Seat’s taken.

You wouldn’t believe how much work I got done today. In the nine hours I worked, I probably got what I would get done in two days if I were actually in the office. I was mad productive. It’d be nice to have one remote work day per week…just to catch up if nothing else.

Another perk? Being able to actually walk down to the kitchen to make lunch. It really gets old having to make and pack up a lunch the night before, lug it to work in a lunch box, and nuke it in a microwave/eat it out of Tupperware.

Today I definitely took advantage of having a stove available on a work day and made  a 1 egg + 2 egg white, mushrooms, and spinach wrap – in an Ezekiel tortilla:

 

IMG_4679

 

Sooo good. Sooo filling!

I also broke for a snack a couple hours before lunch. OK, this is my current snack obsession:

IMG_4674

Plain Oikos and a Nutridel cookie. It’s SO yummy – and fun to eat! I just break the cookie into fourths, and dip it into the yogurt! I don’t know what I’m gonna do when I run out of these cookies!

Around 3:00, I needed a mid-day pick me up, and decided it’d be the perfect opportunity to bust out the juicer and make a grapefruit + carrot juice.

 

IMG_4680

 

One big grapefruit and three big carrots, pulverized-style:

 

IMG_4686IMG_4688

 

Drank it alongside the computer, and it helped me get over the mid-day slump. And tastes SO good. The husband calls this cup my sippy cup , by the way bahaha.

I think Niko was happy I could be home with her, too:) She had a lot of fun in the snow today. I even shoveled out a little area for her, but she thought it’d be more fun to tromp around in the deepest areas of the yard.

 

IMG_4667

 

Aww. Yes, aww until she comes in and is covered with snow that will inevitable melt on the hardwood floor 😉 I honestly don’t know what she’s going to do tomorrow when the low is –11 degrees! –11!! shudders

 

Got done with work around 5:00, got in about an hour long cardio + weights workout, and got started on dinner.

On tonight’s menu was… Pumpkin Spiced Quinoa w/ Chickpeas!

 

IMG_4725

 

 

For the chickpeas, I just used Mama Pea’s recipe for pumpkin spice roasted chickpeas, and then I basically used the same ingredients to season the quinoa. I was craving something sweet, and this hit the spot.

 

IMG_4698IMG_4719  

 

Deeelish!

After playing a little Mario Wii World with the husband, it’s now about 10:00. And I’ve got the lives of some Trashy Real Housewives DVR to catch up on.

Catch ya’ll lata! Happy Friday tomorrow (wahooo!!!)

Do you think you are/would be more productive if you worked remotely or onsite? I learned today that I’d definitely be more productive working remotely. And although I just listed a ton of benefits in this post, it might get lonely after a while. I’ve made so many friends at work, and I’m not sure what I’d do without some sort of people interaction after a while. Plus I’d probably get stinky, not having to shower and all. I kid, I kid 😉

15 Responses

  1. Aren’t those cookies just delish? I’m sad I didn’t try the greek yogurt dipping idea when I had some 😦 Sounds yummy! Like frosting.

  2. I bet the One big grapefruit and three big carrots drink was faboosh!

    And glad that you’re enjoying the Nutridels. Yummy little buggers, huh!!!

  3. I work at home (internet based business….the entire staff works from home) and while the benefits certainly outweigh the negatives I have to say I do miss an environment with other people!

    After a while, it isn’t necessarily more productive at home either. I’ve been doing this for almost 5 years and some days it’s pretty tough to keep motivated!

    But I do get to eat something deeeelish and homemade for lunch whenever I want!!

  4. Yay for snow days!!! I would definitely work better remotely–I wish it was possible at my job!!

  5. I agree that if you worked one day from home, it would be a productive day. But, if you worked 4 or 5 from home, “work would expand to fill the time.” I’m quoting someone, not sure who, but it is true. With the day off, I found all sorts of reasons to stay away from my lesson planning, and after shoveling our huge drive and walk, I was attacking the peanut butter. I promise that the next jar will be almond butter:-)
    Niko looks darling with a snowy face. Buck loves the snow too!

  6. I love snow days! I seriously can never get enough of Niko pictures. So cute!

  7. I would absolutely be more productive if I could work at home, though I agree with RAN Mom – it’s probably best when it only happens once a week or so. Otherwise, it’d be so tough to keep work and life separate!

    Dinner looks FAB, btw!

  8. My desk is too high for my exercise ball…totally bums me out because I’ve heard such wonderful things about exercise balls as desk chairs!

    I think I would be INSANELY unproductive at home…it wouldn’t work : )

  9. yay for a snow day!

    that dinner looks AMAZING!!!

  10. I would love to have at least one remote day per week, but I definitely don’t see it happening here.

    Glad you got so much done!!

  11. I was just thinking how much I hate my desk chair – it’s so uncomfortable. I also need a new exercise ball. Problem solved! Thanks Paige 🙂

    I’m more productive at home too.

  12. LUCKY! I wish we had snow days in San Diego! hehe

  13. I wonder if I could get away with using an exercise ball as a chair in my office. Hmm. I don’t know if I could be productive from home- my puppy would distract me too much!

  14. Yum on the chickpeas and quinoa mix.

    I’d love to work from home, but am afraid that I might get too distracted by everything.

Leave a Reply

