His, Hers, and Ours

Heyyy lovlies!

Here we are again – the ominous Sunday night post! Only because it means that it’s back to work tomorrow!

I’ll try to get this post out with as little typos as possible. You see, my cat, Clarabelle, has been INCREDIBLY LOVEY lately. She wont. leave. me. alone. She’s been following me around, sleeping right next to my head, and meowing at me constantly. She’s adorable, and I love her, but c’mon, Clare. And the worst thing she’s been doing is walking across the keyboard when I try to post, hence the forecast of typos. Either way, I’m glad she’s not depressed any more, but geesh! But I digress…

 

I woke up this morning super early for a Sunday – around 7:00, and wasn’t quite ready for breakfast, but was definitely ready for coffee.

While sipping on some joe, I munched on an apple and read some more of The Kind Diet.

 

 

IMG_4798

I’m really liking this book. Alicia tells her story in a way that really allows her to connect with her audience. She’s so passionate about animals, and it’s very inspiring to me.

After getting in a quickie workout, it was time to make some his and hers breakfast.

Cinnamon-apple and flax french toast for the His:

 

IMG_4799 IMG_4801

And banana-nut-berry oats for the Hers:

 

 IMG_4806

1 c. water, 1/2 c. oats, 1 T agave, 1 T flax, 1/4 c. bloobs, 1 T almond butter

As I mentioned last night, the husband and I had plans of going to a new church (new to us, anyway) this morning. Unfortunately, Shane had some pop up deadlines to meet with his business (he has a game server business with a couple other business partners aside from his full time job,) so we didn’t get to attend. Next week, we’ll go.

However, this meant more time to get stuff done around the house. I cleaned the bathrooms, and then felt that warranted a reward of watching an hour’s worth of Jersey Shore, while sipping on some fresh pulverized juice:

 

IMG_4809

The ushe – 1 grape fruit + 3 carrots juice. Delish.

Somehow the rest of the morning went by rather quickly. Not sure what I did or got accomplished during that time. Piddling around the house makes the time go so fast!

Around 1:00, we had another His and Hers meal.

I was SO obsessed with the sweet potato fries I made yesterday, that I just had to use up the other one I had today!

With it I had a Sunshine veggie burger topped with tomato, ketchup, and sliced avocado.

 

IMG_4813

Hers

IMG_4814 IMG_4815 

Shane wanted a burger, so I threw one on the grill along with the same toppings as my veggie burger and used toast as the buns, because I don’t typically buy hamburger buns.

And we ate our his and hers meal together.

 

IMG_4816

So simple, yet so delish.

If you’ve noticed, I haven’t really been cooking much out of cookbooks lately, or making time and labor intense meals lately. Dunno why. Just haven’t felt like it for some reason lately. I’ll get back to it soon, I hope 😀

Over lunch, we were talking about what our plans were for the rest of the day. After being indecisive for a bit (it’s how we roll) we landed on going to see a movie!

His and Hers popcorn for munching on while watching Up in The Air:

 

IMG_4819 

 

I had to distinguish between the two, because the husband thinks he hates nutritional yeast (when in reality, he just doesn’t think that anything that’s called nutritional yeast can be tasty :p) and mine, clearly, had some nutr. yeast on it (aaand dark chocolate chips…yummay)

The movie was very good. Not what either of us expected, but it really made you think, and was very enjoyable. Plus, it’s got Clooney in it. I mean, come on! 😀

It’s still freaking frigid here in Illinois, and we were both ice blocks when we got out of the theatre! It’s supposed to get up to the 20’s on Tuesday, and I can’t wait! I may even be able to *gasp* run outside!!

Though the good news is it was still light out at 5:00! Three cheers for the days getting longer!!

After getting back home and playing Super Mario Brothers and finally beating the Sand World, I got started on dinner.

You guessed it – his and hers.

 

For moi:

IMG_4823

Roasted eggplant marinated in tamari and balsamic, asparagus, ww roll, and a house salad:

 

IMG_4824

Mmm.. looks like bacon, no?

IMG_4826 

In the house salad – romaine, spinach, yellow bell pepper, tomato, broc, zuke, and chopped roasted eggplant. SO good it about knocked my head off!

Haven’t yet eaten dessert, and doubt I’ll need to with this monster of a meal!!

I know what I do need though…a little Kardashian Sisterhood in my life 🙂 Gotta love trashy Sunday night TV! Who am I kidding? I could make every night a trashy TV night.

 

Do you take your own snacks/drinks into the movie theatre? Obviously, I’m a little rebel, and do so myself. I figure that the movie theatre really doesn’t provide any healthy options, and I wasn’t in the mood for movie popcorn and wanted something healthy instead.

19 Responses

  1. Haha I love your his/hers meals and snacks. So cute! I have a container of nutritional yeast in the cabinet and really need to get some popcorn kernels to make my own tasty movie treat!

    I usually do bring my own treats to the movies – either trail mix or a granola bar and a bottle of water. The fact is, even though I know I don’t HAVE to eat during a movie, it just seems like part of the experience for some reason!

  2. lol, my parents cat does the same thing when they are on the computer- she weaves around the keyboard so they can’t type! If I’m going to a movie, I usually stop at the drugstore before and purchase a bag of smartfood. Theater popcorn is such a rip off!

  3. Love it! You’re so accommodating : )

    I always sneak in my own popcorn…I bring a big bag and call it my popcorn purse!

  4. I am always bringing in my own treats to the theater… i dont like spending all that money on things that I can get for cheaper at home!! I really liked Up in the Air and although it had an interesting plot, I still really enjoyed it!!

  5. when i used to go to movies (it’s been nearly 4 yrs since i have been to a theatre movie. yes, for real) i brought my own snacks. im cheap, and like to be healthy. Or, I would smuggle in a bottle of water, i mean bottle of sprite with vodka. Makes the movie better 🙂

    Eggplant bacon. I have seen Matthew Kenny’s recipe and have thought about making it but never have.

    And Alicia…as you get more into the book, would love to hear more on this. I have read internet snippets but more info appreciated!

  6. I can’t wait to see Up in the Air when it comes out on DVD! I have heard so many great things about it. I do sometimes bring in snacks. Because they are healthier and the theater is overpriced.

    I cannot wait to read The Kind Diet. I hope my mom got it for me for Christmas 🙂

  7. I just realized that you are playing Super Mario World and are working on Super Mario Brothers, duh! It has a sand level too so I got confused. I like playing, but I’m not very good. 🙂

    CJ

  8. Haha, I love the his and hers theme of this post 🙂 I’ve actually brought apples to the movies with me before and thoroughly embarrassed the person sitting next to me when I started crunching into it 😛

    I am completely obsessed with cheetahs now too. How can cutting them a certain way make them a million times more delicious?

    Have a great Monday!!

  9. I sneak in other food, but I’ve never done popcorn…I’m a stickler for water, I mean really $4 for a bottle the gas station sells for $.99?

  10. I go back and forth on the bringing my own snacks. If I think of it, I’ll pack my own small thing of Junior Mints…if not, I’ll buy a kids popcorn. I always bring my water bottle though…and that’s more because drinks at the theatre are a rip off!!

  11. I was given The Kind Diet for Christmas and I am dying to get stuck into it!!! Such great eats here, but you don’t seem to have very big servings, I think I need to reduce my servings big time compared to you!

  12. You’re too kind to make all those his and hers meals…I’d say go make your own! haha.

  13. I haven’t been making labor-intensive meals lately either. I just haven’t had the energy for some reason. Quickie meals can still be really delish though!

    I hardly ever go to movies, but when I do I try to sneak in a healthy bar or something because I know I’ll want to munch on something.

  14. With the price of movies, i feel no guilt about bringing my own snacks…plus my snacks are healthier. I do splurge on movie popcorn every so often though- it is just so tasty despite all that palm oil.

  15. hehe I love the His n Hers!!

    I for sure bring my own snacks to the movies–way too expensive and no healthy choices.

  16. I always smuggle in my own water, but I rationalize eating movie popcorn. After all, Dad only agrees to going to the movies two times a year, so I think I can handle two bags of that yummy-bad-for-me stuff two out of 365. I don’t put too much butter or salt on it tho’.

  17. […] so it makes dinners a little difficult. If you’re a regular reader, you know I do a lot of “his” and “hers” meals. This takes a good chunk of time out of the night, and is pretty inconvenient. Luckily, as I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

