Let the Race Season Begin!

Hey all!

Thanks for all your responses about not feeling like myself in my last post. Sounds like most of us feel a little off when we have stress in our lives! Hopefully this little funk will pass soon. After all, our mood can most certainly be a self-fulfilling prophecy! 😀

———–

So I did it – I signed up for the first race of 2010. Let race season begin! Well, almost.

January is my last “off month” for training. I’m going to spend the rest of the month doing more yoga, more group classes, and more cross training.

Then when February hits (and actually probably late January,) I’m getting my training face on. Oh yeah, bring it!

The first race is in early March, but it’s just a 5k, which I run twice a week now anyway, so I figure I’ll be fine with only a little over a  month of actual training for it. Besides, it’s going to be a fun race anyway!

I’m running it with one of my besties, Kim (who I went on the cruise with.) It’s her first race ever, so I’m super pumped for her! She runs regularly though, so I’m sure we’ll be running for both time and enjoyment 😀

Either way, I’m sure you can tell, I’m pumped. The only thing that can make races even better is running them with a friend!

So after enjoying my last couple weeks of cross training (aka Paige is too much of a sissy to run in single digit temps) I’ll be going back to a schedule of four-five days of running.

 

Just thinking about race season got me so pumped that I tentatively decided to get started on accomplishing one of my 2010 goalsI picked a race for my first ever half marathon! There’s a half marathon about an hour away from my town on May 1st, and I’m thinking I’m going to sign up for it. Who am I kidding, I’ve already created my 12 week training program (which I’ll post in my Workout Log tab soon.)

I’ve also been thinking about doing something to kick the race season up a notch for me. However, I’m not 100% about it yet. It’s something that will be just a bit time intensive. I still have to decide if I can commit (fully) to it along with possibly training part-time. I don’t want to overload myself, but it’s something I really want to do. We shall see. I have to decide by the end of January, so I’ll let you all know by then what I’m talking about.

Yaaaay for race season! 🙂

———————-

Work today sped by, and I spent the entire work day trying to catch it. Busy bee I was, I left work somewhat on time, I ventured straight to the gym where I got in a good hour long sweat session.

After showering, I realized how hungry I was! I had eaten a Cherry Pie Lara Bar around 3:00, but was still famished from working out when I got home. I tore into some chips and homemade hummus before getting started on dinner:

 

IMG_1513

 

I’ve had an acorn squash I’ve been wanting to play with for a few days, and decided tonight would be just as good a night as any to do it.

Tonight I made a combination that I’ve never done before – sausage (meatless) and apple stuffed acorn squash!

 

IMG_1514

Such a delicious combination!

IMG_1515

I usually just go with sweet for squashes, but this sweet + savory combination was definitely a winner. I loosely followed the recipe here (and obviously used meatless sausage – Tofurkey to be specific, rather than pork.)

IMG_1516

With a wee side salad of romaine, spinach, tomatoes, and Goddess. Nom.

Pleasantly full with healthy and delicious food, I digested while catching up with laundry, your lovely bloggies, and a little reading.

IMG_1519

Heyyy, how’d that chocolate get there 😉 Such great tasting dark chocolate.

You guys, I’m really liking this book. Although, it’s not going to transform me into being a vegan overnight, it definitely puts information that I knew and have heard before into a different perspective. I think having an open mind is very important, and Alicia’s way of telling her side has me really intrigued. I’m not ready to make the switch from vegetarian to vegan (that’s a huge commitment I’m just not ready to make) yet, but she makes very valid points without being pushy or judgmental. 

Plus I can’t wait to try out some of the recipes 😀

Does your work out routine change during certain times of the year? Or do you stick to the same schedule pretty consistently year round? As I explained above (and in my fitness story) my workout schedule changes when I start training for races. However, before I started racing, I would switch up my routine 2-3 times a year as well. I think it’s important to put some variance in my workout routine, as to not become bored or burnt out. You can switch it up with classes, cross training, workout DVD’s, new activities – such as cycling or yoga, upping your reps and lowering your weights and vice versa…the options are endless!

29 Responses

  1. thanks for the info about Alicia’s book and your thoughts…much appreciated!
    funny i dont see the big difference between vegan/vegetarian. Aside from dairy. Well, and eggs I guess. But since both of those dont work for my body, allergies, etc they arent options anyway for me so i just tune them out anyway. I really honestly dont see what you eat that’s not vegan but I dont pay super close attention either b/c I am not a “label” person although I am 98% vegan. There’s some trace dairy no doubt that i have.
    Anyway sorry to ramble but only want to say, if you’re already veg, vegan is totally do-able if u want to…I thought it was a bigger “change” than it really was. Write me if u wanna chat 🙂

  2. I want that book!! Glad you like it.

    I love those dr. krackers .. man, they are soo addicting!!

  3. Wow, coincidence again…I had acorn squash last night too, but I just baked it with butter, brown sugar and cinamon. I try to use cinamon more now since you mentioned it was good for us. An antioxident right? Honestly, I don’t know where you find the time for all of your great cooking and these awesome blog posts.

  4. Yay for signing up for a race!!!

  5. Hey I’m loving the half marathon idea!! I’m uber keen to do one myself this year so I’ll be sure to check out your training plan!! 🙂

  6. Aw yay for race season! Hope it’s a great one!

  7. Sausage and squash is a great combination!

    My schedule changes with the weather, definitely – more long runs in the summer! 🙂

  8. I’ve been mixing up my routine because of the cold weather forcing me to go inside to the gym. But now, I’ll have to take all of the weights off when we do lunges in the body pump class. My right knee started flaring up again after ten or more years of being okay:-(

    I would have a tough time giving up Greek yogurt. I love the taste of that stuff.

  9. As a college student, my work out schedule changes so much when I’m in school opposed to when I’m on break. It’s so hard to get youself motivated over the holidays when you’ve just had a stressful semester, but I get really dedicated during the school year. Focus on grades just spills over I guess, and I like to use running as a study/clear my head break.

  10. I pretty much train the same, but thats just because I don’t like to run. 🙂

  11. My workout ambition kind of waxes and wanes depending on the time of year. When it’s really hot I tend to slack off a bit and when it’s really cold I seem to get more motivated. Other than that it’s pretty much the same, but this year I do hope to try to train for some races!

  12. I’ve been dying to try those crackers, but I can’t find them here!

    congrats on signing up for the race 🙂

    I was wondering about that book. I’ve always liked her – I’ll have to check it out

  13. you energy for running is just pumping through this post! i love your enthusiasm! and agreed, open mindedness is key in most things in life. have a great day, paige! xoxo

  14. That’s so exciting about the upcoming races. Even a 5K will simply get you in the right frame of mind for marathons. I just love how happy you sound! 🙂

    What a neat mixture for your stuffed squash! Sounds delicious!

    xxoo
    Heather

  15. I’m doing my first half marathon in May toooo! Eee! We’ll get to train “together” 🙂

    My workouts totally change with the seasons. In the warmer months, I’m all about biking and running outside. In the colder months, I like to hibernate in the weight room and exercise classes 🙂

  16. Are you doing the CU half? 🙂

    I want my workout to remain the same all year long. Well, the same activities each week, but in more or less quantity (you know 3 runs, 2 strength, 2-3 cross a week). I am working on getting there! I am excited to read about your training! We are running the May 1 half in Kenosha!

  17. Hi there,

    First let me say, I love your blog! I read it on a regular basis and like you am working towards becoming a personal trainer!

    My workouts change by the season, but usually don’t decrease too much unless I just finished training and running a marathon.

    I tend to workout more indoors during the winter months and then come Spring and Summer I find myself outdoors running and only going to the gym to lift weights.

    I need to sit down and pick my first race of the year like you did! It’s tough when I know it’s soooo cold out. But, after the first 15 minutes your body is warm and feeling great.

    Thanks again for the reading material 🙂

  18. I can just feel the energy in this post! I can’t wait to read about all of your races! Great looking squash! I had some butternut tonight- so so good! I try to adjust my workouts every few months and try something new! I also pickup my running in the spring-fall!

  19. How awesome to run a race with a bestie! Unfortunately, I have no runner buddies close to the ‘nati so I always run alone. But, I do have cold weather gear so I am prepared.

  20. I read a review of The Kind Diet, and honestly, it sounded kinda whack (but I want to refrain from any definitive conclusions until I read it!). At least that last phase. Can most people eat organic produce and sea food forever? I wouldn’t even know where to go to buy those things! If you’re looking for some great vegetarian recipes, check out The Flexitarian Diet! Awesome book and cookbook!

    Congrats on registering for your first race of 2010!!! 🙂

    • She is a little out there in that she calls veggies sexy – but I like the analogy! Also- I’m not even half way through the book, so I haven’t read much yet about the macro diet part. I plan to continue to review as I read 🙂 Thanks for the veggie book rec!!

  21. i love dr. kracker!!!

    my friend’s husband went vegan after reading “the kind diet.” he seems to love it!

  22. […] on the treadmill. This is actually my longest run since November. Can’t believe I’ll be running 13.1 miles May […]

  23. […] haven’t really been doing many runs over 3.5 miles lately. However, my training schedule for the half marathon starts calling for long runs every Saturday, so I better get used to that […]

Leave a Reply

