Overnight Oats

Ever since I started reading food and health blogs, I’ve seen the intriguing breakfasts bloggers like to call Overnight Oats. Intriguing, yes, appetizing? Not really. At least not to me.

Growing up, oatmeal was always cooked on the stove with butter and brown sugar. My oats never scored high in the creativity department.

I should have known these bloggers were on to something when I was convinced to try nut butter with my oats. I gave the nut butter-on-top-of-oatmeal a try right off the bat (and now don’t have a bowl without it!) but serving them cold, mushy, and … cold?

Needless to say, it took me months to “warm up” (heh) to the idea of eating cold, overnight oats.

But last night, I finally decided to give overnight oats the old college try.

Overnight Oats – RAN Style

In a Tupperware container, I mixed together:

  • ½ c. Unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze
  • ½ c. Organic rolled oats
  • 1 T. carob powder
  • 1 T. hemp powder
  • 1 T. flaxmeal
  • 1 T. Brown rice syrup

Unsure of what I would end up with, I stopped there, and shoved the container into the fridge.

 

Eight hours six hours later, I came back to the fridge to this:

 

 

IMG_5001

 

I couldn’t believe how solid it was! It wasn’t breakfast cookie solid, but it wasn’t liquidy at all!!

Before I added the toppings, I had a wee taste, and knew I had just discovered something amazing in the world of breakfasts.

For my toppings, I sliced up a small banana, some raw chopped pecans, and about a tbsp. of almond butter.

 

IMG_5004

 

 

This was outrageously delicious! I couldn’t believe it. I loved it even though I was expecting to be gaggy from the coldness of it!

If you haven’t yet made overnight oats, make them and be prepared to enter Yumtopia.

Washed it down with some French Press in my new V-day coffee mug 😀

 

IMG_5006

 

Cute! For some reason, cold outs kept me fuller than regular oatmeal (not sure why?)

OK, I think you get the point. I need to stop rambling about them. Go make Overnight Oats tonight!

This breakfast got me off to a great start for the day. And man did I need it! After coming back to the office from the weekend, I had 73 unread emails! Yiiiiikes. Ended up powering through most of them before the end of the day though, luckily.

I broke for lunch around 11:30 and came home for it because I had forgotten a couple things I needed for after work, and kinda felt like seeing the petski’s.

Lunch was a hodge podge lunch, eaten while standing up, at the counter. What, don’t tell me you’ve never done it before 😉

 

IMG_5007

 

House salad

 

IMG_5008

Millet bread w/ Earth Balance & black cherry fruit spread

 

IMG_5009

 

Orange pepper and miso paste.

Back to work for a few more hours, then headed to the gym to get my workout on.

When I finally got home for the day, I was starving. I attempted to eat half this PRO Bar as a pre-workout snack…but I honestly think it was rotten. It tasted completely rancid, and almost made me gag. I chucked it after one bite, thus was famished after my workout.

After a quick shower, and chatting on the phone with a girlfriend for a while, I tackled a HUGE pear with some brie while I cooked dinner:

 

IMG_5013

 

This was so filling! I’ll have to keep in mind that pear + brie = satiating snackie.

For dinner, I roasted this cute little kabocha:

 

IMG_5010

IMG_5017

 

in salt, olive oil, and cinnamon. And made another attempt at a homemade pizza:

 

IMG_5014

Chopped onion, garlic, arugula, and mozzarella on an Ezekiel tortilla. SO SO SO good. This combo is BOMB.

 

IMG_5016

I had this, x’s 2. Of both. Nom 😀

And I have to admit that this was eaten while watching the Bachelor. I know it’s such a trashy show, but I can’t help it! They really reigned in the crazies for this one.

Well, the husband just got home from his dad’s and I’m gonna go spend some QT with him.

 

Hope you all made it through your Monday all right!!

 

Have you tried overnight oats before? What’d you think?

Do you snack while making dinner when you’re supah hungry? Or do you wait it out? I think we all know what I do 😀

31 Responses

  1. I’ve only made overnight oats once and they were a little runnier than yours but still delish. I need to make some again soon!

    I also indulged in The Bachelor tonight. They really do have some crazy ladies on there but I *really* like Jake. He seems so down to Earth and really isn’t playing games. I can’t wait to see who he decides NOT to give those two roses too!

  2. All hail overnight oats!! I actually like mine a little more liquidy – with a 1:2 ratio of oats:milk. Then I stir in about 2 spoonfuls of yogurt and mashed banana to thicken it up a bit. Let me tell you – the mashed naner makes ALL the difference in the world!! It’s like a completely different dish without it. Yummm.

  3. Overnight oats are a treat! I have only tried then a few times and am excited about all the different options. I thhnk I like it better with yougurt when I have it, otherwise it is soy or almond milk 🙂 I love that jam! I just have some the other day!

  4. Overnight oats took a LOT of getting used to on my part – I couldn’t stand the texture at first. Haleigh at treschicalamode.com actually is the reason I started liking them – her recipe made them thicker, which I like!

  5. I’ve been wary of overnight oats, too. I don’t particularly like stove top oatmeal, although I haven’t tried it cooked with banana like some bloggers do. Since you gave this rave reviews, I may have to test it out myself!

  6. I haven’t tried the over night oats although I really want to!! What a great Idea and it looks really good! Thanks! My Monday was ok, so-so knowing I was heading to work tomorrow!

  7. I am ALL ABOUT the overnight oats! The Choco Brownie Protein Oats that I make are 100% awesome and totally “my thing” and love them. I even store them in the freezer and always have a batch or two on hand in the freezer b/c they are truly fudge-like.

    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2009/12/chocolate-in-aruba-chocolate-brownie.html

    The roasted kab squash and all your other great food….awesome!

  8. Never tried overnight oats, but I have eaten lunch at the kitchen counter standing up for years when I worked full time and had half hour lunches. Lluckily, I worked 5 minutes from home, or I would have had to eat in a small teachers’ lounge with no windows and no bathroom! It was a good reason to rush home and “do lunch.”
    I never had to check through 73 e-mails in one morning though, just 25 or so forwards from my big sister. She is addicted to forwards.

  9. Overnight oats have changed my life 🙂 Like you, I wasn’t thrilled about the idea of cold oats, but I find that if I microwave them for 15 seconds or so, the oats get warm but not liquidy.

  10. The pizza looks amazing. Must make that soon!

  11. That pizza looks fantastic!! I like overnight oats, but I usually end up microwaving them so their warm, so I’m not really sure what the point is….haha

  12. I’ve been scared to try overnight oats too – glad to hear they are indeed good!

  13. I remember the first time I made overnight oats. I was expecting them to be gross too but they are so good! I actually haven’t had them since tho since I’m never home at night to prepare them 😦

  14. I’ve been wary of overnight oats, too! I just can’t imagine eating them NOT warm. But maybe I’ll give it a shot after such a glowing recommendation from another “non-believer.” 🙂 The Bachelor is definitely (and shamefully) addicting – I can’t help it! It’s frightening that women like that are really out there. Oy.

  15. Ok, ok. I’ll try it… I’ve been wanting to do the overnight oats thing for a while anyway!!

  16. I still haven’t tried overnight oats, but it’s encouraging that you liked them so much!

  17. I adore overnight oats!! Although since it’s pretty cold outside, I prefer warm oats during this time of the year.

    I can never cook when I am hungry so I snack on some apples or pickles or something like that.

  18. YESS for overnight oats! they look fantastic! they are the best because you can just wake up to a nice bowl of deliciousness that did everything while you were sleeping!

    bachelor is GREAT!! 🙂 trashy yes, but amazing entertainment YES!

    when I am cooking, it try not to snack so that I really enjoy the meal once its done, but sometimes i cant help it!

  19. Ha! It took me a really long time to “warm up” to the overnight oats as well! =) Who would have thunk cold oatmeal?! Anyway, I absolutely love them now! Other options to mix in that I use as well are Greek yogurt and PB2. Yummo indeed!

  20. I’m more into warm oatmeal, so it’s taken me awhile to hop on the overnight oats train!

  21. We were so on the same page yesterday! I made the brie and apples, and I have some pears I am thinking about snacking on with brie. 🙂

  22. oh i LOVE overnight oats but never remember to make them! maybe this week.. hmmm. that kobacha looks so great! and i always chew gum before dinner so i dont snack.

  23. […] ended up leaving around noon, though, and had a craving for an Ezekiel pizza (fourth day in a row, what?!) It was a mad craving and I just had to have one. Being sick always […]

  24. […] yogurt, 1/2 c. almond milk, 1 T. chia seeds, 1 T. hemp powder, 1 T. of PB2 in a container to make Overnight Oats and stuck it in the fridge before […]

  25. […] Anyway, I used my extra time to fold some laundry, play with the pup, and catch up on Desperate Housewives, and it some Overnight Oats: […]

  26. Great post! I was really impressed by the quality of the resources. Thank you alot.

  27. […] Overnight Oats! Eaten at my desk. Lovely. […]

  28. I am definately trying overnight oats! LOVE YOUR BLOG && NAME WE SHARE! 🙂

Leave a Reply

