Breaking the Mold

Oh, hiii 🙂

How we doin’ this Monday? Hopefully your day was a little less painful than mine was.

Don’t get me wrong, it started out fabulously…

With a bowl of one of my new favorite granolas from Fresh Market (cherry vanilla) and some Warm Cinnamon Kashi Heart to Heart in a bowl of SO coconut milk!

 

IMG_5212

The oats in the background were a bit jealous of its toasted counterparts.

IMG_5213

Pure deliciousness.

IMG_5214   

Big ol’ bowl!

I usually only eat cereal and milk in the summer, but I had a huge hankering for it today. This actually kept me full for just about the whole morning! Good deal, because I had a busy one ahead of me. It’s pretty much the start of “busy(er?) season” for me at work. The meetings are starting to pile up and prep work is getting more intense. Gotta have that good fuel to power me through the day! 🙂

 

Since I had to leave work at 2:00, I decided to eat lunch at my desk and get some work done.

 IMG_5219

Can’t go wrong with Amy’s soups!

Plus the rest of a cottage cheese container with a handful of dried cherries. But it wasn’t pretty. And I inhaled it.

Around 2:00 I had to leave work to get a temporary crown put on. Hooray!! Wait, no, it sucked. Pretty big time. After I was good and numbed up, Dr. Weber began to drill on me. And drill. She mentioned several times that she was drilling into my gum line and I’d probably be in pain later tonight (she was on the money with that one, btw!) But that wasn’t even the part that sucked.

After she was done drilling, the assistant took the molding for the crown. But it messed up so she had to do it again. Then the mold broke again and she had to take it another time. In an effort to not sound like a broken record, she took the damn molding of my mouth a total of six times!! SIX! Gaaaag. I know there are way worse things happening right now, but I was not happy to be in that chair. At least both the dentist and the assistant were super nice and friendly though 😀

Finally they got a good temp crown, and I was on my way out after discussing a minor glitch they had in the office with my insurance.

 

Came home, and since it was the warmest it’s been in a couple of months (30º and sunny baby!!) I took Niko on a nice long walk. We both needed it since neither the hubski nor I were able to come visit her during lunch. Poor thing.

After catching up with the Days of Our Lives folks and doing some laundry, it was time for some dinner.

 

IMG_5220   

Cinna-pear

 

IMG_5225

Roasted red pepper and zucchini Ezekiel pizza. Yep. I’m obsessed.

IMG_5224

Carb me up, Johnny!

Tomorrow is a “food day” as my office so likes to call it. Basically everyone who wants to participate brings in a dish to work. It’s usually for birthdays and holidays.

Trying to work with what I had in the cupboard, I nixed a few recipes that called for coconut (I ran out this weekend…the horror!) I was happy to see I had all the ingredients for the Fitnessista’s Vegan Almond Chocolate Chip Cookies 😀

And since I was using the Fitnessista’s recipe, I had to get in an obligatory stand mixer shot:

 

IMG_5226

Gooey Goodness!

IMG_5227

I really really wanted to cut them out in the shape of hearts for Valentine’s Day, but they were a wee bit too sticky 😦 Don’t worry, that’s not all you’ll see of that cliché cookie cutter!

IMG_5229

They turned out wonderfully!

IMG_5230

Can you say yumtopia?!

Then I totally pulled a Paige, and just got so excited to get them on the cooling rack that I thought of the great idea of just taking the parchment paper and moving them over as one entire entity…

 

IMG_5232

Cooling rack FAIL.

Yes, I grabbed my camera before I cleaned up the mess. So what.

I salvaged the ones that were still in tact, and donated the rest to my belly the guy in the basement:

 

IMG_5234

And since I already had the baking materials out for yet another fabulous blogger’s recipe, I decided to make some No Bake High Fiber Breakfast Bars!

The best part? I could use the exact same dishes that I used for the cookies. They both have the nut butter + maple syrup flavor to them, so why not?

 

IMG_5228       IMG_5235 

Killed two bowls with one spoon!

IMG_5236

This bad boy is kickin’ it in the fridge right now. I’ll let you know how it fares tomorrow after I try it 😀 I did make some adjustments though – I didn’t have hemp seeds, so I used hemp powder, and instead of dried apple (which I’m sure taste phenom) I used dried pineapple and dried cherries.

Time for a little Bedside Bachelor and reading for this lil; lady!

What was the last baking/cooking fail you’ve made? Aside from dropping things all the time, I’d say this is the most humorous baking blunder I’ve made it a while!

Have a great Tuesday, everyone!!

18 Responses

  1. How horrible that it took so many tries for your crown. It’s not that it hurts, but it truly sucks, literally, having that mold stuff what 5 times? I had to do one 2 times once, yuk. But, it looks like you shook it off walking and cooking:-)
    I love Amy’s BBean soup. I just bought her split pea soup and plan to have it for lunch on my long (8:50 a.m. to 8:15 p.m.)work day on Thursday. I do have a long lunch break to enjoy it 1:00-4:30.

  2. I recently had a huge cooking fail making Chocolate chewy cookies from How Sweet It is blog. I totally screwed up and they were like flat paper thin cripsy nastiness. lol.

    Sorry to hear about your dental work! that’s the WORST. Hopefully you’ll feel better soon!

  3. your cookies look fantastic!

  4. those no bake fiber bars look awesome! I am going to look into those, I have a whole box of ALL BRAN that I need to use up before it goes stale!!

    hahaah too funny abotu teh baking fail, it happens to the best of uis! I have made the mistake before of turning a bananan bread upside down before it was cool and the whole thing fell apart! still tasted awesome though 🙂

  5. Eww I absolutely hate the dentist and just recently had to deal with a crown situation as well. 😦 No Bueno!
    Mmm the fiber bars look great, can’t wait to hear how they turned out!

  6. Mmmm…..those cookies look really good!! And I love Amy’s soups!! I’ve been watching Days of Our Lives for 20 years….ugh…that’s embarrassing to admit. 🙂

  7. Those cookies look SO good-so perfect looking! I have a problem mixing up cornstarch and powdered sugar…..

  8. SOrry about the dentist situation. That sounds miserable! I had a similar situation once and bawled like a fool the whole time. I’m a wimp.

  9. Oh my, I may have to do some baking this week! Now I am craving some warm chocolate chip cookies. Have a great day!

  10. My goodness you had a busy day and everything looked awesome! Sorry about the dentist…I totally feel your pain because the dentist is my LEAST favorite doctor…hands down!

  11. I’m so sorry that you had to go to the dentist! It gives me goosebumps just thinking about it! Ewww!

  12. Oh no, poor cookies! I’d be so mad. At least you salvaged some 🙂

    Those bars look amazing. Can’t wait to hear how they turn out!

  13. I just had a crown put on by dr. Weber too!! Except they got it first try..not to rub it in your face or anything 😉

  14. Oh man I wish I had a cook like you in our area to cook for our team! I don’t eat at food days cause there isn’t much in th way of healthier choices usually.

    I had a crown done by Dr. Beer and they have a cool technology where they take a computer image of the tooth and make the new tooth right there with this automated wet saw contraption, took an hour and no taking a mold, it was SO cool!!

    CJ

  15. I hate the dentist. Something about it makes me very emotional and it seems like I leave in tears everytime! Hopefully the temp crown will have no problems and then new crown will go in without a hitch!

  16. […] tomatoes, black beans. Scrumptious! Aside were some bbq Popchips (which are phenom!!) and a couple Almond Butter cookies. […]

Leave a Reply

