The Ball is Now Rolling

Before lunch, I had a different post ready to write for tonight. But upon arriving back to work after lunch, I got some super exciting news.

Remember a while back where I kept talking about a project I was working on? I was hush-hush at the time because, well, I wasn’t sure if it was going to go anywhere. I guess I didn’t want to “jinx myself.”

Well, a couple weeks ago, I applied at several personal training studios around town. The last one I had planned on dropping off the ol’ resume to, the owner of the gym informed me that their personal trainer had quit that Monday. What the fate! We had somewhat of an interview then and there, and he asked to come in and do a mock-training session involving agility training the following Wednesday.

From the moment I left the studio, I started to prepare a circuit style workout that focused on agility exercises.

Once I had the session mapped out, I practiced on my victim Shane, and then finally went in on that Wednesday and did my thing.

Unfortunately I didn’t hear back. Or so I thought. Today it would have been more than a week since the training session, so I decided to take matters into my own hands by calling him.

When asking if the position had been filled, the owner informed me that no, it was not filled, and he tried calling me to fill it, and was about to give up on me.

Apparently, something is wrong with my phone provider where I haven’t been receiving ANY voicemails! Including the two he left. Yikes! Luckily, he had some patience, and the position still wasn’t filled today.

So after work (and after calling ATT to get this sorted out, and seeing that I had TEN missed voicemails) I headed over to the gym to fill out the paperwork.

Long story short, all of my hard work and training paid off, and I’m now an independently contracted personal trainer!! GAHHHHHHHHH! I’m so excited about this! I’ve been aching to get the ball rollin’ on this, and now it finally is 😀

So, bloggy friends, bare with me (and join me!) while I work full time at my day job, work part time at the studio, and train for a half marathon.

My meals pics might not be as gourmet (ha!) – read soups, salads, and frozen – but I guarantee I’ll have a lot to talk about 😉

 

So back to today – after I dropped my certification off and discussed some other things, I headed to my gym and pounded out a 3.1 mi. tempo run, some back and biceps work, and then 10 minutes on the stair master.

Headed home, and had no clue what I wanted for dinner. I knew I had some leftover whole wheat spaghetti noodles and some arugula that only had a few days left, so I made with due and made pasta and pesto!

 

IMG_5243

Venture to the four corners of meatless balls. Yumness.

For the pesto, I just threw about 2 cups of arugula, 1/3 c. olive oil, 1/3 c. parm, 1/3 cup raw cashews, and 2 small garlic cloves into the food processor. Pulsed on high for a few minutes, and viola!

    IMG_5242 

It got served with a bowl o’ greens…spinach, romaine, zucchini, and Goddess dressing to be exact!

Now I’m munching on a bowl of pop corn as I’m typing this post.

IMG_5244

Perfect post-writin’ munchies. Before this nighttime snack was in the large orange bowl, it was popped in a brown bag, then shook with nutritional yeast and Ghirardelli chocolate chips. Best nighttime snack evah.

Now I’mma go cater to miss Niko – she was getting sick earlier, and is now just acting lethargic, but she’s being a cuddle monster! Hopefully everything is OK with her :-/

 

Thanks for letting me share my good news with you all! I hope you had a terrific Tuesday! Annd Happy Hump day! This week’s flying by so far 🙂

41 Responses

  1. AWESOME! Congrats!

  2. Hooray- congrats on the new job. It’s great that you decided to call him as many people would have just given up!

  3. How awesome!!! I’m so excited for you . What an intervention of fate.

  4. Congrats- that is so exciting!

  5. Congratulations… I will have to come to the gym your are working at and have a training session!! 😉

  6. Congrats Paige! You are an inspiration for taking this all on to accomplish your goals. Hope to one day be there myself! You go girl!

  7. Congrats!!! Very cool!

  8. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Congrats!!!! It is a tough balance but totally doable! If you start to get overwhelmed, is there any way you could talk to your full time job about going part time? Congrats again and the pasta looks fab- love pesto

  9. Congatulations!!!! You are going to be one busy chick, but it will be worth it 🙂 When did you get certified to PT?

  10. Congratulations Paige! I know you will be great, and a whole new set of “work clothes” may be in order for birthday presents:-)

  11. ahh congrats on becoming a private personal trianier!! YAYYYYY! thats so exciting.

    mm love me some pesto 🙂

  12. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Good for you for taking matters into your own hands!!

  13. Congratulations!!!! That is so exciting 🙂 and good for you contacting them to find out – I’m glad you got all the stuff figured out with your phone!

    What “meatballs” are those? they look good

  14. CONGRATS!! How exciting!!! Keep us posted on any clients you get! (I’m sure you will)

  15. Congrats on becoming a personal trainer! How exciting!

  16. congrats on the new job! you’re going to be great!

  17. Way to go!!!

  18. CONGRATS!! so exciting! I am a trainer too so i know how exciting this is and that you are itching to meet with clients and start makin em sweat!! you will have the best time its such a rewarding job 🙂

  19. Awesome girl!!! That is fabulous!!

  20. Congrats girl! You are proof that going after your goals pays off!

  21. Wow! Congrats. If I remember right, you have your ACE cert?

  22. Congrats on your accomplishment!! That’s awesome 🙂

  23. That is wonderful, congratulations!

  24. Oh my goodness!!! CONGRATULATIONS PAIGE!!! I am so excited and happy for you. Sounds like we are both getting ready to pursue our dreams. 🙂

    That pasta sounds so good – and simple!

    xxoo
    Heather

  25. Eee!!! That is so exciting!!! I obviously can’t wait to hear all about your experience becoming a personal trainer – you’re going to be awesome at it!

  26. […] you SO much for all the congrats on my big announcement yesterday. It really made me smile to see you guys have so much confidence in me! I’m a bit […]

  27. This is sooooooo exciting, it’s just awesome!!!!!!!!!!! I am sooo happy for you!!!!!! you are no doubt an amazing trainer and they are lucky to have you and you rock for securing this position in this economic climate!

    rock on mama!

  28. Congrats! I know you’ll be great at it 🙂

  29. That’s awesome! Congrats!!

    CJ

  30. WOOHOO! CONGRATS!!!!!! can you train me?! 😉

  31. OMG Congratulations–so happy for you!!! 🙂

  32. […] starting this week so I can have time to get my run/workout in before work. Since I’ll likely be training after work and nights, I figured I’d make better use of my morning! However, since Monday’s are […]

  33. […] around the house before getting started on dinner. I finally got all the paperwork ready for future personal training clients, and organized my “personal training file cabinet” so I know where to go when I need something […]

  34. I’ve been so behind on my google reader that I missed your big announcement. Congrats girlie!

  35. […] forward 10 months, to when I got hired as a trainer at a different gym. The husband and I both agreed that it makes sense for me to quit my membership […]

  36. […] I got a personal training gig […]

Leave a Reply

