Complaint Free February

Hey there! How was everyone’s hump day? Mine was just swell and jam-packed as always 😀

I stayed late at work to make up a little time, then headed to the gym with my friend, Missy. I just got back from the spin class we took and it was probably the BEST spin class I’ve ever been to! The instructor was awesome and the music was real techno-ish. I was a sweaty beast by the end of it, and lahhved it.

 

Thank you SO much for all the congrats on my big announcement yesterday. It really made me smile to see you guys have so much confidence in me! I’m a bit nervous, but I can’t wait to start!

 

February Challenge

20080201_Complaint-free

I haven’t done a challenge in a really long time on the blog (whether my own or joining in on another blogger’s.) I figured this month, albeit being a few days in, would be a perfect month to have one since February’s a nice and short month.

Nope, not a weight loss challenge or a “get in shape” challenge. Not a healthy eating challenge, nor a workout challenge. This is more of a challenge of character.

 

Complaint Free February

Yesterday I was driving in my car listening to talk radio (nerd alert!) and there was a segment on talking about all of the negative effects about complaining. You know, Whining. Bi*ching and moaning. Griping.

I gotta say, I immediately felt ashamed, because I’ve been doing some unnecessary complaining of my own lately. We all do it. Some most do it a lot. It seems like any time I log on to Facebook, instead of status updates, I see gripe updates! It’s very annoying, and somewhat disheartening! In fact people complain on an average of 15-30 times each day, according to Will Bowen, creator of acomplaintfreeworld.org

 

bookcover2

 

Voicing our complaints not only affects the person doing the complaining, but it takes a huge toll to those who we are unloading all of our problems to.

I know some say to just “get it out!” or“go ahead and vent!” But studies have shown that complaining can actually be harmful to our health!

And have you ever thought about the real reason that we complain? Will listed off some reasons on the radio show, and a select few really struck me.

  • To get attention – we complain to get attention from our friends, a loved one, a boss, co-workers, however, the attention we’re getting is most likely more harmful than helpful. This one I begrudgingly admitted to myself that it was a reason that I complain, but it helped to have it right there in front of my face.
  • To transfer the responsibility – when we complain to someone, it’s almost as if we are dumping our problem on them, and now it’s theirs. Kind of like a game of hot potato. When I heard this, I realized, “oh my gosh! Yes, I do that!” And I didn’t even realize it. I immediately felt bad for those I’ve been complaining to lately (namely my mom and the hubski.)
  • To make ourselves look better/not be at fault– When we complain, it’s usually at the expense of someone or something else. Complaining about work because there’s too much on your plate… or complaining about traffic because of slow drivers. I’ve always said there’s three types of drivers: those who drive too slow, those who drive like maniacs, and those who drive like me, ha!

The website challenges others to be complaint-free for 21 days, but I’m challenging myself, and anyone else who wants to participate, to just try to not complain as much as possible for the month of February.

No starting over if you screw up, no losing or winning – just trying to enrich our lives and those that used to have to hear us whine and complain.

Some tips when you’re feeling like complaining:

  • Instead of whining about the current situation, immediately begin to think how you are going to change it.
  • If about to complain, think of something – anything! – that’s a positive about the situation. Sure, I had to get a crown the other day, but at least I’m ABLE to fix the problems I have with my teeth.
  • Wear a rubber band and snap it if you complain or are about to complain. Heheh

So the only rules to the challenge are to try and reduce your number of complaints each day, and by the end of February evaluate if you’re complaint free and happier! It’s even OK if you complain in your head. If you don’t formulate that feeling into words, you’re less likely to dwell on it and more likely to either determine how to fix it, or simply tell yourself to suck it up!

Hopefully my loved ones will notice the change too…February is all about the month of love you know 😉

I’m starting the challenge right now! Oh, and if I dare complain on the bloggy, call me out on it!! 😀

Do you consider yourself a complainer? Do you have certain friends/family who complain constantly?

I consider myself a pretty cheerful person, but I’m human, and get in moods where I just need want to whine about it to someone. However, I also know a few people who like all they do is complain, and they can be REAL downers at times. I don’t want to be one of those downers!

24 Responses

  1. I definitely complain sometimes – More than I’d like recently! I’ll take on the challenge with you!

  2. This is a fantastic challenge! I am trying to be mindful of the fact that life is good and try not to get bothered by trivial things- it can be difficult at times! Good luck 🙂

  3. great challenge, Paige!!!!!!!

  4. I definitely complain. What a challenge, but I can try:-) As you said, “It is a short month.”

  5. I am definitely one who will complain for attention or sympathy – usually the hubs takes the brunt of it (not me complaining about him, but to him). This is a GREAT challenge!!! I’m in!

  6. What a great challege! I complain sometimes, and find myself in that pattern occasionally. It really does affect your overall mood.

    And I totally hear you on FB…complain central!

  7. I actually don’t complain enough! I’m really bad for pretending everything is cheery when there’s something bugging me. Although, I suppose there is a difference between complaining and voicing your opinion. It’s one thing to be honest with a person, and another thing to bitch and moan about some useless crap 😛

  8. THIS IS GREAT! I was just thinking about how whiney I’ve been feeling and acting on my blog!!! Thanks, I think I’m going to join in!! There is so much to be happy and thankful for!

    And I listen to talk radio, too. I love it!

  9. lovin’ this post. I used to be a big complainer. Now, when I’m feeling like I want to complain, I figure out how I’m going to make my situation better instead.

  10. wow I think this is a GREAT challenge!! I know I am totally guilty of complaining too much when I know I have a great life.

  11. I can definitely be a complainer, but I try really hard to stop and think “okay, what am/can I do about it ?”

    Sometimes we all need to vent, but constant complaints bring down others too!!

  12. What an AWESOME challenge!! I am definitly jumping on this band wagon!!! Actually since the beginning of the year my husband and I have been on a “talk clean”challenege. We both realized that we tend to have “potty mouths” and say our fair share of curse words! (not attractive) So have started paying the piggy bank 50 cents every time we say a curse word! I will admit that the jar is a little fuller than we would like but we are working on it and seeing all those quarters add up makes me really want to work on it that much harder!

  13. I definitely complain, but I don’t think I’m a “complainer”..

    It’s exhausting when all people do is complain- I do feel like a good person when I hang out with people who are constantly whining about something- I feel that I’m taking it away from someone else- but I don’t go out of my way to hang out with them!

  14. I’m totally in. I actually feel like I complain on the blog sometimes just to have something to say. This will be interesting! Thanks for the challenge 🙂

  15. I love it!! I have been called a complainer in the past, and it really got to me. I don’t want to be thought of like that! So now, whenever I complain (accidentally or on purpose), I always try and think of a positive from the situation or a way to make it better. I’m definitley in with you on this one. I feel like my roommate and I have been complaining WAY too much about our other roommate. and it’s just not good!

  16. Great challenge! That’s a tough one!! Congrats on the new position by the way!!! I have AT&T and have been having the same exact problem with my phone. ARGH!

  17. I’m in! I started working on this yesterday and hopefully it will help me keep a better attitude. The most challanging will be not comiserating/complaining at work and not complaining about winter!

  18. Great challenge,P!! I KNOW I have been doing my fair share of complaining lately. It is especially easy to complain to those who are closest to you because you do not feel judged. However, when you are complaining you do not take in to consideration how your negative energy/griping is affecting their good mood/positive energy. I accept your challenge, little lady. Here is to looking on the BRIGHT SIDE! 🙂

  19. […] The fever went down after a few hours and my appetite kicked in. My eats were still pretty random though. I can’t decide what’s going on with my health lately. It seems like maybe my body is trying to fight something off because some days I feel okay and others I feel sick again. It’s strange. Thankfully nothing has been bad enough to keep me from work yet, so I really can’t complain. […]

  20. […] Since I was able to get my workout in before work today, I had plenty of time when I got home from work today to do some odds and ends before around the house before getting started on dinner. I finally got all the paperwork ready for future personal training clients, and organized my “personal training file cabinet” so I know where to go when I need something that’s related to anything fitness Then I played chase the dog around the couch to exercise Niko since it’s currently blizzarding and 5º outside. Not quite the right conditions for a walk in the park. But hey…I can’t complain […]

  21. […] (other than at my desk at work.) I think that explains how my day’s going though. But, hey – I can’t kick – it was my […]

  22. […] going for it, like National Eating Disorder Awareness month, Black History Month, and of course, Complaint-Free February, but the weather – at least here in central Illinois – is always the worst! And now that it’s […]

Leave a Reply

