Moonlight Run and Mix My Granola

Happy Hump Day! We’ve made it to the end-part of the week. Woohoo! And actually, tomorrow is really my Friday, since the husband and I will be traveling all day Friday to a wedding. Ugh, that reminds me – I have yet to pack, and I have NO clue what to wear. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a wedding that wasn’t in the months of June-September!

I woke up super early this morning. Apparently, there was an earthquake here around 4:00, and while I didn’t necessarily feel it, I was awake on and off from 4:00 until my alarm went off at 4:55. Yikes. That’s an early hour!

Early to rise, was I this morning, because I had a work out to get in! My training plan had a run of 5×400’s at a 5k pace, and since I’m getting to work later, I had time to cruise on over to my new gym and tackle it.

Before leaving for the gym, I had half of a sliced banana, sprinkled with maca and cinnamon:

 

IMG_1605

 

Yum!

When I got to the gym, I snatched a window-side treadmill, and ran under the moonlight. It was pretty cool – the moon was in a Cheshire cat shape this morning 🙂 Speaking of Cheshire cats, I cannot WAIT until the new Alice in Wonderland movie comes out. It looks super crazy awesome. But I digress.

Once on the treadmill, I warmed up with a 5 minute light jog, and then alternated .25 miles of a 5k pace (8:57 pace for me) with .50 miles recovery (10:00 pace) for the first three “sprints” and then .25 of 5k pace w/ .25 of recovery pace for the last two sprints. That totaled about 3.8 miles, but I was SO sweaty and beat when I finished! Afterward I just a few triceps and chest exercises. I was supposed to get in a full “push muscles” workout after my run, but lost some time by forgetting my gym shoes (was wearing Uggs in the snow) the first time I sleepily left the house, had to come back and get em, and then head back again. Determination, I tell ya.

Leaving the gym I felt refreshed, energized, and accomplished, and came home to a quick shower, and a deeeeelicious breakfast.

Last night I combined a 1/3 c. oats, 1/4 c. yogurt, 1/2 c. almond milk, 1 T. chia seeds, 1 T. hemp powder, 1 T. of PB2 in a container to make Overnight Oats and stuck it in the fridge before bed:

 

IMG_5350

When ready for breakfast, it got dressed:

 

IMG_5353

 

Other half of the banana, cinnamon, raisins, Mix My Granola Mix, and the last of my Trader Joe’s Raw Almond Butter.

And when I say the last, I mean it’s donzo

 

IMG_5352 

Can’t even make Oats in a Jar with this bad boy

Aaand a Kombucha for the car ride:

 

IMG_5354

Mix My Granola

If you haven’t heard of Mix My Granola before, they basically allow granola lovers everywhere to eat their own perfect granola – literally! When you visit their website, you can build your own perfect granola. You start by picking a base, and then building on with whatever nuts, seeds, dried fruits, enhancers etc. you want to include.

I was super excited when Mix My Granola said they’d send me my very own mix to sample! They offer TONS of ingredients to choose from, and I really had a hard time deciding what to include.

IMG_5345

IMG_5349

Finally, I went with the organic granola base to keep things simple, Goji berries because they’re hard to find, dried strawberries because I thought they’d compliment the Goji berry flavor, Walnuts for sustenance, and Maca powder because I had never tried it before (when I ordered it.) Oh, and lots of LOVE of course 😉

 

IMG_5348

IMG_5344

 

Obviously, I immediately busted it open and had a handful. OMG – so good. Definitely happy with my choice 🙂

After getting snacky last night, I poured some in a bowl over some SO Delicious Coconut Milk (which is love, too, btw)

 

IMG_5359   IMG_5346

MixDreamy. 

And this morning, I tossed a handful on top of aforementioned Overnight Oats!

The tubes of granola are 16 ounces, which is about 14 “servings" (which = about 7 servin gs in Paige-world 😉 ) but I’ll sure be sad when I run out!

 

Well, bloggy friends, being awake since 4:30 in really starting to hit me. Think it’s time to go relax in the basement with the fam. Yay for Wednesday night TV! In the Middle and Modern Family tonight 😀

 

What type of dress would you wear to a wedding if it was going to be snowy and cold? I’m at a total loss 😦

What movies are you excited about that are coming out in theatre soon? I have been waiting for Alice in Wonderland for MONTHS now. I think Johnny Depp is just fabulous, and I think the movie will be a one of a kind.

23 Responses

  1. Everything looks soooo good! Love granola 🙂

    I would wear a sweater dress with some nice, tall, leather boots! That’s wedding appropriate given the weather, I think!

  2. Your dress dilemma is way easier to fix than you might think!
    1. Grab a cocktail dress from your closet, jewel tones are ideal
    2. Add black tights (key item)
    3. Top with a black cardigan, shrug or wrap
    4. Add dressy earrings and you’re good to go!
    I am stoked to see Twilight: Eclipse, even though it’s not out until June. Alice looks great, too! Oh – and Valentine’s Day (the movie)? That one looks cute?

  3. Ahh the early AM gym! I actually like how its a little more quiet and its a great way to wake up! I’m teaching three mornings a week this month (5:45 AM Pump), but I get there early to get a quick run in- just love it! Great breakfast. Mix my granola rocks. I haven’t purchased it as gifts for several people. My dad is an addict! I have to make him batches of granola now so he doesn’t purchase away on the mix website haha. I am SOOO excited to see Alice! I think its going to rock. No idea about the wedding? A black dress with some kind of cute tights underneath? Warmth!

  4. Earthquake? My husband and I didn’t hear about that. When it comes to wearing dresses in cold weather I usually wear one that I can pair with tights, usually black tights.

    CJ

  5. I agree with the above replies…sweater dress and tights and boots, all good ideas.
    Now they’re saying people from Illinois should have earthquake insurance which we already have. Maybe we should get freezing- from -the -cold -insurance too, but it’s Feb. not complaining, ha, ha.

  6. I heard of that earthquake and thought of you right away. You’re the only person I know who lives in Illinois!

    As for the wedding, I think I’d just wear a regular dress with a cute jacket to go with it.

    And you don’t know how excited I am about Alice and Wonderland coming out! Although I don’t have high hopes with Johnny Depp sporting the red hair. The Mad Hatter has GRAY hair!

  7. We don’t go see many movies in theatres these days since they are so expensive. But we will see basically every movie once it comes out on DVD. We love watching movies!

    When I went to a wedding a couple of weekends ago, I wore a black dress. It was sleeveless so I paired it with some opaque black tights and heels. I think it worked okay.

    And how awesome to get to try that granola! 🙂

  8. Ahh!!!! An earthquake! How scary! And I am SO excited for Alice in Wonderland!!! Johnny Depp is my favorite actor!! I love him in just about everything he’s been in!!!! It’s going to be AMAZING.

  9. I’d wear a dress that would look good with some thicker tights so you can keep your legs warm! Then you can use a wrap to keep your arms warm 🙂

  10. Dang girl. I don’t even know my name that early in the morning 😉

    Definitely a cocktail dress with tights and a sweater. Rock a trench or pea coat over it when you’re outside. It will be chic and weather appropriate!

  11. The two movies I’m most excited about are “Dear John” and “Valentine’s Day.” Clearly I like my romance movies. 😉

  12. Maybe you could wear any type of dress…thick stockings, black or nude and a cardigan that matched the dress? Tough…I’ve never had to go to a wedding in that kind of weather!

  13. I agree about Alice and Wonderland! It looks really good! Plus it was one of my favorites as a kid. And yes…who doesn’t love Johnny Depp?!

  14. Mixin your own granola…too good!
    Dress to a wedding that’s in the winter…black, sleek, velvet touches somewhere? or just rock out thigh high velvet go-go boots. kidding 🙂
    xoxo

  15. Yummy that granola looks fab x x

  16. toss on some thick black tights with a bright dress and some cute mary jane heels- thick black tights look awesome under summer dresses and it’s always nice to wear colors to a wedding

  17. Granola is dangerous for me! I love it too much and yours sounds really fabulous! Good luck with the dress decision. I like all the ideas that have been posted so far.

  18. Oh, love that granola!! and I keep watching for that Coconut milk. Yummmm!

  19. […] to the outfit – thank you SO much for all of your suggestions on cold weather wedding attire. Ya’ll helped out so much I definitely took your advice. For the dress, I chose a fun, turquoise […]

  20. […] Greek yog and some Mix My Granola. Yogureffic. Unfortunately, this was the end of my Mix my Granola. […]

Leave a Reply

