KC Bound!

Hi there bloggies! Hope you’re having a wonderful Friday night so far. I’ve had a long, but fun, day of travel, and am now relaxing in the hotel before going out to a comedy club and some bars. Figured I’d blog now since the only thing I’m likely to want to do when returning is being horizontal in this lovely lush hotel bed!

This morning at 5:00, I woke up so I could head to the gym before the husband and I headed to the airport to travel to a wedding Shane is in this weekend.

I had an easy 3 mile run planned, which actually wasn’t so easy. I’m not sure what was up with me, but my heart rate was SO high. I’m thinking it might be because I didn’t have a full 24 hours to recover from my last workout. I went to a pretty intense yoga class last night, then turned around and cranked out a run less than 10 hours later. Woops. After the run, I did some back, bi’s, and core work. Left feeling pretty darn good.

Came home and started to finished packing:

IMG_1609

Two carry-on’s and a suitcase. For a weekend. I can’t help it!

IMG_1610

Love Lululemon layers 😀 Seriously, lulu gear is amazing for travel. Got my wonder unders, a sleeper tank and a jacket on to ensure a comfy yet put together ensemble 😉

Finally all packed, and we were off…to Kansas City. Yep. We flew from Illinois to Missouri. It’s a seven hour drive, and we scored some super inexpensive tickets, so why not fly?

Travel drinky:

 

IMG_1612 Gingerade Kombucha

 

IMG_1614

 

Over Night Oats. 1/3 c. oats, 1.5 T chia seeds, 1 T. PB2, 1 T. flax, 1/4 c. plain Greek yogurt, stevia all mixed together and chillin’ overnight, then come morning Mix My Granola, Barney Butter, and TJ’s pumpkin butter joined the party.

Shane’s travel eats differed just slightly from mine:

 

IMG_1613

 

Burger King (blech)  IMG_1615 

He was so excited for this biscuit he was shaking bahaha

We were running about half an hour ahead of schedule (can you believe it?!) for our flight, so I threw out the idea of having the husband take me to the nearest Trader Joes, and was ecstatic when he agreed!!

Into the city we went:

 

IMG_1619

 

And found the Trader Joe’s nearest Midway (La Grange, if anyone is familiar with the area.) Numerous jars of raw unsalted almond butter, roasted pepper and tomato bisque soup, chocolate, and other items later…

 

IMG_1616

IMG_1617

IMG_1618

…and we were back to being behind schedule. Phew, I was feeling out of my element! 😉

 IMG_1620

We got to Midway to find that our flight was delayed, so took advantage of the extra time by grabbing some lunch at Harry Carry’s:

 

IMG_1621

All I wanted was an ice water (I was parched!)

IMG_1622

 

But after a few minutes, I also ordered a draft beer 😀

 

IMG_1623

There’s something about draft beer in airports that make them oh-so-good!

 

And after having a few of Shane’s fries..

IMG_1624

…I finally decided just to get something for myself, too. I ordered the Tuscan salad, which was phenomenal!

IMG_1625

Romaine, hearts of palm, artichoke hearts, chickpeas, red peppers and more. SO good!

Finally, our gate was called, and our plane took off to Kansas City!

We literally got to the hotel, changed, and went directly to the rehearsal dinner. Talk about a busy schedule!

Unfortunately, the rehearsal dinner featured a slew of meat/bbq:

 

IMG_1629

 

Even the beans had meat in them! I basically had a pickle sandwich and some coleslaw. Obviously not photo worthy.

Nevertheless, it was a good time catching up with everyone and talking wedding 😀

 IMG_1627

IMG_1628  IMG_1631

 Yikes! Someone looks like she’s been traveling all day!

IMG_1635

My dinner when we got back to the room:

IMG_1638

I went all out 😉

Well it’s time to head back down to the lobby to go to the comedy club! I’m pretty stoked – we’re getting a Hummer limo for the ride there and back. Ballin’ 😎

Gotta behave though, I’m planning to get in my 5.5 mile run tomorrow in the hotel gym before the wedding festivities start! I’ll catch up with you hopefully tomorrow before the wedding begins!

9 Responses

  1. Have a fun trip!! I love weddings 🙂

  2. I wish our hotel had a gym:-( We are right on a FL beach, and it is windy, cloudy, and cold. Hey, it’s Feb.,so I’m not complaining. I’m gonna buy a stocking cap and have a nice run when it gets up to 50 degrees later this afternoon.
    Have fun at the reception

  3. Have a great weekend, and fun at the wedding!
    I pack the same way too. More is better 🙂

  4. glad you finally made it there! you guys drive all the way to Midway for a flight? How far is that from Normal?

    That lulu outfit is SO CUTE!

  5. Love your Lulu gear!

  6. What a fun weekend! Sounds ideal!! 🙂 And that chocolate covered edamame sounds awesome!!!

  7. […] Kansas City! Let the wedding festivites begin! (or continue ;)) http://runningaroundnormal.com/2010/02/12/kc-bound/ […]

  8. […] there were so many more veggie options than at the rehearsal dinner. I ended up getting a HUGE salad with balsamic vinaigrette dressing and an abundance of grilled […]

Leave a Reply

