Weekend Wedding Wecap

Hey hey everyone! I’m finally home and FINALLY relaxing.

The husband and I had a VERY long day of travel today, starting at 8:00 a.m. when our ride to the airport came to pick us up. But let me rewind to last night – the wedding recap!!

As soon as I got done posting yesterday, I got ready and glammed up for the big event. I’m still so glad you all gave me great suggestions on what to wear.

I went with these two looks for wedding and then for reception:

 

IMG_1677  IMG_1674

     

 

It was perfect! And I didn’t have to spend a dime 😀

Luckily, I found a ride to the wedding with some of the other spouses of the groomsmen, and when we arrived there, all the guys were standing outside with a beer. I don’t blame em – those tuxes looked like they’d be SO warm. Plus a beer is always great to calm pre-wedding nerves, whether it’s your own or you’re just in the bridal party 😉

Finally, the music started playing and the procession began…

My hunky groomsmen of a husband:

 

IMG_1683

IMG_1706

He cleans up well, don’tcha think? 😉

Her colors were black and red, and there were roses every where. The decor was so very pretty:

IMG_1678Cake!

IMG_1679

Candy Bar!

IMG_1680

 

After the wedding, everyone was instructed to go downstairs for cocktails and hour devourers:

IMG_1688

 

Yummy, yummy shiraz

IMG_1689

IMG_1691

Pecan/cranberry sauce cracker of some sort. Delish!

Had a couple glasses of wine and some delicious fruit and cheese, and when we all went back upstairs, they had transferred the wedding area into a reception area. It was an added bonus that we didn’t have to drive to get from the wedding to the reception.

Right after the wedding party was announced, it was time to cut the cake!

 

IMG_1699

 

Fortunately, there were so many more veggie options than at the rehearsal dinner. I ended up getting a HUGE salad with balsamic vinaigrette dressing and an abundance of grilled veggies, a big hunk of bread, and some risotto:

 

IMG_1708

Yum yum 😀 Oh, and the wine continued to flow.

After Steve and Amanda’s first dance, and several other dances, it was time to boogy down! The husband and I spent the whole night on the dance floor! He really impressed me because he wasn’t drinking much at all – usually it takes him quite  a few beers to cut a rug 😉

 

IMG_1713

Around midnight the party wore down, and we took a cab back to the hotel and called it a night. It was such a fun wedding, and I am so so so happy for Amanda and Steve!                                          

This morning, albeit having countless  numerous glasses of wine, I didn’t feel too shabby! The shiraz I was drinking must have been pretty good quality 😉 Nevertheless, the early a.m. wakeup call was enough to make me grouchy, but a little before 8:00 another couple and we piled into yet another limo with our lattes and hightailed it to the airport.

Why a limo for four people you ask? Well…that’s just how we roll! I kid I kid 😉 My friend meant to ask for a car and accidentally got a limo! Doh! haha

When we got to the airport, my hunger really kicked in. I had hankering for a whole wheat bagel with cream cheese, but couldn’t find any, so I settled on this:

 

IMG_1716

Minus the chemical-laden ranch, thankya! 🙂 Did the job perfectly.

Gotta love the fact that our flight was only an hour long. Gave us plenty of time to drive into the city!

 

IMG_1718

We drove into the city, because the husband wanted to take me to Lululemon for Valentine’s Day! Score!

IMG_1721

Got the groove crops and a cute stocking cap. Love ❤ Unfortunately, though, the trip to Lulu caused us to get stuck in the middle of a HUGE traffic jam. We were in stand still traffic for a good hour because of a wreck:

 

IMG_1722

Yuck! We originally planned to stop off in a suburb for a nice Valentine’s Day lunch, but we didn’t get a move on from the jam until about 2:30. Thus our lunch plans were foiled, and instead, lunch was eaten in-lap:

IMG_1720

Not so balanced, but oh-so delicious 😉

After we got out of the traffic jam, it was smooth sailing until we got home. Got home, unpacked, and met my friend Heidi at the gym for a run. I had a 3 mile easy run on my training plan, and she was starting day one of the couch to 5 K plan (YAY!!! A new running buddy!! :D) I wanted to get in some strength training, but I was WAY too excited to go and pick Niko up. I missed her so much for only being gone three days, haha. You all understand, right??

Obviously after this, I was starving, considering I hadn’t really eaten a real meal all day. I think my stomach was about to eat my back bone when I scarffed down this plate of Monical’s Pizza and a breadstick:

IMG_1723

IMG_1724 

Wow…this turned out to be a supah long post! If you’re still with me, I commend you! I’m gonna go settle in with the hubski and watch a movie to round out V-day. I hope you all had a great Sunday 😀

Happy Valentine’s Day, all!! How did your day shape up? Regardless of when I had a Valentine or not, I’ve always liked to eat chocolate and watch a sappy romantic movie 😀

15 Responses

  1. What a super busy and fun day! We ran our marathon for vday. Both PRed and I got my BQ! It’s been such a fun weekend!

    CJ

  2. Looks like a great weekend, what a beautiful winter wedding 🙂 Your outfit turned out great!
    The boyfriend and I celebrated today by buying our first house! Our offer was accepted this afternoon and after we sent in our paperwork, I made us a jubilant dinner of veggie enchiladas.
    Mardi Gras is this Tuesday… I am heading to Chicago with a friend to see Snoop Dogg at the Metro! Should be wild!

  3. girl wow what great pics and the festivities sound awesome!
    chicago traffic jams are notorious, when i lived there 1 mile could be 60 mins sometimes. seriously, the worst traffic ever. i hear ya.

    the groove capris, i actually bought them! i dont wear them though 😦 they just dont fit me right and are not comfy. i hope you love yours and wear the heck outta them 🙂

  4. It looks like you a very fun time. What a nice surprise to get some Lulu on Valentine’s Day:-) How did Niko react when she saw you?
    Yesterday, we walked and biked around Casey Key and Nokomis, but it was too cool for water sports. Today, it’s gonna be 65, so we might wet get our feet wet. It’s still better than Illinois.
    Did ya get my card?

  5. You looked great for the wedding! And it sounds like you’ve been having a great time 🙂

  6. Looks like a fun weekend! I love the outfit you decided on!

  7. Looks like a beautiful wedding! Sounds like you had a great weekend! (minus the traffic jam part– I hate traffic!!)

    I’m jealous of the Lulu goodies!! 🙂

  8. Awesome weekend! I love weddings and you looked fabulous! 🙂

  9. Glad you had fun at the wedding! You looked totally adorable! And the food looked great- I love when there is a buffet with lots of veggie options. Usually the vegetarian option is just white pasta with cheese haha. Valentine’s day was great! Pretty relaxing

  10. We are actually celebrating Valentine’s day tonight! Hubby and I are going out to dinner in about 20 min. Yeah! Glad you guys had a fun trip!

  11. Awww, looks like a fun wedding! But BOO for long days of travel– I feel your pain 😦

  12. you are so cute! haha now i am on the prowl for wedding ideas. i picked this post apart! thanks. mwah!

Leave a Reply

