Breaking Up with Your Gym

Hey peeps! How’s your Tuesday treatin’ ya? Well I hope:) Mine’s goin’ just fiiiine. But to interrupt my regular blogging schedule of live>recap>live>recap, I bring to you a thought that’s been weighing (heh) on my mind the past couple days!

 

 

Breaking up is Hard to Do

 

1_gymempty

 

Even when it’s with your gym!

In April of 2009, my friend, Heidi, had convinced me to come with her to the gym where she belonged and get a free two-week guest pass. I think we’ve all been here. Whether we’re seriously contemplating joining or just going along for the free ride, it’s hard to turn down a FREE pass, right??

It had been almost 5 months since I quit my 4-year long membership at Gold’s gym, and I was flirting with the idea of joining another gym. I had quit Gold’s because that Christmas I had gotten an elliptical, I had a full set of weights, countless DVD’s, yoga mat, the great outdoors, etc. Plus, Gold’s was too crowded and I didn’t ever feel 100% comfortable there. And they had NO sense of temperature control (NOT cool in mid July or mid January!)

So I joined Heidi in countless Les Mills classes and cardio sessions during those two weeks, and at the end, all the sudden I was signing a contract agreeing that I could work out at the Workout Company if they could siphon take $45 out of my bank account each month. Done deal.

This was right around the time I started the couch to 5K plan, so a treadmill was very handy. Since that day, I’ve gone to the gym an average of 4-5 times each week (providing for a couple days a week for outdoor runs and home elliptical sessions) and have loved it! I’ve felt a real sense of “belonging.” The staff is super friendly, and always calls their members by name, and I’ve come to build relationships with instructors and other class-goers. And of course, it’s great having one of my best friends to meet me at the gym. Hello work out buddy!! I love working out with friends every now and then. Working out a lone has its perks, especially when it comes to hard core training, but a friend by your side can make a lack luster work out that much better 😀

Fast forward 10 months, to when I got hired as a trainer at a different gym. The husband and I both agreed that it makes sense for me to quit my membership at The Workout Company since I could now go to a gym for free. I mean, we’re trying to save money, and that’s an easy way, right? Well it’s not that easy!

Breaking up is hard to do! Especially when it’s a case of “it’s not you, it’s me!” (This was not the case with Gold’s. Gold’s, it was partly you.) I love that gym, the sense of community, the power yoga class held in the loft area, and mostly, that I get to work out with one of my BFF’s! Heidi not only just got back to working out after having a baby, but she is also just starting the Couch 2 5K plan! I’m super pumped about helping her out with this. After all, it’s what launched me into my love for running 😀 But, it’s just financially logical to save the extra $45 a month. This morning I broke the news to Heidi, and she was less than pleased. In fact, she’s still trying to get me to change my mind!

I realize this post might sound a bit melodramatic, but when you spend 6 hours a week at one place, you can get a little attached. It’s not just leaving a place with workout equipment, but it’s leaving a community! It’s like leaving a job where you really like your co-workers or the work you do.

 

Have you ever broken up with your gym before?

What was the most emotional situation you’ve been in when “breaking up” with an inanimate object or place (work, a gym, a class, etc)?

15 Responses

  1. I know the feeling. I had to do that about 4 years ago . I was distraught. I loved that gym, ended up joining another cheaper one.. It was ok, not the same. Then the end 2007 rejoined the first gym and I was so happy. The customer service is great.
    Still there. Love it. Had to go back.

  2. I had to break-up with my all-time favorite gym when we moved to Los Angeles! Obviously, it just wasn’t an option anymore. But I still miss it!

    My gym here is Los Angeles is surprisingly cheaper, but is lacking the overall atmosphere and class quality of my old gym… *sigh*

  3. I hated leaving the Davenport Family Y years ago. It had an awesome lap pool and an indoor track along with the usual weight training etc. So, when I joined a tiny Y in Illinois, I tried lap swimming again only to find that they kept it at 90 to please all their old people who barely moved in the water and wore big old swimcaps. I’m old too, but when a lady stood in my lane, stopped me and said, “You are splashing me!” I QUIT!! Sorry about how long this post is, but it really hit home. I belong to a nice gym now and know about half of all the members. I love it.

  4. I broke up with a favorite gym of mine about 6 months ago because a new one opened that offered everything my old one did, but was closer and cheaper. I hated leaving the people from there. I really like the new gym, but still don’t feel the same sense of relationship there.

  5. Ohhh, I tooootally get how you’re feeling! I seriously teared up after my last visit to my old campus gym. Even though it was small and crowded, it was the place where I found my love of exercise, and really like a second home to me throughout all the tough times during my last year of university. Now I’m at a new, bigger gym that I LOVE. Much like the one you’re leaving (Les Mills classes too!). I’m going to miss it so much when I move cities in June, and it’s probably the main thing that’s kept me in my current city for so long!

  6. I’m so excited to see you mention couch to 5K. I started that program because I’m planning on doing a 5k in Chicago in May.

    Do you have any adive for me? How did it work out for you?

    • When you get to week 5 don’t give up! I had to do this week twice, but after I got it out of the way, it was smooth sailing. Don’t get down on yourself if it takes you two weeks to complete one week on the training plan:) Let me know how it goes!

  7. I completely know what you mean. I always get attached to my gyms, but I move a lot so end up doing a lot of “breaking up”.

    Sorry for the bummer situation 😦

  8. i had the same thing happen to me. I was a member of Gold’s FOREVER and then I started working as a nutritionist at another gym and I got a FREE membership so I quit Gold’s. It was hard because I loved the classes and friendships I had made. I stayed away for almost 2 years but I have recently gone back to Gold’s (for the classes) because I missed it! I LOVE LOVE LOVE my gym but sometimes it is nice to work out in a location where you don’t work! The anonymity can be nice….

  9. Uh, tough decisions. 😦 I had to “break up” with a nanny I loved when my youngest daughter went to school. I was really sad but we ended up getting a new nanny anyway whom I like even better. 🙂 Everything happens for a reason.

  10. I know the feeling! You have to go with what is most reasonable and makes you happy. I was bored with my old gym, so I decided change was necessary. 3 times the price was worth full length classes and a lap pool. I couldn’t be happier with my decision!

  11. I have no advice, but wanted to say this post reminded me of that Friends episode where Ross wants to “quit the gym” but can’t. All I remember is him saying over and over again “I want to quit the gym!”

    I have been to my fair share of gyms I have liked and don’t like. So far none have been my “perfect” gym, but they all gave me memories and it is hard to quit something inanimate!

  12. […] glad I’m not the only weirdo one who has had an emotional attachment with an inanimate object. Ya’ll feel me on having to “break up” with gyms, jobs, employees, etc. Le […]

  13. […] Immediately after my quickie run, I rushed to the gym to meet my friend Heidi for a power yoga class (it was her first one!) It totally kicked our asses, and thankfully, Heidi didn’t hate me afterward for taking her along Gah I’m gonna miss this gym! […]

  14. […] morning I went back to someone I walked away from at the beginning of this year. I walked away because of the “it’s-not-you-it’s me […]

Leave a Reply

