Nip Missed Workout Guilt in the Bud

Happy MARCH!

Is anyone really sad to see February go? Anyone? Bueller? I say good riddance! February has some great things going for it, like National Eating Disorder Awareness month, Black History Month, and of course, Complaint-Free February, but the weather – at least here in central Illinois – is always the worst! And now that it’s March, I can complain about it 😉 Only kidding!

Here in Normal, March brought with it temps in the upper 30’s, which is still below normal, but I’ll take it!

This morning I set my alarm early enough to get in a nice upper body and elliptical session in at the casa before going to work. But when I woke up, I just wasn’t feeling it. Monday’s are usually my rest days, but with my 5k coming up this Saturday, Friday is the new Monday…at least in regards to my rest day. :-p

So instead, I brewed a nice strong pot (cylinder?) of coffee:

 

IMG_5651

 

I started to feel the skipped workout guilt, but I nipped it in the bud with a plan. Skipped workout guilt is for the birds, but I know I’m not alone in feeling it from time to time. My sure fire way to kick it to the curb is to come up with an alternative plan, (i.e. make it up on another day, write it off, go after work instead) make a decision, and stick with it! At least in my experience, it’s when I start getting indecisive that I feel guilty. And really, in most cases, skipping one workout won’t really matter, right? Right!

Anyway, I used my extra time to fold some laundry, play with the pup, and catch up on Desperate Housewives, and it some Overnight Oats:

 

IMG_5652

IMG_5653

They were knock-your-head-off delicious.

Went to work for the day, breaking for a just quick lunch:

 

IMG_5654

IMG_5656

Spinach, bell pepper, tempeh, hummus in a Flat Out + strawberries for dessert. These strawberries were amazingly delicious and SO sweet.

IMG_5655

So juicy

Other snacks involved oranges and sweet, salty, and crunchy trail mix. All very nomtastic, if you will.

When I got home from work, I got ready for job # 2 and prepped dinner for when I got home:

IMG_5661

Quinoa confetti casserole from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan – before

I also made a green juice for the ride:

 

IMG_5664

 

This lovely delight contained the juice of 3 cups of spinach, half a cucumber, one organic apple, and half of a yellow bell pepper. So good and antioxidantly. 😉

At the gym, I trained of one my clients and switched up the routine a bit. I think she really liked the exercises! It’s so cool learning about and adapting to the different training methods that different clients enjoy 😀

Did a little upper body workout myself after her appointment while I was there then came home for the after version of the casserole:

IMG_5667

So. Freakin’. Delish. I had the hubksi cook and stir while I was gone so it came out as delicious as always.

My bowl:

IMG_5668

Perfect!

Now I’m about to catch up with my DVR to see who the Bachelor picks to be his “wife!” I’m not too fond of either of the choices, but I’m always down for some trash TV!

Do you struggle with missed workout guilt? How do you “nip it in the bud”?

21 Responses

  1. By moving on to another activity like you did today, or by reminding myself that one extra day off isn’t going to make or break my fitness level/goals.

  2. again, i never make anything from ed & bv b/c I am always stumped what it will turn out like..til i come to blog posts like this one and see you made it amazing..and then i am like, ok i need to crack that cookbook! 🙂

  3. Oh how I love ED&BV, though I’ve never tried that recipe before! Think it might have to go on the weekend recipe list….

    I definitely struggle with exercise guilt, but it’s something I’ve worked on a lot in the past year. Now, I refuse to force a workout. If that means I don’t run for a week, or longer, so be it. And you know what? I’m finally starting to really believe it’ll all even out in the end!

  4. I’m glad you brought the topic up of exercise guilt on your blog. When I can’t get in a good workout, I try to make sure I move more than others around me like walking up the stairs at work or in the parking deck or in an airport and call it good enough.

  5. I am lucky in that I have never really experienced exercise guilt. I really think it comes from working a gym, though. Having such an active job and being able to exercise whenever – when I wouldn’t, it would be a nice relief! 🙂

  6. I can’t believe how good those strawberries look for the being the middle of winter!

    I sometimes experience the skipped workout guilt, but I try to keep the guilty feelings to a minimum.

  7. I totally struggle with work out guilt. I typically feel horrible the entire day until I can get to the gym again. I need some tips on how to get rid of my guilt!

    You are kickin butt with your training!!! How many clients do you have now?

  8. Wow, those strawberries look delicious! All the ones around here right now are so unflavorful and more white than red.

  9. I do struggle with work out guilt a lot! Typically, I move things around if I can and occasionally I may do two-a-days. More often than not, I just tell myself that one day won’t kill me and move on!

  10. Usually, I can convince myself that sometimes I just need to take a break and move on because either my body or mind needs that day off!

  11. I used to suffer from missed workout guilt a lot. Now I know that it will balance itself out and I usually miss because I am listening to my body, which is most important. 🙂

  12. Oh yes, I used to experience it ALL the time. And it’s one of the main things that led to my injury. Looking back, I got up at 5:30 EVERY morning on vacation in Europe just to get a run in. And I’d always feel guilty on days i couldn’t workout. Anytime. And now I look at myself and I’ve taken months off! It’s crazy. But it really has made me realize that I’ll live and I won’t balloon up with a few missed workouts here and there!

  13. Yes…i totally struggle with missed workout guilt. But usually unless I am sick I don’t miss a workout. For me, working out is like brushing my teeth. I dont’ even think about it anymore. It is just what I do…

  14. so jealous of your pink coffee press! it’s adorable. and as far as desperate housewives…have you been bored with them lately? they’ve been so-so…

  15. Girl I’m struggling right now trying to decide if I’m going to go for my run or not today. It’s not cold but it’s super windy and I’m really not looking forward to it. There are still plenty of days left in the week so I know it’s not that big of a deal, realistically.

  16. when I miss a workout that I was supposed to have, I get upset at the time btu then realize that its just a day and just a workout and the next day you can make up for it! I try never to beat myself up

    I love training my clients and seeing them IMPROVE 🙂 its the best!

  17. […] like you all have awesome attitudes when it comes to missing a workout. No sense in fretting, right? That seems to be the […]

  18. […] the weekdays, I usually have a cold breakfast that I can prepare the night before, due to my early a.m. workout wakeup calls. However, today I was able to make a nice hot bowl of […]

Leave a Reply

