Berries and Cherries

Hi friends!

Three cheers for Friday night! Are you all whoopin’ it up?? I’m afraid there’s no whoopin’ being done over here. I have a 5k to run in the morning, and want to do my bestest. It’s the first one of the year! I did go out tonight, but it was G rated. More on that in a few:)

Since today was a day-before-race rest day, I slept in a little, and woke up with ample time to make a stove-cooked breakfast:

IMG_5797

Stovetop oats containing:

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 1 T. chia
  • 1 packet of Purevia
  • 1 banana
  • 1 T flaxmeal

IMG_5798

 

Plus a little almond butter swirly to bring everything together. So good I was tempted to lick the bowl!

It also put me in a fabulous mood! Off to work I go…until…I see the berries and cherries. And not the yummy kind 😦 Yep, got pulled over. Yep, I was speeding. And yep, I got a ticket. URGH! The cop didn’t even give me a chance – he’d made up his mind that he was giving me a ticket when he saw me going 40 in a 30. Although I had it coming, the same policeman pulled over TWO of my friends within the past two weeks. Ruthless, I tell ya! After shedding a few tears and muttering some obscenities, I was back en route to work – obeying the speed limit 😉

To cheer up my not so great morning, I met my friend, Debbie, at Panera for lunch!

IMG_1106

Had the vegetable and pesto soup w/ the Mediterranean sandwich on whole grain bread. Aaand perhaps a big ass chocolate chipper cookie…

IMG_1107

 

Side note: I used to work at Panera during college, and I became OBSESSED with this cookie. I also gained 5 pounds 😉

Before I left work I had an unpictured PBJ Lara Bar. It’d been a while since I have had a Lara Bar, and this completely rekindled our love 🙂

I came home after work, and had about an hour before I had to leave the house, so I baked up a batch of spelt flour and oatmeal cookies from Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan:

IMG_5799

IMG_5803 

My parents are coming up to watch my race tomorrow with the hubski and I always try and have some kind of healthy baked goods for them when they take the time to come visit me. Plus my mom might take me shopping for my birthday (this month!)  😉

IMG_5805

The hubski tried one, and I may have had a half of one (omg, cookie overload today) and we both give it 5 raisins 😉

After the baking quickie, I said goodbye to the husband and Niko…

IMG_5801

LOL

and met my friend, Carmody at a charity dinner called Empty Bowls. It was a charity event at the local high school, and the students made and painted ceramic bowls to sell for $10. Everyone who went paid $10 for a ticket, and then chose a bowl to take home with them. Then when everyone had their bowls, soup was served!

My bowl:

IMG_1109

And since the only vegetarian option was broccoli cheese, I opted for that, but only ate a couple bites. Did eat all the carrots though!

IMG_1108

 

Just got home from the dinner, and made a second (kinda) dinner…

IMG_5806

Air popped popcorn + nutritional yeast + sea salt. I prepared it LVAY style by spraying the popped popcorn with olive oil spray before adding the seasonings. Worked perfectly! The spray helps the yeast and salt stick to the popcorn instead of just sinking to the bottom.

IMG_5807

Awesome combo! Have you tried this yet? Try it! Try it!

Now it’s kinda late and I’m watching 24 with Shane and will probably hit the hay soon. Got an early morning for the race!! It’s supposed to be mid thirties and sunny for the actual race, so that’s pretty good. Early March is iffy weather-wise in Illinois. Still not sure what to wear, though. Perhaps running tights and a long sleeved tech shirt? Maybe a headband or hat? We’ll see (and you’ll see, because you know I’ll write about it!) So excited!!       

 

When is the last time you got a speeding ticket, if ever? Before today, it had been nearly 7 years!! I was going so strong, and then BAM, it happened. But like I said, I had it coming. I’m a speeder, and I need to slow my booty down. I wasn’t even late for work! So there was no reason I should have been going ten over the limit.      

13 Responses

  1. That sounds like such a fun event!

    Sorry you got a speeding ticket 😦 It’s been about a year for me – I’ve only ever gotten a few, but they were all within a few months. Guess I went through a speedy phase! 😉

  2. Oh sweet thing I’m so sorry!! Speeding tix suck 😦 I’ve only gotten 1 (knock on wood!), about 4 1/2 years ago, but could have easily gotten many more in the past 😉 40 in 30 zone is so easy to do. Yikes. I always spray my poppy corn with spray! So great. And if you really want a tasty treat, try a drizzle of EVOO on it instead and then toss it. OMG amazing.

  3. “big ass chocolate chipper cookie…”
    Oh girl let me move in. That would be perf for me!
    Would love the deets on how you like the ED BV cookies w/ spelt. Spelt still has gluten in it but lower amt than wheat flour, so it’s not GF but it’s better so for me, it’s better but not perfect. Were the cookies really good? They look freakin delish!!!

    Thanks for the shoutout w/ the cooking spray! And I orig saw that cooking spray that Ive been using (coconut oil spectrum spray) on your bloggie. So see, it’s truly a collaborative popcorn effort 🙂

    xoxo

  4. Those 40 in a 30 are the easiest ones to get! In some places, I think they must be speed traps cuz you usually see a cop sitting around the area. I got stopped in one, and luckily, even tho’ the cop seemed very austere, he let me go. I am very careful in those areas now. You seem to have a good attitude about the whole bummer…better slow down.
    Panera’s looks wonderful. I wish I could get my hubby in one. I know I could get him to eat those cookies:-)

  5. I don’t know if I should answer because I don’t want to jinx myself…but never! 😀

  6. Good luck on your 5K!!! You’ll do great–you’re a speed demon! 😉

  7. Bummer on the speeding ticket. My last one was about 2 years ago and it was a TOTAL BS ticket…35 in a 30! Seriously…I was ticked!

    Goodluck on the 5K today…can’t wait for the recap!

  8. sucks about the speeding ticket! The last ticket I got was in 2005. I totally deserved it. I was going 80 in a 65.

  9. Sorry about the ticket. The last one I got was my freshman year of college. But I’m a granny driver 🙂

    Good luck on your 5K!

  10. I got my first speeding ticket a few months ago. Bad enough I was going almost 25km over the speed limit (12 miles??) It was worsened by the fact that I didn’t have my registration OR insurance card in the dash!! Thankfully, I had a nice cop and drove away with a $170 fine. Ugh, such a nervewracking experience. Hope the rest of your weekend is better!!

  11. I love that bowl. It’s adorable!

  12. […] was just going to have movie popcorn for dinner, but since that ended up being my dinner Friday night, I made myself a pre-popcorn dinner before […]

  13. […] faster than the speed limit (and I’m already good at that […]

Leave a Reply

