Oh, Saturday…a Race Recap!

Goooood morning! How has your weekend gone so far? Going great so far here:)

I’m currently digesting a big bowl of banana oatmeal:

 

IMG_5830   

IMG_5829

 

Mmmm! To make this I just heated up 1 c. water, 1/2 c. oats, 1 T flax, 1 T. chia, and 1 smashed organic banana on the stove until boiling, then simmered, and added a handful of raisins. Topped it off with some coconut almond butter syrup! To make this, just heat up a little coconut butter, almond butter, and coconut milk in the microwave,stir, and poooour on. SO good, but SO filling. I could only eat about 3/4’s of it.

——

Yesterday I ran in the first 5k of the year! It was at our city’s zoo – the Zoo Stampede run.

 

IMG_5824

(finisher’s medal)

The race wasn’t until 10:00, so I woke up around 7, and made a stabilizing and filling pre-race breakfast made with these ingredients:

IMG_5809

Brown rice flour toast – one piece with Earth Balance and organic jelly, and the other with my usual pre-workout snack used as a spread! This spread consists one a half a smashed banana, 1 T. almond butter, cinnamon, and maca.

IMG_5812

IMG_5811

And then a fresh mango!

IMG_5814

Mmm. First one of those of the season, too 😀

After hanging around a little while, the hubski and I drove over to the zoo to get our race faces on!

Unfortunately, I forgot to bring the memory card to my camera, and the only pictures I got were after the race:

IMG_1733

Booo:(

Albeit not being able to document the race with photos, it went wonderfully! Seriously it couldn’t have been a better day. There wasn’t a cloud in the sky, and it wasn’t extremely cold (mid-upper thirties.) And right before getting in the starting line, I saw Christine (from Fly Runner.) That’s all I saw of her though, because I’m pretty sure she was one of the first few through the finish line!!

After I got my race bib and t-shirt, I had about a half hour before the start, and decided to jog a warm up mile or two. Can you believe this is the first time I’ve actually “warmed up” before a race?! Usually I just use the first half mile or so of the race to warm up, and go from there. Anyway, the warm up must have helped a lot, because the race went great!

My goal was to hold a 9:00 mile for the race. Since my training has really been focusing on distance and mileage as opposed to speed, I wasn’t trying to break any personal records. But to my surprise, I was holding an 8:36 mile quite easily the whole way through! It was really just a nice, relaxing, fun, quick run! The course wasn’t very flat, either! There were probably about 5 hills throughout the course, and I handled them quite well (for me) for not doing any hill workouts. During the last three 10th’s of a mile, I really booked it, and came in 27:03! It’s not a PR or anything, but it’s MUCH better than I had hoped I’d do 😀

My mom and dad came to watch, too, and afterward, we all went out to lunch at Fiesta Ranchera, one of the Mexican restaurants in town:

IMG_1736

BYOK (Bring your own kombucha)

IMG_1735

I went with the ever-impressive veggie fajitas w/ guac – LOVE iiiit! 😀

Afterward, we did a little shopping (only to come out unsuccessful – boo:( ) and went to Fresh Market for some goods.

After separating and putting away the groceries, Euchre sounded fun!

IMG_5819

My dad and my dog who is OBSESSED with him.

IMG_5820

And vice versa 😉

Me and my ma 😀 Us girls ended up kicking BOOTY in euchre, btw. Oh yeah, that’s right!!

IMG_5821

The parental unit left shortly after, but the husbski and I weren’t ready to stop the shenanigans. Oh, Saturday. I was super pumped to see Alice and Wonderland, so Shane and I decided to go check it out in 3D!

Shane was just going to have movie popcorn for dinner, but since that ended up being my dinner Friday night, I made myself a pre-popcorn dinner before hand:

IMG_5826

IMG_5827

This salad was amazingly easy and amazingly tasty. Contained spinach, cucumber, avocado, button mushroom, 1 egg and 1 egg white, and goat cheese.

And of course I munched on some popcorn at the movie as well 😉

It was actually my first time seeing a 3d movie! It took my eyes a bit to adjust, but when they did, I loved it! The movie was pretty good, too. It kept my interest for the whole duration, which is saying something for me.

Now I’m about to go meet my friend, Heidi at the gym for some legs and running, and then to the coffee shop! It’s pretty much become a tradition that we gym it and grab coffee afterwards at least once a weekend 🙂 The rest of my day will be spent doing mounds of laundry and mounds of cleaning! Nothing like putting all that stuff off until Sunday 😀

Have a fabulous end to your weekend, all!

15 Responses

  1. Hey girl! Glad I got to see you right before the race! They posted results on the LRC website and I think you got 2nd in your Age Group, congrats! In previous years they had little animal sculptures painted by the kid’s program for trophies for awards, but not this year, oh well. Hope to see you at more races!

    CJ

    • Oh really? Haha that’s awesome, I didn’t even bother looking! Thanks for letting me know 🙂

      • Yep! I wish they would have had the after party at the banquet like last year so we could have all hung out a bit and then got some sweet trophies. Still a fun race. You doing St. Pat’s 5K?

        CJ

  2. Congrats on the race! That mango is making me drool, I may have to buy me some!

  3. What a fun Saturday! I can’t wait for mangos to drop in price by me!

  4. It really was a fun day. We are so glad we made it to see your start and finish, a great one I might add!
    Those oatmeal cookies you made are as good as anything Aunt Kimmy makes, btw.
    I’ve heard that Alice is a good movie, but I can’t wait to see Crazy Heart. The Dude in The Big Labowski returns:-)

  5. bring your own kombucha, indeed….congrats on the race!

  6. Nice job on the 5K! I would like to run my first 5K this year. 🙂 The veggie fajitas look fab!!

  7. ahhhhhhhh! Congrats on the race! That is FABULOUS that you did even better than you had hoped. Great post race eats. I just saw Avatar in 3D! It is craziness- I can’t wait to see Alice in Wonderland the same way!! Hope you’re having a nice Sunday

  8. GREAT job with the race girl!!! ahhh i loved avatar in 3d!! i bet that movie will be great!

  9. Great job Paige!!

    That salad looks awesome 🙂

  10. Great job on the run! I love that you know Euchre- we love to play!

    ~Christie http://rollerkoesterrun.wordpress.com/

  11. great job on the race, paige!!!!!!! 🙂

  12. Congrats on a great race!! I never warm up before a race either….maybe I should! haha

  13. Congrats on the first race of the season!! Man, I wish we had a zoo here, it sounds like so much fun to do a zoo race!

Leave a Reply

