Carob Coconut Pecan Granola

Morning Sunshines! Congratulations for making it through yet another Monday 😀

I actually had a quite long, but very pleasant one.

TGIR (Thank God it’s Restday.) I got to sleep in this morning and had a nice relaxing time getting ready for work. Included in this relaxing portion of my day was yet another breakfast cookie:

 

IMG_5843

 

Seriously, best weekday breakfast ever. It’s probably going to get repetitive, so if I don’t post my breakfast, just assume I had one of these delicious bad boys 😀

Work passed by with light speed today! All the sudden and I only had an hour left to go. Not that I’m complainin’ 😉

Foodies had throughout the day:

 

IMG_5844

IMG_5845

A nomtastic wrap containing spinach, cucumber, a bit of avocado, laughing cow wedge, hummus and some strawbabies.

Plus some unpictured Fresh Market Sweet Sienna trail mix which included raw almonds, walnuts, and pecans, and yogurt covered raisins, and an unpictured tangerine or three 😉

Since I had to leave straight from job #1 to job #2 to train a couple clients, I had a bit of a mini meal before I left the office:

 

IMG_5846

I packed up some Kashi cereal and homemade granola (recipe below) in a container, and then in an insulated bottle some SO Delicious Coconut Milk. Twas delicious and kept me full the whole time I was training my clients 😀

In between clients I had about 20 minutes, so I hopped on the elliptical just to get the blood flowing. The leg workout I did on Sunday really had my booty burning, and it felt good to get some blood to the muscles!

FINALLY got home from my 12+ hour day and it was time to cook up some dinner. I didn’t feel like spending much time on it, so I opened the fridge, and grabbed three ingredients that were sure to go together, whipped up a little no-fail sauce, and heated everything together.

IMG_5848

IMG_5849

Acorn squash, black beans, and marinated tofu from Sunday night’s dinner in a sauce of rice wine vinegar + maple syrup + tamari. Quick, easy, and tasted damn good doing the job 🙂

Then the husband informed me that he brought home THREE boxes of Girl Scout cookies – ALL of them Samoas. I think it’d be illegal not to have some for dessert:

 

IMG_5850

Practiced portion control and just had two. And enjoyed every last bite 😀

 

Coconut Carob Pecan Granola

Sunday afternoon I tried my hand at making some granola! I’d forgotten to get it at the store, and instead of paying $6 for a bag, I thought I’d wing it, and make some using the ingredients in my pantry.

 

IMG_5825

Ingredients:

2 c. old fashioned rolled oats

¼ c. wheat germ

¼ c. sucanat (or turbinado or brown sugar)

¼ – ½ c. unsweetened shredded coconut

¼ – ½ c. of pecan pieces

1 t. vanilla extract

¼ c. pecan or almond (or any nut) butter

¼ coconut oil

1/3 c. carob chips

¼ c. raisins

 

IMG_5847

 

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients except the raisins and carob chips, mix well. Spread out of a large baking sheet, and bake for 40 minutes, or until lightly browned, stirring every 10-15 minutes. When done, add in raisins and carob chips, and toss to combine. Prepare to have your taste buds BLOWN away.

 

IMG_5832

Great with yogurt, obviously.

IMG_5831          

Store in an air tight container for up to two weeks! Perfecto! Now go make it and let me know about it!! 😀

Well I’ve got a sleeping puppy on my lap, and I think she has just the right idea. I’m callin’ it a night, friends. Got a supah early wake up call to hit up the gym with my girl, Heidi. Catch ya’ll on the flipside!

13 Responses

  1. That granola looks to die for! I almost died tonight at Starbucks when I picked up a baggie of their granola that they were charging $2.50 for – I mean, I know it’s Starbucks, but there were oh, three bites to it! This looks so much yummier too – you say chocolate, I’m so there!

  2. Good idea to make your own granola. I wonder if Starbucks sells a lot of that at $2.50, probably.
    Have a good workout with Heidi. I am heading out right now for a walk/run before work and the rain starts. It’s supposed to rain for days!

  3. Wow, long day indeed!

    I can’t believe you only had two of those cookies. Major props!

  4. My favorite Girl Scout Cookies, I don’t think I could eat just two. Your granola looks delicious and sounds like it has some good flavors mixed in.

  5. I’m dying to try the Somoa ice cream! I have to boxes of the cookies in the freezer and it’s SO hard to go in there without one in my hand! lol SO good!

  6. Oh my I think I would eat all of the cookies! I love samosas and can’t be trusted around them 😉

  7. I cannot buy Girl Scout cookies. I would not know how to stop at 2. Congrats on your self control! 🙂

  8. I ate 4 samoas yesterday.. oops. is it just me or do they get smaller every year?!

  9. oh my goodness- that granola sounds INCREDIBLE! What a great combination of flavors. The wrap also looks good- I finallly tried LC cheese (not sure what took me so long) and I am really loving it!!

  10. ha! TGIR. love it. i am such an acronyms geek. that wrap is incred! all the delish components. i was just asking for a granola recipe! and here one is! i think i need to make it. XOXO

  11. […] was a combination of Ezekiel Golden Flax granola, my homemade granola, and some Kashi Heart 2 Heart with SO Delicious Coconut […]

Leave a Reply

