Fruitopia!!

Oh hi there 😀

Did everyone enjoy their Tuesday? I sure do hope so!!

I was up and at ‘em at the outrageous hour of 4:45 this morning, and wasn’t happy about it until I had this running through my veins:

 

img_5651_thumb

 

Yep..I’ve officially reinstated coffee before my morning workouts. Maca alone just aint cuttin’ it. But that’s not to say I’m cuttin’ it out. Along with my coffee, I had my go to pre-(intense) workout breakkie of half a smashed banana, Barney Butter, cinnamon, and maca mash (for not so intense workouts, I just omit the BB.)

image

Looks nast, tastes fantast.

Today, that was fuelage for some pretty intense intervals. My training plan called for 7×400’s, which, in my understanding is alternating sprints for 400 meters with a short recovery job in between. Since I was on a treadmill, I jogged a 10 minute warm up, and then did sprints (well, 5k/8:30 pace) of 90 seconds, and a recovery jog at 6.0/10:00 pace for 60 seconds eight times through. I finished it out with a 5 minute cool down jog at a 10:00 pace. Get all that? 😉 Either way, I was BEAT, and a sweaty beast. Nevertheless, I still had about 15 minutes until I had to leave, so I joined Heidi on the stair master for the last 15 minutes to make it a completely cardio day.

When I got home, I chugged water like no other, and then made my first iced coffee of the year!

 

IMG_5851

 

Coffee, ice, SO Delicious Coconut Milk.

The temperature got up in to the 50’s today (60’s tomorrow!! Right on!) so I think iced coffee was quite appropriate.

Then fueled up with my fave breakfast cookie.

IMG_5852

1/3 c. oats, 1 T. chia, 1 T. PB2, 1 T. Carob powder, 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder, 1/2 banana, 1/8 c. almond milk, 1 T. almond butter, 1 packet stevia, and 1 T. cocoa nibs – all mixed together and refrigerated over night. Delicious as always. I’m on such a kick!!

Work was fairly busy today, but it sure made the time speed on by! While working away, I munched on an abundance of fruit!

Organic pear

IMG_1111

First plum of the season!

IMG_1114

 

And some unpictured strawberries and an apple. Fruitopia!!

For lunch, I tried a new (to me) Amy’s soup!

IMG_1113

 

I did a double take when I saw this coconut soup at Fresh Market. Too bad I didn’t grab two, because this soup’s amazin’!

To complete the meal, I brought along toasted a piece of brown rice flour bread, and added a combo of coconut butter and almond butter on top. Went amaaazingly well with the soup.

Had the night off from training clients (but I did sign another one, wahoo!) so after leaving work and running a couple errands, I was homeward bound!

Niko was practically BEGGING me for a walk when I got home.

You tell me. Can you deny this face?

IMG_1741

 

I sure can’t!!!

Dinner was somewhat of an experiment. I still had leftover southwestern squash sauce from Sunday’s lunch, and wanted to use it with some leftovers. Then it came to me! If it can be pizza sauce…

 

IMG_5855

…it can be pasta sauce!! Or so I thought. It was honestly just mediocre at best. Meh, ya win some ya lose some 🙂

Besides, the sides more than made up for it!

IMG_5858

Lightly boiled asparagus with an organic honey mustard dressing

IMG_5856

Humungo spinach salad topped with white mushrooms, avocado, and red onion tossed in the same honey mustard. Friggin’ delicious. Could have made this double the size and a meal on its own!

IMG_5854

All together nah!

Completed with a dark red Shiraz. I moved the whole shebang to the living room promptly after photographing and ate while watching Gossip Girl 😉 The hubski was working and I’m just not one for eating alone at the dinner table.

After dinner, we finished season one of 24 and dove straight into season two!! Looks like it’s going to be even more intense than the first one! Jack Bauer is such a badass 😉

Hope everyone has a lovely hump day!

What fresh fruits and veggies are you most looking forward to in the spring season? I can’t wait to eat some BERRIES! Strawberries, blueberries, raspberries – any of them! I go through berry withdrawl from September until March.

25 Responses

  1. I’m a berry fan, too! And I love apples in fall…LOVE apples!

    I’m having that soup tomorrow for lunch. I picked it up last weekend and was hoping to hear a review before opening it up! Sounds delicious!!! Love coconut!

  2. Yep I wouldn’t be able to deny that face either. And if I drank coffee still, I would totally make one with coconut milk too. What a delicious idea.

  3. Berries, watermelon, and more peaches are on my list. We have been enjoying the yellow flesh peaches from Fresh Market.

    CJ

  4. I LOVE that pic of you and Niko:-)
    You will really get into Season Two of 24. We’ve seen ’em all.
    I can’t wait for watermelon. When I was pregnant, I had one on the counter, one in the frig and one in a cooler. We lived in the country, and I was terrified of running out of them.

  5. Your dinner looks fantastic! I too, need coffee in addition to maca.

    I didn’t know I won something…I read your blog regularly. Maybe it was when we were in FL and I wasn’t as diligent. Anyway, I will send you my email. I’m excited!

  6. mm…that iced coffee with coconut milk sounds awesome!

    I can’t WAIT for berries and peaches (summer can’t come fast enough)

  7. I’m excited for fresh strawberries and ripe tomatoes!

  8. We did the same thing with 24. Watched seasons 1-5 then started watching 6 live. I love it!
    I’m excited for berries, good watermelon and ripe tomatoes!

  9. “Looks nast, tastes fantast.” bahaha. Love it. The ugliest food is always the tastiest!! I HAVE to drink iced coffee before I work out or else I just drag my feet. I only drink 1-2 cups a day, first thing in the morning, so I don’t feel bad about the caffeine consumption 🙂

    Omg, I just checked my e-mail and you just commented at the same time as I’m typing this! Twinsies! 😀

  10. This is so random, but your iced coffee looks so fancy in those shots! Maybe it’s the glass, maybe you just make it better than I do, but either way, it looks like such a treat!

    I’m so excited about kiwis, peaches, plums, and mangos. Yuuuuminess!

  11. Your iced coffee looks so pretty! And I still can’t believe that you wake up that early every day. I’d DIE!

  12. Mm I’m definitely looking forward to berries too!!! And Ice cream eaten outside in flip flops!

  13. Blackberries, plums, and I always love apples. Also melon and pineapple will be great too. I love fruit too 🙂

  14. omg can’t wait for strawberries and berries either…yum!

    and your Coffee, ice, SO Delicious Coconut Milk = perfect. I am a HUGE ice coffee girl and need to start, but it’s been sooooo cold here, hopefully soon i can indulge!

  15. I LOVE stone fruits like plums, peaches nectarines! I think I am most looking foward to nectarines! LOVE them!

  16. Everything!!! I can’t wait for farmers markets: peaches, tomatoes, cherries, berries, veggies!

  17. Hi! I’m new here 🙂

    All your food looks delicious! I’m looking forward to peaches, cherries and all the delicious berries!

    I’m also excited about our tomato garden!

  18. Awesome job on the treadmill workout! I love all of your healthy, whole food eats. That salad looks amazing and asparagus is one of my favorite veggies! I’m very much looking forward to spring strawberries and asparagus 🙂

  19. OH MY GAH I LOVE JACK BAUER! isnt it addicting? its like the world WILL end if you stop watching it..you cant stop at just one episodE!

  20. i’m excited for any fruit other than apples and pears and oranges…

  21. “Looks nast, tastes fantast.” bwahahahahaha i love you.

    so many first! love the coffee~ good looking!

    no. i cant deny that squishy lovely face.

    xo!

Leave a Reply

