Hi, My Name’s Niko

Hiya Friday friends!

Super pumped it’s the weekend and I know I’m not alone 😀

Sorry I left ya hangin’ last night. I went straight from work to the gym to meet my friend for some cardio and an amazing power yoga class. Then right after that, we met a few other girlfriends over at Flat Top for dinner. It was a fabulous time involving TONS of chit chat and even some Shenanigans:

IMG_1118

 

I wrote my name as Niko instead of Paige, just to be cute. I didn’t know our waitress, so she would never know 🙂 Little did I know, our waitress wouldn’t be bringing our food out! My ex-boss works there now apparently, and brought it out. When she called out Niko and I grabbed my plate she was like, “Um, your name isn’t Niko.” bahaha. You know, the usual 😉

Anyway, I didn’t get home until around 9:00, so I pretty much showered and went straight to bed. When I went to bed, I set my alarm for 4:45, planning to wake up and go to the gym before work, but I didn’t fully commit myself to whether I was going or not. Sometimes when the ol’ body doesn’t get a full 24 hrs between workouts, it rebels against. However this time, I woke up and felt wide awake, so I rolled with it. Goal was to run a 3 mile run at 5k pace, but needless to say, the leggies weren’t up for that, so it ended up being about a 9:20 pace.

Showered and dressed and it was time for a delicious Green Monster:

IMG_5877

One frozen banana, handful of ice, almond milk, Amazing Grass Superfood, two mongo handfuls of spinach

IMG_5876

Sipped on this until I finished getting ready, and then had a more substantial breakfast:

IMG_5880

One egg + one egg white w/ a dash of sea salt and one piece of toasted rice flour bread w/ organic jam and coconut buttah

IMG_5881Tastes buds were lovin’ it. Fellow coconut butter loves – is it just me, or does coconut butter keep you hunger at bay for hours? Must be that healthy fat 🙂 Gotta lurve it!

Work was pretty slow, so I ended up taking off a few hours early to run some errands. I had to get a birthday gift for tonight (Bunco night!! Woot!!) a library card, and grab some groceries for my food contribution for the get together tonight.

My contribution:

IMG_5886

IMG_5885

Balls!! One side are Averie’s chocolate chip cookie dough balls, and the other side were my improvised peanut butter balls, which I based off of the former balls. Wow. I don’t think I’ve said balls that many times in one sentence ever! 🙂 Anyway, there are a couple girls who gave up chocolate for lent (I know…crazy, right?!) so I made the peanut butter version. Averie has a peanut butter ball recipe of her own, but I didn’t have the ingredients on hand to make hers, so I improvised:)

To make the peanut butter balls, I simply followed the directions for the choc. chip ones, and made some adaptations.

  • 3/4 c. raw cashews
  • 1/3 c. oats
  • 1/3 c. PB2
  • 2 T. agave nectar
  • 1 T. Maple syrup
  • 1 T. vanilla extract

Just put the first three ingredients in the food processor/blender and pulse a few seconds. Then add the rest of the ingredients, one at a time, and slowly add the vanilla extract while its processing. After a ball forms/consistency is thick and dough-like, make one big ball out of the dough, and then form little balls from the dough!

IMG_5884

Gah. I LOVED this dough!!! So glad it turned out excellently!

I munched on some blueberries while I was “unbaking” so I didn’t munch on dough 😉

IMG_5882

 

And was feeling very sleepy, so did something I never do, and put a kettle of coffee on at nearly 4:00!

IMG_5883

Gave me the pick-me-up I needed, plus got rid of the headache I’d had all day (ohhh, addiction.)

Well, I’ve gotta get going! Got some bunco to play, some wine to drink, and some birthdays to celebrate!! :D           

12 Responses

  1. Your balls look delicious!! (haha that sounds kind of dirty)

    I need to try Averie’s recipe sometime : )

    xo

    jocelyn

  2. oh my gahh that coconut frosting! YUM!

  3. Dessert balls, yummy looking, and they remind me of a double entendre, AC/DC song. Good luck at bunco:-)

  4. Hey Paige, wow you really did a a great job on the balls! You made such pretty shiny happy balls (twss…Ill stop now :)) Anyway girl, they look awesome and thanks for linking me back! Glad your tweaks worked out perfectly and I have to laugh that you made dessert balls full of nuts, maple/agave, and PB, but not chocolate, so that they were “safe” for the lent crowd. Hey, you’re a great friend and i woulda broke my lent mojo for choc chip cookie dough but I am such a rebel 🙂

  5. I keep wanting to make some of those too. But then I always forget to get everything I don’t have already when I’m at the store. Just like I did this morning. LOL

    Have a great rest of the weekend!

  6. I’m trying to figure out something to say about your balls that doesn’t sound obscene! Yum balls, doesn’t work, huh? They do look great though.

  7. mmmm balls!!! 🙂 I’m in a bunco group too….but we stopped playing a long time ago….now we just call it “drunco” instead. 🙂

  8. hahahhaha – hilarious Niko 😉 Averie’s dessert balls look so good! I have had them on my to try list for ages. Hope you have a fabulous weekend

  9. wow your balls look great! just like averie;s! funny about the name thing. i NEVER give my name when i have to give a name. it is too hard!

  10. […] and bunco, and this Friday was one of those nights! It was such a blast. Like I said in my previous post, it was one of the girl’s birthdays, so it gotta little more crazy than […]

  11. Not too sure how I found this blog but glad I did find it. Think I was looking for something else on google. Not sure I agree 100% with what you say, but have bookmaked and will pop back to read to see if you add any more posts. Keep up the good work.

  12. Not too sure how I found this blog but glad I did find it. Think I was looking for something else on google. Dont think I agree 100% with what you say, but have bookmaked and will pop back to read to see if you add any more posts. Great website

Leave a Reply

