Time’s a Changin’ and a PDR!

Morning all! Happy Daylight Savings Time! Remember to set your clocks ahead?

So how was everyones’ weekends? Mine’s been filled with good fun and good company!

One Friday a month I get together with a group of girlfriends for wine, shenanigans, and bunco, and this Friday was one of those nights! It was such a blast. Like I said in my previous post, it was one of the girl’s birthdays, so it gotta little more crazy than usual 😉

IMG_1748

IMG_1746
Oh, and everyone loved the balls I brought 😀

IMG_1745

Birthday cake…that I never got a chance to try! Oh but don’t worry, there were other goodies sampled 😉
I didn’t end up winning anything, but it was a great time, nonetheless!

After a night of indulgence (i.e. glasses of wine and an abundance of sugar) I had a nice, stabilizing breakfast:

IMG_5889IMG_5887
Oat (bran) in a jar!


In the jar of goodness was:

-1/2 c. oat bran
-1/2 c. water
-1/2 c. almond milk
-1 packet of Purevia
-1 T. hemp powder
-1 banana
-About a T. of almond butter

Then it was time to get ready for a long run. The weather was rainy and about 45 degrees, so it was a bit of an internal debate on whether it was happening inside on the dreadmill or outside on the road. During the couple hours it took to digest breakfast, while I was majorly indecisive as to whether I’d run in or outdoors, I received THREE packages!

Here’s a couple of em:

IMG_5891

Birthday Lulu’s!

My mom got me some of the new Wunder Groove crops, and I am in LURVE with them. Two best styles combined into one, if ya ask me!

Another package was from Ryan at POM Wonderful, who sent me a case of their 100% pure pomegranate juice to sample:

IMG_5899

IMG_5900

Review and experimentations coming soon 😉

After tearing into my packages, I finally decided on manning up and hitting the open road.

I used map my run to determine my route, but ended up getting a little more than I bargained for…

At what should have been the half way mark, I was already at 5 miles, and around mile 6, I ate to Clif Shot Bloks I packed in the bottom of my water bottle:

 

IMG_5908

And got back to my house after 8.5 miles total, 1:22:46 later I got back to my house not feeling too shabby aside from my right hip being a little tight.
Stats n Splits:

Mile 1: 9:39
Mile 2: 9:46
Mile 3: 9:57
Mile 4: 10:06
Mile 5: 9:43
Mile 6: 9:48
Mile 7: 9:38
Mile 8: 9:29
Mile 8.5: 9:02

Woot! Average pace was 9:44. Not too shabby!

And that, my friends, is a personal distance record for this girl!  Yep, the farthest I’ve run is 8 miles. This…is was 8.5 miles felt like:

           IMG_5894

IMG_5895                
It also finally feels like running season has officially started for me. I came back with blisters and a wound (warning)

 

IMG_5896Ouuchie!
Let the race season begin! 😉

After a quick shower, I made a delicious refueling Green Monster:

IMG_5897

IMG_5898
This GM contained a little more ingredients than the ushe:
-1 frozen banana
-1/2 c. frozen cherries (which are natural anti-inflammatories)
-1 T. maca
-1 T. chia seeds (great for joint lubrication)
-1/2 scoop of choc. protein powder
-1 T. almond butter
-Almond milk
-2 handfuls of spinach

So good, and kept me full for a good few hours, even after a long run!

After a little laziness, the hubski and I headed out and braved the rain to do some runnin’ around town. We were on the hunt for a nice centerpiece for our kitchen table! We seriously went to about six stores looking for the right centerpiece, and finally settled on this beaute from Pier One:

IMG_5902

IMG_5905

 

Whatdya think? Doesn’t it go perfectly with the painting behind it?! I love, love, love it:D She’s a keeper.

While we were out, I polished off this lovely bar:

IMG_5890

Quite the fantastic bar, if I do say so myself!

Also sipped on this as we were bumming around:

 

IMG_5901

 

Around 5, we picked up a couple Papa Murphy’s pizzas and headed home!

 

IMG_5910 IMG_5911
 
These pizzas were for the company we had over last night! My brother and sister-in-law came down for some pizza, movie, and family time and it was a blast! While the pizzas were cooking, we just hung out in the kitchen for a while talkin’ up a storm, munching on some snacks, and sippin’ on some drinks:
IMG_5909

IMG_5907

 

My SIL loooves Kahlua, so I knew she’d join me in an after dinner drink of decaf and Kahula + cream:

 

IMG_5906

 

We sipped on this while watching Couples Retreat. It was a pretty good movie! Kinda hokey at times, but overall, a good flick, in my opinion! It was so nice to see them – seems like it’s far and few between that we get together like this. Wish I woulda gotten a picture!

Well it’s already almost noon! The time’s a changin’ and it’s catching up with me! On the agenda for today:

  • gym with Heidi for a run and legs
  • grocery shopping
  • going through LLC and other self-employed business
  • laundry
  • floors

Yikes! It’s a busy one!! Better get crackin’ 😀

Have a beautiful Sunday, everyone!!

Which daylight savings do you prefer more? Springing ahead or falling back? I’m a HUGE fan of springing ahead. I hate when it gets dark so early! When it stays lighter later, it reminds me of barbeques, long evening walks, and SUMMER!

22 Responses

  1. Awesome on the ‘PDR’ that is so great!! And your splits were nice!! Enjoy your Sunday!!

  2. Springing ahead is the best! Wait till tonight, and it is still LIGHT at 7 (I’d say sunny, but Illinois isn’t exactly the sunshine state).
    Over eight miles wow! When it gets warmer, I’d love to see a pic of you in the new running clothes;glad you like them.
    BTW, Dad says, “Definitely do the LLC thing.”

  3. Congrats lady (again) 😉 Amazing feeling! I love springing forward because it makes the day last longer! When I was up early to run in the mornings, I hated springing forward because my morning runs all of a sudden got pitch black! haha. And it’s a pain falling asleep for a while at first, but it’s all so worth it for the daylight 🙂

  4. I love the Groove crops – def the best style yet 🙂

    The thing I don’t understand about DST is how my 8 month old knew to sleep in an extra hour??

  5. I like falling back more because I can’t get past losing sleep in the springing forward one. But I do LOVE longer daytime hours 😀

  6. great job girl!!! thats awesoem! LOVE your post smooothie!

  7. I LOVE the days staying light longer. I don’t like losing an hour, but I really don’t notice much since weekend sleep patterns are so random anyways 🙂

  8. Wunder Groove crops? I can’t wait to check that out…I have a $95 credit at Lululemon. Ah, can’t wait.

    Yummy looking eats and great centerpiece!

  9. congrats on the PDR!!! how awesome!
    I want the wunder groove crops so badly, I’m tryin to save up 🙂

  10. Oh my goodness, how could you miss the cake… it looks like a Janet’s Cake!! Have you ever had a cake from Janet’s?? They have an almondy flavor in the icing!! yummy!!

  11. congrats on the PR girl! thats so awesome, you totally rocked it!

    how was that kombucha flav? i havent tied it yet!

  12. Spring ahead is the best….ready for summer and warmer weather!! Although I don’t like that it’s darker when I get up. 😦

  13. I’m so jealous of everyone getting some extra daylight! We don’t do Daylight Savings here in Arizona!

  14. Congrats on the new PDR! I like springing ahead for what it brings, brighter evenings, but I hate losing an hour of sleep. I’m torn 🙂

  15. paige sorry bout the gash on your leg! I am the only person to not yet try a rawvolution i think 🙂 have a stellar week hon!

  16. […] it with seltzer water not only jazzes it up, but it makes the oh-so-precious POM bottles last […]

  17. Congrats on the PDR!!! Also, way to go do it after what looks like a mega fun Friday night 😉

    I like the daylight, but I also like extra sleep. So fall back is the winner on this one!

  18. nice job on the PDR! your ankle looks paaainful. i LOVE springing ahead because it stays light later! glad people loved your balls. who wouldnt?!

  19. Woohoo! Congrats on the PDR!! I am voting for springing ahead. Even though that first day is rough, more sunlight is so great!

  20. […] is seriously the best combination ever. I’m so glad Ryan from POM Wonderful sent my some juice to sample, because I now see many of these in my future. And it really does make the juice last so much […]

Leave a Reply

