What the Heck!

Gooood evening!

How we doin’ today? Gotta say, my day was draining in all aspects of the word. Just so much going on right now, and I’m trying to keep it together. Just rolllll with it, right? 😀

Glad ya’ll are digging the Celestial Seasonings giveaway 🙂 You have until Friday to get a chance to win it!

I was up and at em bright and early this morning to get my work out on. My training plan called for a 4 mile tempo run today! It was SO hard to get out of bed this morning. I didn’t sleep so well last night. Actually, I was sleeping well, and then I my cat “woke me up” with her meow, except I didn’t fully wake up. I could hear her meow, but my body felt super heavy, and I felt like I couldn’t even move. It was really weird, and kind of scary. After a few moments I eventually woke my body up too, but was so weirded out that I couldn’t get back to sleep. Has this happened to anyone else?!? Or am I just a weirdo? I digress..

Got to the gym to meet Heidi around 5:15, and hopped on the treadmill for a tempo run. First I jogged a 10 minute warm up, and then ran 4 miles..like thiiis:

Mile 1: 6.1-6.2

Mile 2: 6.3-6.4

Mile 3: 6.5-6.6

Mile 4: 6.7-6.2

Was a fantabulous tempo run!

Had to jet on out of there to get ready for work and have one of my current favorite breakfasts:

IMG_5949

1 egg + 1 egg white, rice flour toast w/ organic jam and coconut butter on one piece, and Barney Butter and coconut butter on the other piece.

IMG_5950

Almond and Coconut butter tie dye…trriiippy :-p

Gah…I drool. This breakfast kept me full for four-five hours. Stellar.

Work was the norm, and lunch was a wrap + peanut butter pretzels:

IMG_5951

A Flat Out wrap, containing hummus, spinach, cauliflower, yellow bell pepper, baby bellas.

IMG_5952

My wrap overfloweth.

After work, I went straight to the gym to meet a new client for a consultation and evaluation (and signed her up for sessions!!) before heading home. I had a blast, and am really looking forward to working with her 😀 Before I headed home, I did about 20 minutes of ab work. I tend to neglect ab work so I just get it in whenever I can. Gotta have a strong core!  😉

When I got home, I wanted to take advantage of the warm (50º) weather and light skies! It was already after 6, but I took Niko on a beautiful walk around the neighborhood.

Dinner was simple and simply delicious:

 

IMG_5954

I massaged some kale with olive oil, sea salt, and pepper.

And then sprinkled it with nutritional yeast before popping it in the hot box for 15 minutes at 400º

 

IMG_5958

 

Alongside was the last of my leftover Mexican lasagna:

IMG_5957

And to wash it all down, I had my new favorite drink:

 

IMG_5955

1 part POM Wonderful juice and 1 part seltzer water. This is seriously the best combination ever. I’m so glad Ryan from POM Wonderful sent my some juice to sample, because I now see many of these in my future. And it really does make the juice last so much longer. Don’t get me wrong, the juice is amazing on its own, but fabulous with a little bub. Before I drink it all up, I plan on experimenting with it in meals, too 😀

Dinner was scrumptious as ever, but after working a little with the hubski on overwhelming self-employed tax and business schtuff, I was left feeling a little snacky.

I had picked up a bottle of organic yogurt the other day from Naturally Yours. I’ve seen it a few times, but there was a coupon available, so I thought what the heck:

        IMG_5959 

Poured over some Kashi Heart 2 Heart and Ezekiel Golden Flax granola:

IMG_5961

IMG_5962 

 

And after I took a bite, I also thought, “what the heck?!?” This stuff pours out like milk. It mimics milk so much, that after I brought it upstairs with me to write, I thought I poured coconut milk in instead of yogurt. Then I took a bite, and tanginess flooded my taste buds. I’m not sure if it’s because I wasn’t expecting it or because this stuff just doesn’t taste good, but I wasn’t to keen on the flavor. It was a little too tangy, and I wasn’t a big fan of the vanilla flavor. Meh..at least it satisfied my sweet tooth and I got in some probiotics while I was at it. I’ll give it another try, but remind myself it’s yogurt before taking my first bite 😉

 

Well folks, I think it’s time to call it a night. I have American Idol on DVR (I haven’t watched a single episode this season yet!) and I might watch tonight’s show and hit the hay.

Have a fabulous night and a wonderful Wednesday, all!!

 

How often do you do ab work? I know some people work on their core/abs almost daily! For me it’s usually once or twice a week. However, I find that many of the other strength exercises I do pull in the abs as stability muscles, so they end up getting a work out whether they like it or not!

Do you have plans for St. Patrick’s Day? Partaking in the festivities? I’ll probably wear green and have a green beer, but I’m guessing that’s as far as my festivities will go. I’m training a client right after work, and then am learning all about Quick Books!

18 Responses

  1. I was just thinking today that while struggling with ab work in my boxing class, that I don’t do nearly enough ab work. I do lots of planks and stabilization moves, but not enough crunches. Two times a week sounds like just the right amount to build a strong core.

  2. I always have a hard time dedicating time to Abs too! I think it’s because I do it after cardio and weights and all I’m thinking about is my post-workout snack/lunch/or dinner (depending on the time). My goal is to do it 3 times a week but that rarely happens.

    Your doing your own taxes? Wow! 🙂 That must be so frustrating.

  3. I do abs about 4 times per week. I used to do 6, but I think my lower back was getting unbalanced. For some reason, I just love doing abs. (weird I know)

  4. I think that little episode you had was sleep paralysis. It’s happened to me too from time to time and it freaks me out! You can read about it here…

    http://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/guide/sleep-paralysis

    It’s apparently nothing to be concerned about but i know how much it can SUCK!

  5. ab work? what’s that?!

  6. I might have had sleep paralysis a few times in my life, but it was in connection with a nightmare. I couldn’t speak for a second or two, but I could move. Guess I’ll have to read that link too.
    Ab work…I do it about 3 times a week, mostly at home with my Christmas present stability ball. My favorite crunch machine at the gym is in the weight room where all the guys hang out and grunt. They also leave a huge weight, 50+ on the end of it that I have to wrestle off before I can add a little 5 pounder. Then I really clean it down thinking of the doofus who was on it. Ya think if they can crunch all that weight they could put the thing away. Ha, it’s a good thing it’s not February, the do-not- complain month:-)

  7. It is completely normal! Everyone’s bodies shut down in that way while in deep sleep and especially when dreaming. Sometimes you just wake up mentally before your body adjusts. Nothing to be worried about, but freaky nonetheless. 😉

    And I wouldn’t be a fan of that yogurt either. I am a HUGE texture person and if its yogurt, it should be thick and creamy. NOT milk!

  8. Oooops, Happy St. Paddy’s Day. No plans for green beer, but Dad said that he’d go to Wed. nite Lenten service with me:-) Our pastor does a soliloquy as one of the characters in the Easter story. Last week he was P. Pilot, this week Herod, and next week Barabus. It is also a short service which I like:-)

  9. I try to do ab work every other day, but I forget quite often so it probably equals out to once or twice a week. I agree that most workouts tend to help with core strengthening though.

    No plans for St. Paddy’s really. Going on a date, but not in honor of the holiday.

  10. woah. that tye dyed toast is epic. i love the swirls! abs 3x a week and i might go out tonight, i am on the fence. love ya!

  11. I don’t do ab work nearly as often as I should, but I try to get it in at least two days a week. Four would be ideal though! I am boring and will be doing laundry tonight 🙂 I just got back from vaca and am headed our of town again so i have good excue though!

  12. Wow do you ever inspire me to run! I just started yesterday.. and one mile completely KILLED me. I’m hoping it’ll get easier though 😛

    xoxox!

    Vera

  13. wow! that wrap looks amazing!

  14. ahh yeah i do planks for ab works! side planks and front ones
    LOVE your veggie filled wrappage!

  15. Nice job on the run! Your lunch wrap sounds like a fantastic combo. Bummer about the liquidy yogurt! We had an “Irish-ish” dinner and are relaxing now. All of my classes include Ab work, so I do it almost daily. When I do workouts on my own, I leave them out! Enjoy your night

  16. While it is true, that an abs machine will help you strengthen and tone your abdominal muscles, that doesn’t yet give you that “washboard” look. In order to show your abs you need to lose that excess belly fat that is hiding them. You cannot lose fat in just one isolated area by training, fat loss always involves your entire body. So, in addition to building your abdominals you need to burn off excess fat through proper nutrition and cardio exercise.

Leave a Reply

