Ate My Words, and Ate Savory Oats

Hey guys! Happy Friday in t-minus three hours (at least here in the central time zone.):D

Don’t know about you guys, but I am SO ready for the weekend. I had a full week at the office, and then had clients to train every night this week (including tomorrow night!!) Plus the usual morning gym routine. It will all be worth it. Just gotta keep reminding myself that. And that this crazy schedule is only temporary. Luckily I’m pretty good at adapting. I do pretty well with a clear schedule and with a hectic one!

Tonight when I got home, I was SUPER hungry, but wasn’t sure what to make. I just wanted some comfort food and I wanted it fast.

Then it came to me, the craving. The craving I never thought I would ever have…

Savory Oats!

Whenever I’ve seen this on blogs, my stomach would turn. I fancy my oats with a banana, flax, stevia…well, you know 😉 I was afraid if I ever tried savory oats that I would hate them and it would ruin my liking for oats all together, thus ruin my most favorite breakfast ever!

But, like I said, the craving came a knocking, so I answered.

I answered with my very own bowl of savory oats!

IMG_5988

I just made my usual stove top oats, but instead of sweetening them up, I used:

  • 1 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 t. sea salt
  • 1 t. garlic powder
  • 3 T. nutritional yeast
  • 1 T. flax
  • 1/3 c. frozen, shelled edamame

IMG_5986

 

I just cooked together the first seven ingredients until the oats were done cooking, then stirred in the edamame at the end. And at last minute, I decided to add a couple heated up some Quorn Chick’n nuggets and added them on top:

 

IMG_5993

Surprisingly…VERY surprisingly, it worked! It was so delicious and creamy and filling! I had a side of chopped veggies and hummus alongside, but I couldn’t even finish them!

IMG_5990

IMG_5991

 

I’ve always said I doubt I’d ever try savory oats for the reasons I mentioned above, alas I ate savory oats, and thus I ate my words 😉 I’m sure glad I did, too. I forsee experimenting with many different combinations of flavors for this dish!

 

Have you tried savory oats before? Or are you a sweet-oats-only type of oats eater? I never thought I would, but I did!

17 Responses

  1. Sweet oats only b/c I if want savory I would dump the nooch, etc stash all over popcorn, not oats 🙂

    French press does make awesome coffee, glad you agree 🙂

    Have a stellar night, Paige!!!!

  2. I am a sweet oats person. Can’t imagine oatmeal without my maple or brown sugar.

  3. I have yet to try savory oats – I’m definitely going to wait until I get my hands on some nooch! If I’m gonna do it, I gotta do it right!

  4. mmm. i love savory oats. your combo looks dynooomite. happy weekend! YAY!

  5. Ugh I have to say, savory oats still turn my stomach. I think my brain associates oatmeal with dessert and I don’t want to mess up that connection. hahah

  6. I also equate oats with dessert, even to the point of cooking some up in the evening for my sweet tooth. At least I use the regular oats, not the quick or instant kind.
    What a hectic schedule! I hope you get some rest this week end. Can you believe the forecast? Possibly one to three inches of snow here and up to 6 in Chicago! Hope they’re wrong.

  7. that’s a really interesting bowl of oats! i’m impressed — it looks quite tasty. i prefer sweet oats. one time i put a fried egg on top of mine and a bunch of ketchup and cheese. it was…interesting!

  8. I love savory oats! They aren’t very pretty, but so delish 🙂

  9. LOVE that!! i havent tried savory oats and think I need too! the quorn chikn nuggets, i have heard such great things about them!

  10. I like both….but if I had to choose one over the other I would probably go the sweet route.

  11. Hmmmmm….I wonder if I can make oats and cheese like macaroni and cheese, which is my all time fav comfort food.

    Glad you found that it worked for you!

  12. The only savory oats I’ve tried is oat bran with a sunny side up egg, cheese, and hot sauce. I like it, but I have to REALLY be in the mood for it. I usually don’t have a taste for them in the morning 😉

  13. Hey Paige!!

    Even though I LOVE adding egg whites to my oats (and even egg beaters which is a bit savory), I haven’t taken the plunge and eaten a real savory bowl of oats yet. I should try it one of these days, huh? I’ve got a raging sweet tooth though so I think I would be thinking about bananas the whole time.

  14. i love savory oats! with beans and cheese – mexican style – or spaghetti sauce and parm for an italian twist…

  15. That does sound like a super hectic schedule!!! I don’t know how you do it, an 8-5 job already tires me out sooo much.

    And YES to the savoury oats! My fave way is with a soft-fried egg on top. The runny yolk mixed in with the creamy oats is the stuff dreams are made of 😉

Leave a Reply

