Amping Up the Veggie Power

Evening:)

How’s everyone’s weekend rounding out? Nothing to complain about over here! I was actually surprised at how fine I felt yesterday after the half marathon. I tried to nap…but was a little antsy. So I did some laundry, walked Niko, hit up some grocery stores, and then we had some friends over to play bags and drink some beer. Probably not the best way to recover, but luckily I still feel fine today ๐Ÿ™‚ Plus. it was a lot of fun ๐Ÿ™‚ And it sounds cheesy, but I’m still basking in that half marathon glooowww ๐Ÿ™‚ Today I have some soreness in my calves and quads, but thatโ€™s it.

Today started out with a deeelicious breakfast:

IMG_6610ย 

IMG_6609
It was a banana, cream cheese tofutti, and maple syrup wrap in an Ezekiel tortilla and grilled in a pan on the stove. OMG. So good. I’m definitely going to make this again with some Paige-ified tweaks.
I had a client to train afterwards, and then headed out to run some errands – Pet Co, Dick’s, and Target. Nice lil’ Sunday morning ๐Ÿ™‚

When I came back, I cleaned my little heart out! Got a lot done…finally.

Lunch!

IMG_6613

I’m trying to make up for my lack of veggies yesterday. This smoothie contained frozen banana, kale, spinach, protein powder, and almond milk. Plus an Ezekiel muffin with some spectacular almond butter:

IMG_6611
picked this gem up at the expo on Friday night. It about knocked my head off…not gonna lie!

Snackie:

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  IMG_6624ย ย ย ย ย ย ย 
I spent a couple hours looking at fitness videos and demos on Youtube, cleaned a bit, rolled on some foam, and then it was dinna time!
Amping up the veggie power yet again!

IMG_6634
Sprouts n’ Sparagus

IMG_6635
Sweet tater fries

IMG_6637
Homemade vegetarian baked beans.

IMG_6631I saw that the canned version I had in the pantry contained HFCS, so I opened a can a beans and went to town on making my own sauce:

IMG_6627
IMG_6628

‘Twas a bit thick though, so I’m going to give it another go before I post the recipe. That reminds me…I really need to get working on that recipe tab. I promise it will get done soon.
After dinner the hubski and I watched a couple 24 episodes while he worked and I folded laundry… oh, and then I made us some puppy chow popcorn!

IMG_6638
drizzle

IMG_6639
and stir and add nooch. Recipe to come soooon on not-there-yet- recipe tab ๐Ÿ˜‰

Well itโ€™s getting pretty late now, and Iโ€™m pretty sure my bod needs a wee bit more rest to aid in its recovery. Iโ€™m going to go make like Niko and chillax:

IMG_6622

What a great weekend all in all ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m also pretty excited for tomorrow morning (what?! excited for a Monday?!) because Shane is going to give working out before work with me a try. We have a kick-booty work out planned, and I’m pretty pumped to have another workout partner. He usually works out after work, so hopefully he doesn’t mind the a.m. sweat session!

—————-

So tomorrow night I will be posting a few life changes, one of them being pretty major. Exciting and crazy things going on in life right now. I know I’ve been alluding to them for quite a while, but I finally get to share them I can’t wait to share with you all!
Have a maahh-velous Monday, all!

Do you try to compensate your fruits and veggies the day after not having many at all? Iโ€™m pretty sure my body craved them today, but I was also very conscious of my lack of vegetables, so Iโ€™m sure it was a mental thing too. But I think I got em all in today ๐Ÿ˜‰

17 Responses

  1. the popcorn looks great! you know i am a huge fan of it! I have been adding PB to mine with nooch. And choco chips or cocoa powder. Choc sauce, great touch!

    The baked beans…I would LOVE a good recipe for baked beans that doesnt choke me with sodium b/c honstly most all beans are so sodium-laden i can’t hang.

    Cant wait for your news!

  2. That breakfast wrap looks amazing!! I must try. The popcorn looks yummy, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I always crave more fruits and veggies after they were more sparingly eaten. Although I do agree that it could partly be mental too. Lucky for us we love our fruits & vegs!

    Glad you are still feeling great post-half. I can’t wait to hear the exciting news.

  4. That breakfast wrap looks delish! I’m glad you are still basking in the post half glow and not feeling too sore ๐Ÿ˜€ Super excited for your news!

  5. Can’t wait to hear the news, you’ve been teasing us haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. I need to get more veggies today, after only one serving yesterday. Also, coincidence today, I’m gonna cook up a big batch of asparagus I got from Kroger’s sale. Soooo glad I do not have that asparagus after smell some peopIe get.

    Shane’s exercising in the a.m., best time of the day, I think! Have a great Monday.

  7. Oh my, that wrap looks SO good!

  8. Wow! That’s so great that you felt so good afterwards. My body pretty much hated me for two days, haha.

    That puppy chow popcorn looks insane!

  9. owwwwwwww can’t wait to hear whats going on with you! CONGRATS on the half- you rock…so awesome! Glad you had a nice weekend otherwise too. I make “baked” beans all the time too- I call them sloppy janes. Totally delicious. Love the pic of Niko chilaxing. Love how dogs have no shame. Enjoy your Monday (hope the AM workout went well!!)

  10. Congrats on your half marathon!!! Doesn’t it make you feel so great? After my races I’m on such a high for days until I start training for the next one! ๐Ÿ™‚ That wrap sounds amazing. I just starting using Ezekial tortillas, and I love how filling they are! Sounds like a fun weekend! Congrats again!

  11. White Chocolate Cherry Almond Butter! WHAT? That sounds amazing!!!!

  12. cant wait to hear your big change! ahh

    baked beans look SO good!! my BF loooves them old school out of the can haha I cant have that they taste like SALT but homemade baked beans would be awesome!

    that breakfast wrap looks SO amazing!

  13. genius breakfast wrap! i am going to try that ASAP! JUST HAVE TO GET SOME CREAM CHEESE ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. i take 2 trader joe green pills at any meal i can’t get a green veggie in. does it “work?” i dunno. psychologically it does, i guess! i do find my cravings aren’t as crazy!

  15. […] Shane handled the grill. Well, for his burger. I had leftover veggie baked beans and […]

  16. […] home, I needed some post-run fuelage. Remember my Sweet Tortilla Breakfast wrap? Well, I took it to the next level for and made this […]

Leave a Reply

