On to Greener Pastures

First off, thank you SO SO SO much for your support in my decision to leave my full time job to pursue my dreams in the fitness field. It means the world… 🙂

I overslept yesterday. AGAIN. I never oversleep. Except that one time… Luckily, I also always prepare my morning necessities the night before. So I changed into the clothes I had laid out, grabbed my training bag by the door, opened the fridge to grab my already-prepared breakfast and I was out the door to train a client. All in 10 minutes. On time. I also brushed my teeth, no worries 😉

My already-prepared-breakfast?IMG_6645     

Overnight Oats in a Jar! OOIAJ! – does anyone else sound that out in their heads? ! ew-ee-ahj! No? Just me? I digress…

I was almost out of this lovely little jar of Peanut butter and Co. Cinnamon Raisin PB and knew just how to make it work in my shorter than short morning.

IMG_6648

Add ½ c. oats, 1.5 T. chia seeds, ½ c. Jay Robb, pinch of NuNaturals stevia, maca, 1 ripe banana, and almond milk.

Deliciousness ensued while eating this at the office job desk this morning.

The day was pretty mundane for a Tuesday, worked at the office, then trained at the gym. Good times:)

After training, I came home and just hung out with the hubski for a few hours. Since I’ve been training, we don’t see each other as much, but it seems the time we do spend together has had more quality to it! You know – instead of sitting side by side and watching shows, we’re actually hanging out, conversing, joking, etc 🙂

Last night we grilled out and had a beer together. I handled the veggies:

IMG_6651

And Shane handled the grill. Well, for his burger. I had leftover veggie baked beans and balls!

IMG_6654

The beans were much better second day, surprisingly!

IMG_6655

The Grass is Always Greener

Now I’m 100% happy with the decisions I posted on yesterdays post. That said, now that I’ve put it out there, and it’s a done deal, I’m being my typical self and can’t help but think “ohmigod…I really hope this is the right thing. What if this, what if that? I wish I could so and so.”
I really need to change this attitude. I can be VERY wishy washy or back and forth at times, from activities as minute as deciding which movie we should watch to as monumental as which job I should pick over the other. Instead of going back and hem hawing the situation, I need to be more decisive in my choices. Being supportive of oneself is so important. I have the support of my friends, my family, and all of you, so it only makes sense that I should have my own back as well 😉


Well the husband and I just finished up an Insanity workout. We’re debating whether or not to switch to P90X or not. I know I’ve said I’ll never do P90X (Tony Horton kinda makes me cringe) but we need more strength training in the workouts. And if I’m going to be running on the days we’re not doing the workouts, then I don’t want to take on TOO much by adding yet another component of strength training. Taking on too many exercise programs at once is a sure fire way to get an injury!

I’m super excited because tonight’s my first sand volleyball game! I’m a little nervous, too. I haven’t really played since my second year of college, and that was on a court, so I hope I’m agile and don’t make a fool of myself! Eep! Shane’s gonna try to get off work early and come watch, so there might be pictures 🙂

Question: Do you tend to be wishy washy in your decisions? Or are you the type that makes concrete decisions and never looks back? I’m working to be more of the latter.

Have a happy Hump day!

17 Responses

  1. Yes, I tend to be wishy washy in my decisions. I love that you said we need to support ourselves… great statement~

  2. I have always been very, very wishy washy…but that’s better than avoiding change or never making changes in life. Being stuck in a rut would be worse.
    Good luck at the game. We always loved watching your games. I hope Shane gets to go:-)

  3. I am SO wishy washy. I feel like I have to poll everyone and then I go over it again and again! It is so annoying…I am working on being better about making a decision and then following through without second guessing!

  4. Love the overnight oat combo. Looks good.

    I’m pretty decisive but can’t help but feel a little nervous about major decisions whether it be work related or fitness related. But, I’m not a quiter so once I say “I WILL” I DO.

  5. lol @ your ooiaj pronunciation. Whenever I read about OIAJ I sing “oats in a jar” to the tune of “pants on the ground” in my head. I have issues!

    I’m actually very decisive, almost to my detriment at certain times. For instance, I needed to purchase a sectional couch a few years ago. I literally bought the first one I saw at the first store I went to that met the image I had in my mind. In hindsight, I should have shopped around more. I’m impatient though!

  6. I will do anything and everything to convince myself that I’ve made the right choice in a situation. In some ways it’s good, but in other ways it’s not. Like I’ll make an emotional decision and then rationalize that it was the right one until I’m blue in the face.

    I love overnight oats in a jar. So portable!

  7. I can’t stand Tony Horton either. He is actually the worst instructor I have ever encountered out of the many. I know I couldn’t handle P90X for that reason alone. You are brave if you decide to go for it. Not because it’s likely a tough workout, but to put up with him. LOL

  8. Do you like overnight oats in a jar better than hot oats in a jar? Curious to try it out!!

    And congrats on your amazing life changes. No matter what, things will work out for you 😀

  9. ahh your doing isanity too?? i am LoVING it!!! you arre right though, not a whole lot of strength training BUT more push ups than I would like to do hahaha

    congrats on your deciison!! very excited for you!!!
    your baked beans and balls look awesome!!

  10. you’re good to handle the veggie preparation!
    I am the WORST at making decisions… I ponder for hours

  11. I’m always up and down with decisions, I usually have someone ‘help’ me make them..not something i’m proud of 😦

  12. Your eeweeaj looks delicious!!

    Making decisions is the one thing I’m good at! Almost to a fault though. I’m incredibly stubborn, so once I make my mind up, it’s written in stone. I also blab to everyone I know, so that doesn’t help if I want to change it 😛 But I know my gut has never lead me astray 🙂

  13. haha i see it as “ooh-eye-ahj” – either way still yummy.

    omg i am SO wishy washy in my decisions and i am HORRIBLE at making final decisions…like i stew about something for as long as i can. it’s horrible. “be more decisive” was my new year’s resolution for 2010.

Leave a Reply

