Booty on a Platter

Ouch! Looks like my body’s calling for another sore front today.

Yesterday between breakfast and my mid-morning client, I headed back to the new-to-me gym to try out another class: Group Power. This is a strength endurance class that utilizes a barbell and plates, a step w/ risers, dumbbells, and your own body weight. It’s similar to Body Pump, which I’ve done many a time before. However, I hadn’t done it in a LONG time. Holy slow twitch muscle fibers, I am SORE. After focusing so much on heavier weights/less reps for so long, I’ve forgotten how much a class like that can hand one its booty on a platter. In other words, it was glorious. 🙂

In fact, my limbs were shaking so much, that when I made this Vega Shake and Go protein shake:

IMG_7452

IMG_7450

Is it cheating if I use my Amazing Grass shaker to drink a Vega product?

…that I shook it right out of my hands, and all over the garage floor. So instead of getting the serving size suggestion of 25 grams, I estimate that I only drank about 15 grams. I just looked at my bicep and said, really bicep?! Giving out on me that easy, eh?!

I attempted to train a client after that, but it ended up being a combination of whimpering and training (ok, ok, now I’m being dramatic 😉 )

Once home, it was time for some real food!

IMG_7456
I took the leftover baked falafel from the day before, and set it atop a salad of romaine, arugula, avocado, and a dressing of tahini + hummus + braggs amino acids seasoning sauce.

IMG_7459And a peacher!    

IMG_7453  

My next client wasn’t until prevening (too late to be afternoon and too early to be evening, for all  you non Big Bang Theory watchers) so I got a little desk work done, before having a quick snack prior to heading out again.

IMG_7489 My new fave…a TJ’s flattened banana with TJ’s raw almond butter, all wrapped up!

 

IMG_7490

Perfect snack-to-go.

When I got home from my two training sessions, it was dinna time. Spicy spaghetti was on the menu, but while the water was boiling, the hubski and I sipped.

IMG_7491

Pinot grigio has officially replaced chardonnay as my favorite summer time wine. And because I’m classy, I roll with an ice cube in my glass.

IMG_7493

Actually this has nothing to do with class at all. It was all about trying to find the quickest way to get the wine to my lips at the right temperature. Wine chilling made easy, m’friends.

Dinner is served!

 IMG_7496

Fettuccine noodles with cayenne, olive oil, sea salt, garlic and onion powders, oregano, and red sauce – with a simple side salad.

IMG_7499

In the sauce, I added some chopped artichokes. Delicious!

And for my Anti-Dessert, I have one single piece of 85% dark chocolate, courtesy of my bestie, Destiny.

IMG_7500 

 

Twork it out: Update

I still haven’t signed up for the Steamboat Classic race. I have a feeling when I do, it will only be for the 4 miler and not the 15K. For some reason, my heart just hasn’t been into training hardcore for races lately. I think I was so focused and hardcore about my half marathon, that my bod needs a change up. As I’ve mentioned in past posts, and as you’ve probably noticed, I’ve been partaking in all kinds of fitness activities lately (classes, biking, running, lifting, Insanity, etc.) I’m still running, but I’m taking a break from training plans. You might have also noticed I haven’t been mentioning Insanity much, either. Well, the husband really doesn’t have enough time for it, so we haven’t really been doing much of it. However, I’m hoping to change that up and actually follow the schedule this time around. He can join in when he can, but I’m hoping to stay on top of it:)

—-

For those who strength train: do you typically work on endurance (more reps, less weight) or strength (more weight, less reps?) I like to switch it up, but sometimes I get in a rut and forget, case in point in this post! 😉

What’s your all time favorite pre-workout snack for a quick burst of energy?

I hope everyone has a happy humpday!

Be sure to check out Michelle’s awesome HAPPY giveaway and check out her Happy Week, too 🙂

9 Responses

  1. LMAO @ the amazing grass/vega conundrum. When I was like…five years old (the cheekiness started early I see!) I started asking everyone if a baseball cap had a football team’s logo on it, if it could still be a baseball cap. Oh Lawdy. (I’m totally guilty of icing wine too btw! No shame at all!)

  2. Cool flattened bananas! I need to get to Trader Joe’s asap.

    I try to change up my strength training too!

  3. I tend to focus on heavier weight, lower reps, because I’m looking to build some muscle. This is a good reminder, that I should mix it up occasionally.

    Favorite pre-workout snack = chocolate Amazing Grass, made with milk, coffee, and maca with a date on the side.

  4. I am all about heavy weight, low reps. Anything over 10 reps and I want to take a nap. Just kidding. (sort of)

    Usually I do 4×6 or 5×5 stuff. Trying to keep up strength that I built over the winter while increasing running mileage, so my lower body work especially hasn’t seen any PR’s for a while.

    Seeing your food scale reminded me I really have to find a battery for mine! I have been lazily searching for a month now. Yikes!

  5. I usually lift heavier weights. I like that I can really push myself. I have also seen some awesome results from other bloggers that lift heavy. I believed, until about a year ago, that lifting heavy would make me HUGE. So untrue!

  6. ha – i totally use my amazing grass shaker for everything BUT amazing grass!

  7. The banana and AB combo looks amazing!! The group power class sounds awesome – I would love to find a similar workout class around here.

  8. […] before my prevening client, I was feeling wiped, but didn’t want coffee so late in the afternoon, so I […]

Leave a Reply

