Desk Job to Dream Job: Part 2

Morning morning!

Sorry I missed ya yesterday. I need to work on those time management skills 🙂

A week ago, I answered some questions on how I transitioned from working a desk job to working in the fitness field. It got pretttty lengthy, so I dissected it into two parts. You can read the first part of my story here.

—–
So I left off at the point where I’d submitted my resignation. I had gotten to the point of wanting to quit for some time now, but the time was finally right. Shane was onboard and supportive and I literally couldn’t take much more. The combined stress of my desk job + having so little time actually made my chest hurt.

So I quit. And I was petrified. What had I just done? I had a great paying job that plenty of people would love to have, and I just submitted a resignation. I really hoped I’d made the right decision. I kpet looking for signs that I was doing the right thing – a sign – ANY sign that said, “Paige, this means you did the right thing.”

Talk about being thrown out of your comfort zone. And it was funny to see different people’s reactions. When telling people what I had done, I received replies of all different spectrums. From congratulatory, to doubtful, to jealous, to shocked. I knew what was right for me, so I didn’t let people’s reactions affect me too much.

My company actually tried to get me on part time working in the same area, which would have been fine. I could handle 20 hours in addition to personal training and the other obligations I’d taken on, and the additional income would have been a nice transition. 40 +? Notsomuch.

Those last three weeks at the job were a blur. I just wanted to be done.

Then during the last week, I’d received a proposal from my company: to come back to work three weeks later for a few months for 20 hours a week. It would have been ignorant not to take it. The money was good, and it was only 20 hours. I accepted the proposal and secured that three weeks after my "last day" I’d be back at the BIC.

Those three weeks out were heaven. I signed a couple new clients, experimented with group fitness, focused on my own training, and knew I’d made the right decision. My house was sparkling, too, because of the extra time I had to clean 😉
The hubski and I have cut back financially, but not to the extreme.

At the end of the three weeks, I moped around and groaned that I didn’t want to go back to the BIC, but was happy to have the extra income. Besides, I went back in knowing it’s a a completely new area with new people and I’m actually having a good time! The only downside is the time away it takes away from honing and developing my business.

So that leaves me at where I am today. Clients are steady and the three days a week I work both jobs are extremely hectic, but I can’t complain! It’s a great balance.

I still have days that I call "weak days" – you know, some days you just have more self doubt than others – that I question what the heck I am doing. It’s scary and uncomfortable, but rewarding and exhilarating! And I couldn’t have done it without the support of the hubski…and of course you guys encouraging me every step of the way 😀

For the future, I have some projects that are underway, and of course grand plans that are still just dreams. But I can tell you I’ve taken the phrase “do one thing that scares you every day” to heart. 😉

What’s the last thing you’ve done that’s scared you? What are you going to do today that scares you? The last thing I did that scared me was play volleyball last night! We are in the semi finals, and the coach is pretty competitive, so it was a little nerve-wracking!

9 Responses

  1. This post is so inspirational! It’s so cool that you left a job you didn’t like to do something awesome for yourself! I feel like I would def. do this if I felt I had to!

  2. I don’t do much that scares me, although I’m working on getting the courage to step out of my box. I have a very supportive husband with similar dreams so somewhere in our future….

  3. I love reading your story 🙂 It gives me hope! Now if Nick can find a stable job, things might be able to change 🙂

  4. I am in a similar situation as you were – I’m not even close to doing a job that satisfies either of my two passions (animals & healthy/organic food) but it pays well so I am biding my time. I am working towards changing careers for sure! I did an accelerated post-bac pre medical sciences program, took masters classes at an ivy league, and worked my full-time job for a year straight and making the commitment for all that was extremely scary and stressful but looking back it was so worth it!! Now I can actually spend quality time working on my bloggin’. I wish you the BEST of luck with your changes, it sounds like you are doing a fantastic job of balancing!! 🙂

  5. Your story of accepting life’s challenges is inspiring. Accepting challenging situations can be very scary. But everyday we face all kinds of little scary situations. Last night I followed someone on a cell phone. His car kept meandering over the center line, and I did not want to drive past him.

  6. LOVED reading part two of your story. Incredible. I SO want to do this – the “doing one thing that scares you” mantra is excellent. Right now, I’m stuck in a gigantic rut and am downright miserable every single second I’m stuck behind a desk in a job that does NOT fulfull me in the least. I’m mulling over my “dare to be great” next moments…of which, finding a career I love and am passionate about is at the top of that list.

  7. I’m in a somewhat similar situation as yours except I left a full-time fitness job to venture out on my own (still fitness a fitness related work). It’s hard to stay positive every day in this situation, but I know it’s the only way to be in order to make my dreams come true!

  8. girl you’re a workaholic! In a good way, you are driven and that’s awesome!

    scared me today: i transferred my homemade kombucha into the 2nd fermentation step. Playing with bacteria can be fun, but scary!

Leave a Reply

