You Know You’re in the Midwest When…

Hello there!

Having a good weekend thus far? Whatcha been up to?

So yesterday as I was beginning to leave for my run (I had decided to run on the treadmill vs. going outside iPodless) I found my iPOD!!! It was in the depths of my purse. Yeah…the husband definitely gave me a hard time about that one after helping me search for a good hour. I told him I found it under the fridge 😉 He didn’t believe me. Haha

Anyway, after watching an hour and 15 minutes of flip this house, I decided to call the run quits at mile 8. I was just over it. Plain and simple. It was still a good run, and I was a complete and utter sweaty mess.

I came home with a voracious appetite for fresh veggies!

IMG_8104

Green (protein) monsters are pretty much the best post-workout fuelage ever. This one contained 1 frozen banana, water (out of almond milk,) ice, maca, Vega Vanilla Almondilla protein powder, and of course – spinach.

But I didn’t stop there. I had an entire container of brusells sprouts in the fridge, and I roasted them all.

IMG_8105

Just a little EVOO, sea salt and pepper, roasted at º425 for 12 minutes, flipping after 6…I only got about 3/4’s through, but it quenched my veggie craving thirst.

Eaten next to my fresh vase of sunflowers

IMG_8047

Artsy.

IMG_8055 IMG_8077

Yesterday was one of my client’s birthdays, so I grabbed Shane and we met up at the Sugar Creek Arts festival uptown. I’d never been, but it was huge!

IMG_0025

You know it’s the midwest when…

IMG_0027       

 

Shane partook in the festival food 😉

IMG_0028

and a lemon shakeup.

I partook in posing among super heros

IMG_0029

I tried to put my “don’t mess with this” face on. FAIL.

It was pretty sweltering, so after we bought a couple keepsakes and gifts, we said goodbye to my client friend and headed home.

Walking around looking at art works up an appetite! Back home, I fixed up a snack.

IMG_8106

The Greek yogurt + honey + berries combo is a no-fail snack in my book.

IMG_8108 

The hubski left me to go hang with the guys, so I took it as a sign to relax in bed with my book:

IMG_0032

The Hills, and a self-pedicure.

Later, my parents came over so we could go out for Indian food! My dad’s hooked on Chicken Tikka Masala (or as he says, ticka mersala with nana bread LOL) and I of course love the Yellow Dal and nan.

IMG_0031

I also got a really good Indian beer!

IMG_0030

We stopped by Friar Tuck after because what’s more fun than going to a store that has more brands of wine than Carrot Top has had plastic surgeries?

21_ Carrot Top

There’s a lot. of bottles. of wine.

We picked up some pinot noir to share a glass before they headed home.

IMG_8110

I’ve been drinking pinot grigio lately (it’s a summer fave,) but pinot noir has my heart.

IMG_8114               

IMG_8118

 

 IMG_8121

This bottle did not disappoint, either!

Well I’m off for a hilly four mile run before training a few clients. Hope you all have a lovely and relaxing Sunday! 😀

And that’s all she wrote.

IMG_8126

 

*** MAJOR Giveaway on the blog tomorrow morning!! 😀

13 Responses

  1. I ALWAYS make up where I found something when I end up finding it somewhere obvious- especially because I usually blame my husband for it’s loss in the first place haha. 😉

  2. Love the posing among super heroes pic! Your lost and found iPod sounds very similar to something I’ve done many times. Also love the artsy-fartsy sunflower pics! Have a great day! Can’t wait to hear about the awesome giveaway tomorrow!

  3. Your pictures are amazing, especially the sunflowers.

    Correction, if the art fair had funnel cakes, then you would definitely know it was the midwest:-)

  4. Hahaha, love the superhero picture! One of my students told me that I was a superwoman for playing football in heels, and somehow the name “Miss Superwoman” stuck. Hey, who am I to complain? 😉 Amazing looking Indian food, by the way!

  5. woooo cant wait for the giveaway!
    ahahah that pic of you is TOO CUTE!!! you look so hardcore!!!
    love that snack- greek yog+berries+honey=AWESOME

  6. I LOVE Clan of the Cave Bear. You should read the rest of the series too, I think there’s like 4 or 5 more books. They are so GOOD. I read them all in high school….I think I should re-read them again soon.

  7. I’m so glad you found your iPod! Hooray!

  8. Sounds like a lovely weekend. The greek yogurt, honey, and berries snack looks divine!

  9. What a fabulous job. Um I totally misplace stuff on the regular…and it always ends up being in the most obvious spot that I already checked twice haha. Great job on the run. And the festival looks awesome- outdoor summer festivals are incredible always! Great dinner/wine with the rents. This weekend has been so nice…I don’t want it to end! Can’t wait for the giveaway- hooray

  10. Yea for finding your iPod!

    I *heart* the Clan of the Cave Bear series. Enjoy 🙂

  11. […] was my book, the patio, and my dog. The ultimate summer evening can be considered a dessert, […]

Leave a Reply

