Vegetable Surrender

Morning! Sorry about the lack of postage (heh) yesterday. Things get a little hectic between Tuesday and Thursday around here and usually one of the days gets left out. What can ya do!

This morning I woke up and immediately laced up my running shoes and bolted out the door for a 5 mile run. Well, part of that’s true. I stumbled out of bed, drank coffee, and then bolted out the door ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_8300

Coffee in system, and Camelbak in tote, I headed out. The first mile was a breeze, but the rest were painful! Between the thick humidity and my breathing techniques, the run was a lot harder than it should have been. I love the Camelbak, donโ€™t get me wrong, but I tend not to breathe when I take sips (Iโ€™m still running while I take sips) and obviously thatโ€™s a recipe for cramps.

Anyway, I cranked out 4.5 miles with an average pace of 9:18. The splits were pretty horrendous. Besides that last half mile where I gave it all I got, Iโ€™m pretty sure my time increased with each mile. Itโ€™s important to remember to treat mile 1 as a warm up mile if you donโ€™t jog for a warm up before hand, and that little tidbit tends to fly out the window when I start running.

I got back in time to do some planks and shoulder exercises, showered, and then devoured (rhyme alert!) the breakfast of the summmaaa:

IMG_8302

Whole Wheat Protein Waffles w/ Maple Greek Butter (just made that name up right now!) on top.

IMG_8303And a banana to switch things up a lilโ€™ bit. Gotta keep it fresh ๐Ÿ˜‰

——

For some reason, my hunger levels have absolutely been insatiable this week. You all know I love food, but it’s gotten rather annoying! My activity levels, water intake, and meal size/substance hasn’t varied much, so I’m guessing it has to do with sleep. I slept SO well this past weekend, but this week? notsomuch.

Yesterday was one of those days when a vegetable did not pass my lips until 4:30.

Around 4:30, I went a little veggie crazy.

First was mindless eating of fresh and local sugar snap peas and baby bella mushrooms.

IMG_8279 I ate these until I decided what I wanted:

IMG_8280

Leftover eggplant and onion. This was a little dry, so I added a tbsp of tomato paste, a little EVOO and some S&P and it was MUCH better. Very tasty indeed. I ate this when I decided what I really wanted:

IMG_8135

A green monster. Ok, veggies – I surrender ๐Ÿ™‚

I drank this on the way to a client/business partners house where we proceeded to work and talk biz-nass for the next three hours. I may or may not have busted out my new Lange Body Fat Caliper:

IMG_8282And I may or may not have practiced on the hubski ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_8289Itโ€™s cominโ€™ right for ya!!!

Good times until I started feeling the length of the dayโ€ฆ

Low and behold, I came home hungry.

IMG_8294 

Finally, this bowl (and a half) staved off the hunger until I woke up this morning.
—–

Well I’m off to work at the BIC (Big Insurance Company for the noobie readers:) )for a while…but the good news I’m pretty sure I’m going out for Indian food over lunch! Hooray!   

Oh! and other good news – I’m going to the Healthy Living Summit!!! So excited ๐Ÿ™‚ Who else is going? Canโ€™t wait to meet other bloggers ๐Ÿ˜€

17 Responses

  1. Isn’t it funny how our bodies just get us all caught up if we actually listen to them? ๐Ÿ™‚

    No, I’m not going, and I’m so sad!!! The Summit is happening the weekend we’ll be in Honduras this summer, so i’ll miss out ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. what a GREAT run girl!!!
    blue looks awesome on you too!!

  3. I’m going too!! Yay!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I like food from all over the world, my site – http://www.ourplanet.it – is a site about the planet, but an important thing is the food wich is culture etc…tell us (on the blog ) about the weel cooking and the organic way of cooking, you know people doesn’t use to think about what they eat, let’s talk about it.

  5. Sorry your run didn’t go too well. That’s awesome that you were able to push through it!
    I want to go to HLS so bad!! Maybe next year!

  6. ahh that caliper reminds me of exercise physiology lab in college whenw e had to do that on eachother…we became very close classmates ๐Ÿ™‚ practice makes perfect with it though! that waffle looks so perfectly delicious!

  7. I have been a bottomless pit lately. It won’t stop!

    I was supposed to go out to Indian today, but I didn’t. Sad, sad. Hope you had a good lunch!

  8. Warming up for a mile makes total sense but I know I probably would be like you and just get going right off the bat. It’s so hard to take things slow.

  9. ooooh I might just do it. I do leave for CA the 15th, but the 14th I’d be able to go…It is right i my backyard after all!!!!

  10. My gym has only one trainer who has that caliper, and she is hardly ever there when I am:-(

  11. […] 9:40 as an average pace, however mile 1 was 9:23 and mile 5 was 9:59. What have I told you about using mile 1 as a warm up mile?! […]

  12. Hey there – I will be at HLS! Can’t wait to meet you ๐Ÿ™‚ Are you going to the Frito Lay plant tour (Friday during the day)? I still need a ‘buddy’ so let me know if you want to go!

  13. You got a ticket!!! YAYY!!! Can’t wait to meet you in person Paige!! Just, um, don’t bring the calipers, mmmkay? ๐Ÿ˜›

  14. Oh my gosh. I am totally behind on reading blogs, but I’m trying to play catch up, and I have to say I LOVE YOUR HAIRCUT! I have no idea how long it has been that short, but it looks amazing on you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I’m going to the HLS too! I’m excited to meet you there ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

