The Indian Food Bar is Set

I’m not sure I’ll ever enjoy Indian food in Bloomington/Normal again.

On Saturday night, I went out to a restaurant called the Chicago Curry House with a bunch of lovely bloggers for a dinner Gina organized:

IMG_8945

The peeps:

IMG_8962

IMG_8960

Amazing company! Still so stoked with all the awesome women (and men) I met this weekend.

Since there were several Indian food virgins, the group decided to dine family-style with several veggie options, starting with a fantastic starter of papadum and dippers:

image

a yummy, sweet Riesling:

IMG_8949

and plates of veggie appetizers:

IMG_8950

Now, by this point, I was sold. Sold! Already better than anything I’ve tasted at any other Indian restaurant.

But then the bread came. The naan and roti won over my heart.

image

Naan…the most soft, pillowy, thick naan I’ve ever set my eyes tongue on 🙂

image

And this roti changed my opinion on the usually lesser dense, crackly bread. It was just as soft and chewy as the naan! I could have eaten my own basket, honestly 😛

The entree was Chana Masala and Baigan Bharta:

IMG_8956

Subtly sweet and amazing.

IMG_8957

Spicy and velvety – as Laura (I think it was her..) described it.

Best Indian food experience eva!

So when Shane picked me up from the train station last night after getting home from the Healthy Living Summit, and immediately asked if I wanted to grab Indian food, I surprisingly thought it sounded good too. Indian two nights in a row? Why not?

Welll….maybe I should have waited a few days for my memory to fade of how fantastic the food at the Curry House was…

IMG_8964

My Indian food bar is set too high! This Yellow Dal just didn’t cut it 😉

IMG_8965

 

——

Well I’m taking today as a catch up day. A couple clients, deep cleaning of the house, grocery shopping, and LAUNDRY. Oh, and I have about a billion new blogs to read after this weekend 😀

6 Responses

  1. It seems like you girls all had a great time at Chicago Curry House- I haven’t made it down there, but I’ll have to try it out! 🙂 It was great to meet you this weekend- I hope you can make it up here for some blogger meet ups again!

  2. indian was SO much fun on saturday night!
    thanks again for joining in on the feast- it was awesome to finally meet you and chat 😀
    hope to see you again sometime soon!
    xoxo

  3. Oh my gosh – I am so with you on having so many new blogs!

    Okay, that naan just made me doubt my mexican food decision for the first time. I’m kind of mad you didn’t sneak a piece back to the room for your awesome roomies. lol.

    Glad you made it home safe! If you get a chance, could you send the pic of us from Saturday morning my way?

    Hope you have a great Monday and get all caught up:)

  4. The Curry House food was sooooo good. And yes, the baigan bharta was velvety, dreamy too 🙂

    It was great to meet you this weekend!

  5. […] nutrition, body image and healthy living. And obviously a big chunk of it was the experience of eating food both during the conference courtesy of the sponsors and that the city had to […]

  6. […] Went to Healthy Living Summit! […]

Leave a Reply

