Plan it Out: Sweet and Sour Cashew Tofu

Good morning 😀

Sunday night after I got back from Chicago, I unpacked, cleaned up, and then did something I haven’t done in a while – made a meal plan for this week’s meals! I knew I’d be behind this week, only having yesterday as a catch up day, so I wanted to do as much as I could to save time this week.

Five grocery stores and $100 later, and I was back home with a week’s worth of groceries.

IMG_8980

(about a 1/4 of what came home with me.)

Note: I don’t usually go to five grocery stores; two is more my style. But I had to make a couple extra stops since Fresh Market was out of tilapia – how can you be out of tilapia?!

The first meal of the week was Sweet and Sour Cashew Tofu (Chicken for Shane) and brown rice.

This meal tastes gourmet, but doesn’t require much hands-on time. I got a couple steps out of the way, like pressing and marinating the tofu, chopping up the pineapple, and toasting the raw cashews…

IMG_8990

And then while the rice was cooking and the protein was baking,

IMG_8991

I got some work done while sipping my (HLS swag) Relax Solixir.

IMG_8992

Such a light, crisp, subtly sweet flavor. I really love it!

IMG_8994

45 minutes later, and all I had to do was make the sweet and sour sauce, steam some asparagus, and assemble a simple salad:

IMG_8995

It was SO good!! Definitely a keeper. Definitely.

IMG_8996

Quick and Easy Sweet and Sour Tofu 

IMG_8999

Ingredients:

1/4 c. raw cashews

1 t. of coconut oil or coconut oil spray

1 t. sea salt

1 c. dry brown rice

1 block of extra firm tofu

1/4 c. fresh pineapple, finely chopped

1 t. maple syrup

2 T. apple cider vinegar

2 T. EVOO

1 t. sea salt

Sauce:

The sauce is made from this recipe, but I changed out the marmalade for 1/4 c. fresh crushed pineapple.

Directions:

Press tofu for at least three hours and marinate in a mixture the pineapple, maple syrup, vinegar, EVOO, and sea salt.Preheat the oven to 415 degrees. Meanwhile, coat a pan with the coconut oil/spray and turn on heat to medium-low. Add cashews, toss, and sprinkle on the sea salt. Toast the cashews for about 5 minutes while tossing frequently and monitoring closely to be sure not to burn. Let cool. Transfer the tofu to a baking sheet and cook for 20-25 minutes, flipping half way through. Meanwhile, cook the rice. When the tofu has about five minutes left, in a sauce pan, combine the sweet and sour ingredients. Turn up heat until it begins to bubble, and then reduce to low and simmer for five more minutes. Add cashews. Now just assemble! Layer the rice, then the tofu, and finally the sauce. Serves 4.

 

IMG_9000

Mmmm 😀

Well it’s going to be a busy, busy one! Better get to it – starting with a quick and dirty 3 mile interval run. Ciao!

Do you meal plan? What’s the system that works best for you? I typically don’t meal plan. I try every now and then, but typically I just go with a list to the grocery of random – usual eats to the store.

17 Responses

  1. Starting next week I think I’m going to start meal planning. I get seriously frustrated if I’m out of ideas/food in the middle of the week. Nothing good ever comes from it- that’s when I find myself snacking in the pantry!

  2. I’m trying to meal plan more and more, but find it really hard for 2 people who eat so differently and don’t like leftovers!
    But since I’ll have 3 months of maternity leave coming up I’ve made it a goal to start semi-meal planing and budget grocery shopping to use up everything in the kitchen and not let things waste anymore!
    And this recipe is definitely going to be on my rotation!

  3. That recipe looks awesome, I’m going to have to make it with my wife soon. She loves her sweet an sour …

    I liked the Solixir as well but found that it was better cold … room temp in the can wasn’t doing it for me.

    My wife and I meal plan every Saturday / Sunday for the week. We usually try to cook a larger meal on Sunday that will give us 6 servings (3 each) to bootstrap the week in a positive way. From there we plan every meal through Friday nights bad meal. That way we’re on autopilot when life starts getting in the way throughout the week.

  4. I plan meals on Sunday for the rest of the week. It makes life so much easier!
    Your asparagus looks beautiful and perfectly cooked.

  5. Hah, I love that you have the 2 proteins… I have to do similar stuff when cooking for the “other.”

  6. Meal planning has been vital to my weight loss journey! It not only helps me save money, but keeps me on track with my eating and keeps things fresh and fun as I constantly add new recipes to the mix.

  7. I definitely just bookmarked this. There are really no words to describe how yummy it looks!

  8. ohh those toasted cashews look so good! i love the idea of slightly toasting nuts and adding them to a dish!!!

  9. That dinner looks amazing! I love anything with sweet and sour sauce…and cashews! I don’t typically plan my meals, but sometimes I wish I did. It definitely makes life easier.

  10. 1. Thanks so much for this recipe! I have a block of tofu sitting in the fridge and I just might have to make this this week.

    2. I loved the Solixer, as well as the Herbal water. They are both so refreshing!

    3. I don’t meal plan, though I really wish I could get in the habit of it. It is so intimidating to me for some reason.

    Awesome post! Hope you have a great week!

  11. Sweet & Sour Chicken is one of my favs! I have never made it at home though. Thanks for a great recipe!

    Glad you made it home safe. My week has been insane, but I’m definitely ready to get back into a routine 🙂

  12. YUM! The tofu looks fabulous, Paige! I can’t wait to try this out!

  13. do i meal plan? well yes it’s high raw and vegan and fresh produce is the staple but do i plan it out recipe by recipe, no. As long as my fridge is well stocked, im good.

    great ‘fu recipe!

    and saw a few pics floating of you in the sphere that you were at hls. girl so happy for you!!! how fun!

  14. i play my meals daily because i go to the grocery store (almost) every day. since moving to Australia, we don’t have a car so i walk everywhere and can only carry so much. but i like it though! we always have fresh produce and i never waste any food.

    your stir fry looks delicious, btw, i really gotta learn to cook 🙂

  15. […] Quick and Easy Sweet and Sour Tofu Posted on August 19, 2010 by browniesandzucchini Last night for dinner, we made Sweet and Sour Tofu courtesy of Paige of Running Around Normal. You can find the recipe here. […]

Leave a Reply

