Fun Run Friday

Happy Friday! Was it really a week ago that I was fumbling my way around the El into Chicago to go to the Healthy Living Summit? It feels like I got back yesterday…

This morning I woke up not really sure what I’d do for my workout. I’m sure you’ve noticed, I’m a work out in the morning type of gal. I only like to shower once a day, and working out in the morning works out (ha) well with that preference. I knew I wanted to run, but an easy run, and I knew I wanted to lift weights.

So I channeled my mother, who does what I did this morning nearly every day. I ran the two miles and change to my gym, did the following tri-sets:

 

Single point row 20 lb dumbbells, 10 reps
Cable fly 12.5 lbs, 10 reps
Deadlift Olympic bar + 5 lb. plates, 10 reps

Repeat 3x’s

Weighted calf raise on box 25 lb. plate in each hand, 15 reps
Overhead cable extension 25 lbs, 10 reps
Stiff-leg deadlift olympic bar + 10 lb plates, 12 reps

Repeat 3 x’s

 

Then I used the bathroom and grabbed another drink and ran back home! It was an awesome way to change it up. I think I might start implementing this more Fridays 🙂 A fun Friday workout 🙂

I was starving when I got home. Running + weights = one hangry Paige.

But breakfast was oh-so-worth the weight.

 

IMG_9051

 

I layered banana protein oatmeal with yogurt in an oversized wine glass, with a little bit of Trader Joe’s Flax seed almond butter and granola on top.

IMG_9046

It was so delicious it inspired some creative photography.

 

IMG_9053 IMG_9054

Orrr just taking a picture of it through the glass table, haha

————

n00bies!

I wanted to take a minute and talk about some new products I’m loving right now.

Note: I bought each of these with my money; Flat Out or Laughing Cow is not compensating me for the reviews below

I was at Kroger the other day, when I walked past the deli section and did a double take:

IMG_9004

Flat Out bread pita chips?! Why haven’t I heard of these? Have you guys tried them before?

IMG_9005

If not, I recommend you go to your nearest grocer, and pick yourself up a bag.

 

IMG_9007

With hummus, these chips give Stacy’s a run for their money. Oh, yes.

The same thing happened while at Trader Joe’s the other day. Now, I’ve had the Laughing Cow cheese wedges before, and they’re great – individual little wedges that are great for being on the go.

IMG_9041

Wait, what? Blue cheese?! Why are these secrets being kept from me? I love love love blue cheese. It’s one of my favorite cheeses! Honestly, I really don’t eat much cheese anymore, but when I saw this, I had to make it mine.

IMG_9042

Used as a condiment in a veggie sandwich, it worked perfectly!

Again, neither of these companies are paying/compensating me for these reviews – I just had to share the wealth!

Well I’m off to get some laundry done. Being away for a weekend and then having a super busy week resulted in a full day’s worth of laundry for me. It actually needed to be done earlier than today, alas, it waited for me. Laundy’s nice like that 😉 Then I think a nice, relaxing night is in store tonight:)

Ciao!

Which new (to you) foods are you loving lately?        

11 Responses

  1. Ooooooo the blue cheese laughing cow!! Just saw them the other day and am DEFINITELY waiting for them to go on sale so I can stock up!!

    Other new favorite food find is Brownwood Farms Famous Kream Mustard. Please find this! YUM!

  2. We totally have the same wine glasses… lol. It seems a few of us are enjoying them in the blogger world! (Leah over at Why Deprive? has them, too!)

    I envy the serious morning workouts! I go into work for a later shift all next week (9-6), so I’m making sure to get some AM cardio time in… so much better!

  3. Mmm, hummus + chips is a never fail! I just got to try out some POM Wonderful juice and my goodness, I’m hooked!

  4. Um, I had no idea flat out had chips. That is EXCITING!

    Sounds like a great workout! I used to live super close to my gym and loved to run there but now it’s like 4 miles, so it doesn’t happen too often.

  5. We were on the El a week ago?! Time flies! Great new snacks, too.

  6. I love the blue cheese wedges on sandwiches ~ The chipotle queso ones are really good, too!

  7. I want to find those Laughing Cow Blue Cheese wedges! Looked everywhere.

  8. […] post the details of my next Friday Fun Run – it will capture how to utilize the last lovely days of summer while getting in a heart pumping […]

Leave a Reply

