Rumbly Shavasana

Let me preface this by saying that I am an eight-hours-of-sleep-per-night-girl. Give me eight hours, and I’ll give you a positive, upbeat, the-world-is-a-good-place Paige. Give me less and I’ll ask you, “what’s so good about it?” when you tell me good morning 😉

OK. Maybe I’m exaggerating on the latter half, but nevertheless. I know some people only need four or five to function and be fine – not me. I’m not sure whether I envy for feel bad for those people. Kelly Ripa only needs five hours of sleep per night. What does that tell you?? 🙂

So when I was tossing and turning for a couple hours last night, and glanced at the clock to see I was supposed to wake up in 5 1/2 hours to run six miles, I made the executive decision to give myself permission to turn off the alarm and run the six miles on Friday instead. However, when the husband tapped my shoulder and let me know it was 6:30, I felt rested enough to give it a go. I had just enough time to down some coffee, walk Niko for a warm up, and head out.

My goal was to run a quick, but fairly easy 6 miles and acheive a negative split:

IMG_9307

1 – 9:36

2-9:15

3 – 9:01

4 – 8:57

5 – 8:44

6 – 8:25

Success! 6 miles in 53:   . Average pace: 9:00 min/mile. This was also my longest “short” mid-week run I’ve ever done. The longest midweek run I’ve done before this is five miles.

Pretty good run seeing as my iPod died right before I left and I didn’t have my running buddies, Twista, Lil Wayne, the Glee Cast and Salena Gomez with me (we’re a mixed crowd.) It was actually for the better since the traffic was pretty high due to all the schools I ran past.

So back to yesterday.

Yesterday was quite the doozy at work. I got such little sleep the night before for some reason, that my eyes were dry and red the whole day. I had grand plans of going to a vinyasa class at a local yoga studio and kept going back and forth on whether I should go. At the last minute I said screw it, threw on some yoga clothes, gathered my mat, and hit the road:

IMG_9126 Ready to rock flow.

The class was all right. It wasn’t nearly as flowy, fun, and powerful as my old power yoga class was, but I’ll take it. I just bought a 3 class pass for now, so who knows. I may just consider David Farmar my yoga for now.

After class, I was starving. In fact, I think my rumbling stomach may have disturbed some of the participants shavasana 😉 haha

So, the husband and I made a semi-homemade dinner.

Semi:

IMG_9298

Homemade:

IMG_9300

The crust was an all-natural whole wheat crust, layered with some olive oil, homemade pizza sauce, freshly shredded mozzarella, spinach, and eggplant.

  IMG_9301

After 10 minutes in the oven, it turned into a melty, gooey, cheesey, goodness:

IMG_9302

My plate:

IMG_9304

IMG_9305 

This was amazing!!! I know hunger is the best ingredient, but this was really, really good!! I think the only thing I’d do differently next time is add more cheeeeese 🙂 I’d also like to try my hand at making some homemade crust again, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

—-

Tonight should be fun! After working at the BIC and training a few clients, I’m going out with some girlfriends for drinks for my friend, Heidi’s birthday 😀 I’m not sure how the night will go, so I cleared my schedule in case I need a few extra hours of shut eye tomorrow morning. Ahh…sweet rest! I miss you!

Ciao!

Do you make your own pizzas? What’s your favorite “topping” for it?

11 Responses

  1. Love making homemade pizza crusts and pizzas. That was a night my family enjoyed once a week!
    Great job on the 6 mile run.

  2. I haven’t made a pizza in forever, but I do love it!

    I miss yoga so much, my legs are craving it.

  3. Good job getting the run in because you felt up to it. Sure was a solid one. And your pizza looks delightful. I always have to have mushrooms on my piazzas.

  4. As my kiddos get older and I actually get some 8 hours of sleep nights, I am realizing I most definitely AM an 8 hour girl! What a difference it makes!

    Pineapple and tomatoes are a must for my pizza. It can any other toppings, but no tomatoes make me very sad.

  5. The ideal: vegan cheese, subdried tomato, little broccoli pieces, spinach, onions =D

    My sleep needs are AT LEAST 8 hours… in reality, I haven’t been getting that (6-7 is normal), but doing better lately.

  6. I do make pizza’s at home sometimes. My favorite thing to do is use BBQ sauce instead of pizza sauce. Adds a nice twist to the traditional pizza.

  7. I need my eight hours of beauty sleep, too. It would not be beautiful to spend the day with me if I only got 5!

    I love pizza at home. Mine is always semi-homemade because I have yet to master the pizza dough. Store bought works wonders for me!

  8. Awesome work on your run!

  9. Semi-homemade pizza rocks! Definitely my go-to when life gets crazy busy. My toppings of choice: Pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, fresh tomatoes, spinach, mushrooms and fresh mozz. drool.

    I usually can function on 6 hours of sleep a night, but 5 is pushing it. I laughed when I read about your rumbling tummy in Yoga class–totally had that happen to me before too! 🙂

  10. I probably need 8 hours of sleep…I usually only get about 6! I always say I need to work on this….Great job on the run whoop whoop! The pizza looks tasty. I love homemade pizza (probably more than anything we get at restaurants). I like TONS of veggies and sauce on mine

  11. I’ve been on a HUGE homemade pizza kick lately. I’m all about blending equal parts mozzarella cheese and zucchini (ala Jenna @ Eat, Live, Run) and doing pizzas w/ an olive oil, basil and garlic base vs. red sauces.

    I have no idea of how Kelly Ripa only functions on five hours of sleep/night. Anything under eight and I’m just.dying.

Leave a Reply

