I Love My Thunder Thighs

Mornin’!

I’ve got to share with you this amazing sandwich I made yesterday for my, erm, second lunch after my 10 miler. I bought a bad of ciabatta rolls from Fresh Market the other day for a recipe I’m trying out this week, but I had a couple extras and couldn’t wait to use them for a sandwich:

 

IMG_9344

 

I wanted to do a twist on a caprese-style combination. So I layered on the roll 1 green heirloom tomato, some leftover baked tofu that had been previously marinated in a cider vinegar + maple syrup + tamari marinade, a few basil leaves, a little mozzarella, and about a tbsp of balsamic reduction.

 

IMG_9342

Sooo so delicious!

 

IMG_9343

 

I enjoyed it with a little melon, which I splashed the remaining balsamic over for an extra kick.

————–

Thunder Thighs

So you all know this is running season for me. Come November after the 15k, I’ll spend the months through the winter attending exercise classes, cross training, and pumping iron like it’s my job (oh, wait…) However right now, it’s all about the running for me.

Since for a lot of runners it’s the peak of fall training, I thought I’d share with you a Nike advertisement I came across recently:

 

image

I love it. Awesome, right?! Love yo bod. Obviously this message can be for anyone with a level of fitness, not just runners 🙂

It’s extremely refreshing to see an advertisement like this – especially after seeing the Gap’s disgusting marketing efforts of making women feel ashamed of their stems:

 

image

Blech.

 

Why do you love your thunder thighs? I love my thunder thighs because they have taken me on more miles than I could ever think was possible. I love my thunder thighs because they take me on adventures like hiking, swimming, and snorkeling. I love my thunder thighs because they let me give this little one her exercise:

 

IMG_9332   

Niko loves her thunder thighs too 😉

Have a marvelous Monday everyone!!

21 Responses

  1. I love this Nike ad! They have an assortment of ads like this, so great!

  2. I love that ad. And you are right . . . the Gap one is just awful. As if I didn’t feel self conscious enough when I wear shorts (which is why I hardly ever wear them). I am really trying to appreciate my body though, including my thunder thighs. 🙂 Love the post!

  3. I love that series of Nike ads! They’re really empowering!

  4. I love that ad!
    I love my thighs because although they will never be like a model’s thighs, they can take me on runs, hikes, walks for hours, and I’m really proud I have such strong thighs 🙂
    Oh, and I can use them in self defense 😀

  5. i LOVE that nike ad! I have seen it before and ripped it out and stuck it on my wall! love it and love niko 🙂

  6. That is a great ad! I love it even more now that marathon training has morphed my legs into running machines. Haha. Every time I get to the top of a challenging hill, I feel more proud of them. Those muscles do their job well. They need to be there.

  7. ow! That does look like a fantastical sandwich. I love caprese combos, so I’d be all over this. That gap ad is pretty disturbing. I love my thighs because they make me an incredible step instructor. 🙂 (step is all about the lovely legs!)

  8. LOVE that ad!

  9. Great Nike ad! I love my thunder thighs because they are STRONG! 🙂

  10. Oh my gosh, I never heard about that Gap commercial until now. That’s awful!!!

    Love the NIke ad though. Go thunder thighs!

  11. I got that advertisement on a postcard at the marathon I ran a few years ago. I’ve had it tacked to my wall since 🙂 Love it!

  12. I love that Nike ad!! And it’s amazing what lengths clothing companies will go to just to get a sale. All of the women and men in their ads are practically naked, it’s degrading! Ok, enough of a rant for now 😉 I love my thunder thighs because they allow me to live and get from one place to another, and they also look very good when I wear shorts 😀

  13. wow i never saw that gap ad before! who the heck do they think they are?? nike knows what they’re talking about fo sho. Love it!

  14. Great ad! I used to not like my thighs, but I think they are growing on me… in a good way of course!

  15. Omg, I love this ad! How refreshing!

    I love my thunder thighs and my ghetto booty because they make me fast! I’ve been thinner in the past and have not been nearly as speedy. So for me, having strong big thighs and butt are necessary for a good performance.

  16. That Gap ad is HORRIBLE!

  17. Love it! Going to post it on my blog now! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  18. […] Nike? I LOVE it! Apparently it’s been out for a little while but I didn’t see it until Paige posted about it on her blog […]

  19. I saw that Gap ad at the mall the other day and immediately did a double take–wow, some companies really need to think before they advertise.

  20. Love that Nike ad! Her thighs look amazing!

  21. I haven’t seen that ad before, but I LOVE IT. 🙂

Leave a Reply

