Recipe Inspiration

Hey there!

Sounds like we have a LOT of pumpkin enthusiasm ‘round here! Although there were just a couple of ya who said pumpkin’s not your thang, seems like the majority of you are on the lookout for Libby’s.

I typically use pumpkin in breakfasts and desserts as documented in yesterday’s post. Well, I did indeed use up the rest of the can for yesterday morning’s breakfast as well:

 

IMG_9375

 

Let’s just call this (GREEN) pumpkin pie in a bowl, shall we?

This had ice, a frozen chopped nanner, water/almond milk, protein powder (vanilla,) chia seeds, ~ 1/3 c. pumpkin, ~ tbsp pumpkin pie spice, and one extra large handful of organic spinach.

 

IMG_9376

 

I wanted a little chew action with breakfast, so I made it a la bowl w/ half the pumpkin bread + half the homemade granola bar I’d already put in my lunch bag:D SO SO good.

This year I think I’ll try and use pumpkin more in other meals too, like dinner.

Lately I’ve been look to Food and Wine for recipe inspiration. I’ve never claimed to be a master recipe…maker, so this usually means I just do what the recipe tells me to do. Inspiring;)  Luckily, Food and Wine knows what they’re talking about!

The other day before heading to the gym to work for a few hours, I made this mushroom and goat cheese pasta:

 IMG_9367

 

I actually wasn’t so sure about this dish until I stirred in the goat cheese at the very end. It went from sub par to WOW in a matter of seconds:D

 

IMG_9368

The only thing I changed for this recipe was the type of pasta. But that’s just because while I was grocery shopping my mind told me spiral pasta=ziti. It does not, in fact. Since Shane thinks he doesn’t like goat cheese, I used extra parm for him, and he told me it was something he’d order in a restaurant!! [that’s a huge compliment coming from him.]

 

This Curried Chickpea and Eggplant dish was a delectable dinner!

 

 IMG_9357

 

I basically followed the recipe exactly, and I’m glad I did – what a winner! A blend of spinach, eggplant, and chickpeas, this meal was fresh, healthy, AND delicious:

IMG_9360

On the side I used up this little cutie I found at the market:

 

 IMG_9352

A buttercup squash! Anything that’s called a buttercup is good in my book. This was no exception! Sweeter than an acorn squash, it almost made for a dessert!

 

IMG_9357   

 

Almost 😉

IMG_9369

There we go!

—-

Where do you look for recipe inspiration? Do you have a favorite cooking website? Cookbook? Blog?

Have a wonderful Wednesday! Let’s make it over the hump!!

13 Responses

  1. I have found SO many great recipes on blogs. I also read cookbooks like novels. 🙂

  2. My favorite recipe blog is smitten kitchen — love it!!

  3. I usually go to myrecipes.com to get a recipe. They incorporate all of the popular cooking magazines on their website, so if i want something from Food&Wine, or Cooking Light..then it’s right there! Last week we made the spincah and artichoke bread pudding recipe from Food&Wine…it was terrible 😦 But that pasta one sounds yummy! I won’t write them off just yet 😉 Have a good humpday!!

  4. I often get inspiration from the Foodnetwork – I usually have it on all weekend long when we are home. I also get great ideas from blogs!

  5. I mainly look to blogs (How Sweet Eats is a fave) but I also check Cooking Light and MyRecipes when I am looking for something specific.

    Jessica has a recipe for pumpkin gnocchi that would make a great dinner!

  6. I like eatingwell.com but I find a lot on blogs also.

  7. My inspiration comes from meals I used to eat when I was younger. But my biggest inspiration is trying recreate the fantastic meals I have at restaurants. I like to try and recreate them in a healthy way:)

  8. That pasta looks great! I don’t know if it’s the fall-like weather or what, but I’ve been craving pasta more than usual!

  9. I love watching the Food Network and checking out their website as well as allrecipes.com. I get a lot of great recipes from blogs too!

  10. I am not an inspired recipe maker either! And when I get inspired, I don’t measure a thing, so I can’t even offer up a recipe if I wanted to.

    I get lots of ideas from blogs and magazines. I always put post-it tabs in a magazine when I see something I like, so I remember to go back to it.

    That pumpkin bread is calling me!!

  11. I love tastespotting and foodgawker, and I love searching blogs for inspiration.
    my only problem is that I don’t know what to make because of so many ideas and great recipes 😀
    love the pasta dish!

  12. […] Recipe Inspiration « Running Around Normal This had ice, a frozen chopped nanner, water/almond milk, protein powder (vanilla,) chia seeds, ~ 1/3 c. pumpkin, ~ tbsp pumpkin pie spice, and one extra large handful of organic spinach. IMG_ I actually wasn't so sure about this dish until I stirred in the goat cheese at the very end. It went from sub par to WOW in a matter of seconds:D. IMG_9368. The only thing I changed for this recipe was the type of pasta. But that's just because while I was grocery shopping . […]

Leave a Reply

