Put Your Skills to the Test

Hey hey hey! Happy Friday! What’s one exciting thing going on in your life today? I’m excited to finally tackle a to-do list that’s about a mile long 😉

Last night I knew I’d be getting home from training a little late for dinner, so I had Shane preheat the oven about 10 minutes before I got home. Because…we were having squash! It finally feels like it’s the weather to start having squash for dinner.

But first…

 

IMG_9387

Putting our newfound wine skills to the test.

Sidenote: Jason, the instructor for the wine class, told us that we should make the first drink of the day a new bottle of wine we’ve never tried before. The husband chimed in, “I usually go with coffee, but whatever you say, Jason!” heheh 😉

I told Shane to go grab a bottle of wine from the wine hutch downstairs, and surprisingly, he came back with an Australian Shiraz (aka Syrah)

IMG_9396

The husband usually picks fruity wines, so I was impressed that after one class, he’d gotten over that! And I knew he didn’t mistakenly think it was fruity, because he mentioned the alcohol percentage. The higher the alcohol, the lower the fruitiness

IMG_9397

 

 Not surprisingly, this bottle came with a screw cap or a Stelvin closure.

 

IMG_9400

Since this bottle traveled allll the way from Australia, a Stelvin closure makes sense, as they have the lowest failure rate out of the cork, rubber cork, and Stelvin closures. That’s a lot of shipping costs to have to ship back a bad bottle of wine due to a closure 😉

 

IMG_9388

“decanting” going on. I’m horrible at this. I end up inhaling wine which is never a good thing. LOL

45 minutes and a half of bottle of wine later, dinner was ready and we were ready for dinner.

 

IMG_9390

For the squash, I just cut it in half, placed each side upsidedown in a baking dish filled with a half inch of water, and baked at 425 degrees for about 40 minutes. While the squash was cooking, the black beans were marinating in a mixture of apple cider vinegar, tamari, maple syrup, and a little sea salt. During the last 10 minutes the squash was cooking, I flipped the sides over and added the beans.

 

IMG_9389 

Topped with goat cheese, this dish was FANTASTIC. The flavors went together impeccably!

 IMG_9391

However, don’t pair a shiraz with this dish 😉

As we were cleaning up the kitch, look where I found Clarabelle!!

 

IMG_9392

 

In between the two panes of glass in our dining room table!! Clearly I had to snap a picture before chasing her down and cleaning;)

IMG_9395 

—-

Well I’ve got a to-do list to tackle! You – have a fantastic Friday 😀

What’s your favorite squash? Mine’s the buttercup!

12 Responses

  1. I feel like there are so many different kinds of squash I haven’t tried yet… I hear the buttercup is good. Although I do have to say, I’m very loyal to my summer zucchini…

  2. haha 😀 Your cat is so cute! Sadly, I’ve only had one type of squash and that is butternut..but I am determined to try different kinds this fall! Good luck with your to-do list 😀 And happy Friday to YOU!

  3. Thank you for reminding me of that black bean and acorn squash recipe you gave me last season. It really is delicious.

    Our cat is too fat to fit between anything.

  4. yum yum that squash looks great. If only I could convince my husband to eat squash or beans…

  5. TGIF! I love kabocha and I have a new found love for butternut too haha 🙂 have a good weekend!

  6. Oh my gosh, I love your cat! That is so cute.

  7. Love the kitty! They do the cutest thngs! I like that you made the acorn squash the serving bowl 😉

  8. that squash looks so perfect for fall!! i love it! 🙂

  9. I’m with ya, though I love squash anytime, it just doesn’t feel the same eating it in the summertime. I LOVE that it’s officially squash/pumpkin season! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  10. Aww Clarabelle, what a funny spot. It doesn’t look very comfortable, though!
    My favorite squash is the butternut – I think I love it almost as much as sweet potatoes. I tried to grow my own this year but the plant is really behind… It just first went to blossom now!

Leave a Reply

