Go Ahead and Tri(set) Me

Happy Friday, friends!! How was your week? It went by pretty dang fast for me. Thank you SO much for all of your advice on Plantar Fasciitis. I was especially thankful for these additional tips that I hadn’t known about:

Beth and a couple others mentioned freezing a water bottle – it doubles as ice and a massage all in one!

Kasey who works at a running store mentioned wearing socks or boots to keep foot at a 90 degree ankle would help

Niki who is a physical therapist, said to stretch the plantar fascia before getting out of bed to ease it into a stretched position.

Thanks for the tips, guys!:D

—-

I just got back from training an early morning client, and it was a great session! In fact, I plan on going back to the gym here in a bit to do the exact same workout myself. I would have done it right after training, but I didn’t get a breakfast in before I left, and there was no way I was going to lift for an hour on a completely empty stomach.

So instead, I came home and tried the fitnessista’s breakfast cookie dough cereal!

 

 IMG_9541

 

I made mine more fall-like by adding a 1/4 c. pumpkin, some golden raisins, and a little pumpkin pie spice.

  IMG_9542

 

After that digests (and after Niko’s morning walk,) I’ll be heading back to the gym to pump some iron. But, I love this workout so much that I just have to share it with you.

 

image

source

Confession: I love quick-paced, hard hitting, triset workouts.

disclaimer: before trying any of these exercises or beginning any exercise program, please check with your physician.

Exercise Sets Reps
1a. Behind Neck Press 3 10 w/ 20 lb. barbell
1b. Long Arm Pullover 3 10 w/ 15 lb. dumbbell
1c. Barbell side lunge 3 on each leg 10 w/ 20 lb. barbell

Go through exercises  a-c three times for the first three sets of exercises, resting for 30-60 seconds between each triset

Exercise Sets Reps
2a. Single Arm Twisting Seated Row 3 on each arm 10
2b. Pushup 3 10
2c. Dumbbell Deadlift 3 10 w/ 15 lb. dumbbells

 

Exercise Sets Reps
3a. O/H tricep cable extension 3 10 w/ 20 lbs.
3b. Lat pulldown 3 10 w/25 lbs.
3c. Step ups 3 on each leg 10 w/ 15 lb. dumbbells

 

Exercise Sets Reps
Plank on medicine ball 3 60 seconds each
Back extension on ball 3 10 w/ 10 lb. plate

Phew!

The entire workout should take you about an hour to complete. I will also be posting this workout over on Fitconomy.

——

Sahale Snacks Anniversary Giveaway Winner!

The winner of the Sahale Snacks giveaway is Cynthia from Pretend Cook! Congrats, girl:) Send me your info and I’ll forward it on to Debby to get you your goods 😀

Well I’m off to go do Friday! Bring it on:) Hopes are that by the end of the day, my car will be cleaned out and my house will be spotless. I also have plans for a Bloomington/Normal blogger run this afternoon that I’m really looking forward to 😀

But before I go, I have to show you this hot and steamy picture…

 

 

IMG_0490

haha. Shane and I went out for Mexican the other night, and my veggie fajitas were so sizzling hot that they wouldn’t stop steaming for like 5 minutes!! I could barely see my date on the other side of the table for a minute!

Also – today kicks off 30 days of Vitamix meals on the blog! So far I’ve only made smoothies, so I’mma have to get creative up in here 🙂

Ok…off I go!

What’s your favorite breakfast of the moment? If you guys are like me, you’ll get stuck on one breakfast for a while before moving on to the next. Lately, mine is smooothies, but I have a feeling the cookie dough cereal could stick around for a while.

 

Have a fantabulous Friday, everyone!

14 Responses

  1. Happy Friday to you too! My fav breakfast is oatmeal with cinnamon, maple syrup, banana, peanut butter and dollops of greek yogurt and blueberry preserves…I’m obsessed. Today I ran out of oatmeal at work and had to eat a Luna bar from my desk stash, boo!

  2. I’m the same way with getting stuck on a breakfast. I have been switching it up more a bit lately though.

    And looks like a great workout. I love love love super and trisets. You will see them a lot starting a few months post baby! I can’t wait to hit the weights and come up with lifting programs again!

  3. That cereal combo sounds amazing! I’m loving big bowls of autumn oatmeal with apples, raisins, cinnamon, and kashi pumpkin flax granola bars crumbled on top 🙂

  4. i am the same way with breakfast — so funny. lately i have been on a kick of kellogg’s all bran buds with a greek yogurt.e like every single day for over 2 weeks now. it keeps me full and i get lots of protein and fiber!

  5. I am really into pumpkin pancakes right now, they are so good! Have a great weekend!

  6. My favorite breakfast as of late is pretty boring… 1/2 PB & jam sandwich on whole grain bread, and a string cheese!

  7. My fave breakfast is always a green monster but lately it’s been making me cold and I’ve been eating instant oatmeal with oikos at work. Pretty boring, but warm!

  8. I’ve been really off breakfasts for a while, don’t know why that is. I have to admit that lately I’ve been eating sprouted bagels with smoked salmon–expensive habit, I know.

    Steamy fajitas are the best!

  9. Thanks for sharing your workout! I’m headed to the gym to renew my membership tonight and I’ve printed it out to take with me! Can’t wait!!! Your cereal looks really yummy 😀 As for me, I get stuck in a ‘I love this fruit forever’ phase. It used to be grapefruit everyday, but now it’s back to bananas. Happy Friday!

  10. I’ve been switching between Chobani yogurt with granola and steel cut oats with peanut butter. The only constant has been my morning coffee. Have to have the caffeine!

  11. Can’t believe I won the giveaway! That is so awesome! I emailed you my info.

    Also, thanks for sharing your workout. I’m always looking for new strength workouts to add to my rotation. Weight training is the hardest thing to add to my daily workouts, for some reason.

  12. […] cleaned up a little bit while he finished homework and then we set out for the gym! A few days ago Paige shared an exercise routine on her blog that really caught my eye. You guys know that I love to run, […]

Leave a Reply

