Running with Blends

Hey there:)

I’ll start this Saturday post off by sharing with your meal one of Vita-Mix month!

 

IMG_9545

 

Fill er’ up!

 

IMG_9546

 

Pretty exciting, eh? 😉

 

IMG_9547

This is a classic smoothie I make – a Chocolate Mint green monster. As the month progresses, my Vita-Mix creativity will too, I swear hope.

The secret ingredient is mint leaves from our garden! I love our mint chocolate plant, but it is soooo aggressive.

 

IMG_9554

 

When I went to snip off some leaves, I had to cut it down something fierce. The mint + Vega Choc-a-Lot Shake and Go (which is now gone, sniff sniff:( ) makes a gooood tasting smoothie!

I ate this after getting home from doing the full body lifting routine I posted yesterday. It was tough, and both my quads, chest, and triceps aren’t letting me forget it this morning;)

After some cleaning, relaxing, and Glee re-watching, I started to get ready for workout #2 of the day. I usually don’t do two a days, but this was a special workout. I was meeting some Bloomington/Normal bloggers for a run/walk! 😀

Pre- run/walk fuelage:

 

IMG_9550

 

I used one of my Arnold’s coupons from the Healthy Living Summit this year to buy a package of Fill ‘Ems, Arnold’s bun-version of the sandwich thin.

 

IMG_9549

 

IMG_9551

 

As you can see, I wasn’t able to fill it very well, but it did the job – and it was yummy! Spinach, tomato, avocado, red bell pepper, + hummus.

Then I was off to meet the girls on a running trail in town!

 

IMG_0492

 

Laura, Lindsay, Christine, and me. Love Blogger friends! (Blends)

We all had such a great time! I had met Lindsay and Christine before, but it was my first time meeting Laura. It was so nice to meet you, Laura! My Garmin died about 5 minutes into the run (typical) but Christine let us know we ran about 3.9 miles and walked even more. We were out for about an hour and a half and the time FLEW because we were gabbing the whole time.

I kinda lost track of time, because I meant to get home by 6:00 to meet my parents for dinner!

 

IMG_0493

 

But after the quickest shower in the world, a little spray dry shampoo, and a makeup reapplication, we were out the door. We went to Olive Garden and it was one of those nights where I just forgot to take pictures of anything, y’know? How exciting is Olive Garden really, though? We’ve all been there 🙂 But I ordered the whole wheat linguini pomodoro and had 1.5 breadsticks and some salad. And I was stuffed!

Even too stuffed to have one of Lindsay’s mom’s famous cookies she gave us today:

 

 IMG_9556 

The husband and I started a True Blood episode when we got home, but when it ended we were both fast asleep and it was only 10:00. After trudging upstairs to bed, we amazingly slept another nine hours!! I’m never able to do that anymore, so it felt awwwesome.

Today it’s pretty rainy around here, but I’m working at the gym a good part of the day anyway, so that’s just fine with me:

IMG_9553         

 

I hope everyone has an awesome Saturday!!

What are you weekend plans this weekend? Aside from my 10 miler on Sunday, I hope to take it pretty easy, because this coming week is very heavy on the work-side.

 

**I am bound and determined to finish my new blogroll this weekend. If you’d like to be on it, and are not on my current blog roll, please let me know! (Also obviously adding everyone in my Reader:))

21 Responses

  1. Yea for blog meetups! I’m pretty pumped for the Hot Chocolate Run- I think quite a few people will be around to meet up again! 🙂

  2. Blog meetups are great. It’s so nice meeting people with similar interests as your own!

    I have a pretty laid back weekend. Some exercise, college football and cleaning. Nothing exciting but I’ll make it fun:)

  3. I need to try a greenie with mint!! Never thought of that combo 🙂 I have vitamix envy.

  4. I would love to be on your blogroll! 🙂
    I’m in Napa right now for a wedding! LIfe is rough. 🙂

  5. It was nice to meet you too! I woke up and my inner thighs were screaming “OMG–WHAT DID YOU DO TO ME?!?!” 🙂 I was sore…but in a good way. It sounds sadistic, but because I do basically the same workouts every week teaching group fitness classes, it’s nice to feel sore for once! Also, how addictive are those cookies, right?! Nom nom nom.

    Have a wonderful weekend and I hope we can have another Blo-No Blends meet-up soon!

    • Ahhh those cookies are addictive! Yes we’ll definitely have to meet up again soon – next time in your stomping grounds hopefully! I’m ready for some group fitness! 🙂

    • So glad we all got to meet up! It was a good time! Those cookies were insane good! I’m glad Rob swiped three of them cause I could have easily eaten them all. 🙂 Looking forward to another meet up.

  6. Yay for a bloggie run! That chocolate mint smoothie sounds awesome..it sort of brings mint chocolate chip ice cream into mind 😉 I didn’t get to do that workout set that I printed out yesterday, but tomorrow is totally a gym day and I am gonna knock that sucker out! Can’t wait to try it! I’ve heard a lot of good things about True Blood..I think once we finish Dexter we may add it to the Netflix list 😀 Have a great Saturday Paige!
    P.S. I’d love to be on the blogroll!! 🙂

  7. Hi Paige! Just came across your blog and am loving it! Where are you from??

    I’m in the market for a Vitamix, I’m soooo excited! My mom is buying me one for getting my MS degree. Any suggestions on models??

    Have a great weekend!!!

    -Laur

    • Hi Laur! I’m in central Illinois in Bloomington/Normal. From Iowa…even more exciting (haha) That’s so exciting!! I have the 5200 but honestly I’m not the best person to ask. I asked Heather (from HEAB ) and she recommended the 5200 – refurbished – because it’s a LOT cheaper, and that’s what mine is. I love it so far!

  8. Planning on watching True Blood tonight:-)

  9. Running with blends is so fun! It’s really one of my favorite ways to chat and catch up with my buddies. Some of my closest friends are girls I met through running/blogging. Enjoy the weekend!

  10. I am so glad that you are still addicted to the cookies and I am sure that you will find room to have some tonight!! I cannot wait until we can meet up again for another workout!! 🙂

  11. Oh and True Blood is the BEST!! 😀

  12. Do you have an older Garmin? Just curious as to why it died so early in your run. (Or was it just not fully charged).

    I haven’t tried green smoothies yet, but I like the sounds of a chocolate mint one, and we have mint in our garden! We typically use it for mojitos 🙂

    • I have the Garmin 305, it’s a user error. As in it’s typical that its user forgets to charge it 🙂

      • ahhhh..hehe. I’ve had that happen a couple times on unplanned bike rides or hikes. My husband and I have decided last minute to go do something and I realize my watch is on its way out. I’ll try to plug it in up until we leave, but expect that it won’t last long.

  13. Looks like quite the fabulous day! Gotta love “blends”. I haven’t seen those arnolds thins- I totally want to pick up a pack. And your little halloween cookie looks delicious. Hope your Sunday is just as fantastic

Leave a Reply

