Bitter and Sweet

Right as I headed to work yesterday at the gym for a few hours, the rain stopped and the clouds parted. So it made for a sweet sunny view from inside the gym 😉 I knew it was still bitterly cold with the wind blowing the trees around though 😉

On the workout front, I’d planned yesterday as a rest OR cross training day. I suppose it was more cross training than rest.

Activity involved:

Walking Niko for a quick 15 minutes before work

 

IMG_0496

 

Riding the stationary bike at the gym for an easy 35 minutes while I read my book

 

IMG_1329

 

A little yoga to stretch out my tight quads and chest

And hours upon hours of pro-style golf on some pretty sweet courses in Hawaii

 IMG_1332

 

Oh wait, that’s Tiger’s activity for the day;) Sidenote: whenever Shane and I play a game together, our “guy’s” name is Paine…Shane + Paine =cPaine. Pretty sweet right? haha Sadly, when I was directing our guy, he played like crap. I was kinda bitter 😉

It’s been quite some time since Shane and I have stayed in on a Saturday night playing video games. But when can I say? The new Tiger is pretttty sweet🙂

Meanwhile, there was dough a-rising:

      IMG_9559

 

And sauce a-cooking:

 

IMG_9558          

Pizza night! But pizza takes a long time to make when making the dough and sauce from scratch, so we had a pre-pizza-meal:

 

 IMG_9567

 

This has become one of the husband and my favorite things to do in the evening – enjoy appetizers + wine + conversation.

homemade pico and guac:

 

IMG_9562

 

Delicious manchengo cheese:

 

IMG_9564

 

And expensive, fancy wine crackers:

 

IMG_9565

 

Does anything really beat a Ritz cracker? Don’t answer that… They’re good!

Now back to the pizza. For the dough, I used Kath’s recipe, which is the best crust I’ve made ever. Ever ever ever.

 

IMG_9569

 

It’s better than any of the premade ones too, obviously.

For the sauce I chopped up a mixture of cherry tomatoes and roma tomatoes, simmered them in a pan with a little EVOO + chopped garlic for about 15 minutes, and then added a splash of red wine vinegar, a 1/4 c. fresh basil, s&p, oregano, and about a 1/4 c. of tomato paste, brought it to a boil, and then simmered for another 15 minutes.

 

IMG_9568

 

SO easy to make at about the same cost as jarred sauce, WITHOUT weird, scary, unknown corn ingredients.

I was inspired by Jenna’s zucchini and ricotta pizza, and decided to use her method of grating a whole zuchinni to be used as my topping:

 

IMG_9570

And Shane had cheese and pepperoni.

Yummm

IMG_9574

 

Looking forward to leftovers today 😀

And now…I’m about to leave for a 10 mile run. In the bitter cold.It’s 38 degrees!!! Not so sweet…as I’m sitting here in a fluffy robe in the kitchen 😉

And with that, I’m off.

What’s your favorite cracker? You know, I love the fancy wine crackers, and I love Mary’s (Gone) Crackers, and I love Dr. Krackers, but nothing beats a good old Ritz!!

11 Responses

  1. WOW!! That pizza looks amazing! Yum!!

  2. Those pizzas look fabulous! Yum. I love Dr. Krackers too, but I think my favorite, basic cracker are water crackers – especially the kind with sesame seeds.

  3. Good luck on your 10 mile run! And I think homemade pizza is the best way to go, that way you know exactly what’s in it and how it was prepared 😀 Video games rock! Jason and I like beer and Guitar Hero, haha. Never played Wii before but I hear it’s pretty awesome! And now I’M off to try out your strength training combo!!

  4. I LURVE zucchini on pizza! Between that and eggplant I don’t know which I prefer! I always used to be a Club crackers addict…but my roomie recently bought a bag of the new flat out crisps and OH EM GEE…new favorite!

  5. Just started the 2nd of the series…I loved the first one but I hear the second book is the best! I need to try zucc on pizza — I have some trader joe’s dough ‘illin in the fridge and ricotta left over from the other night…sounds like I just need to get ahold of a zucchini 😉 Have fun on your run — it’s in the low 60’s in Philly and I thought THAT was cold. Brrr 38!

  6. Ohhh! What great looking homemade pizza. And I love days that include light and fun activity like that.

  7. That pizza just literally made my stomach growl… I have had such a pizza craving lately, even though I’ve been indulging it!

  8. We have our own little happy-hours too, I just love it.

    Adore.homemade.pizza. It’s the easiest thing to make and yields the most delicious result.

  9. yay for pizza at home! 🙂 Yours looks great. I need to try that zucchini pizza already. I made a hummus one this weekend – yum!

    Nick was talking about Manchego cheese the other day. Guess i need to find some!

Leave a Reply

