Fall Means to Me…

Hey guys! How’s your Monday shaping up for ya? 🙂

So it sounds like we’re all omelet eaters when it comes to eating breakfast out. It’s funny because at home I almost always eat a sweet breakfast (waffles, oatmeal, cereal, etc) but when out, it’s omelet time!!

I’m at the gym working away, but I thought I’d throw in a post for some afternoon reading 🙂

I’ve always been known to say my favorite season is summer, and the rest all pale in comparison. But really, guys, I’m realizing just how awesome fall really is.

I know it’s a super short season.

And it means winter is coming.

And the fall colors are just there because stuff is…dying.

But it’s also one of the prettiest, most nostalgic and wonderful times of the year.

 IMG_0602

And it’s the best weather for…

going Frisbee golfing on a Sunday afternoon:

 IMG_0599

 IMG_0597

Biking down the trail…

 

 IMG_0595

…to a local pub for some FOOTBALL:

  IMG_1354

and the obligatory beer that goes along with it 😉

IMG_1353

And last but not least, comfort food:

 

      IMG_9713        

Yesterday after taking a long bike ride on the trail, I came home and wanted something soothing for the soul.

Can anyone tell me a dish more soul soothing than macaroni and cheese, please? Didn’t think so. And none of that blue box stuff (though it is mighty tasty…)

 

IMG_9718

 

So I cooked up a box whole wheat elbow noodles – and snuck in some veggies in the form of cauliflower 😉

IMG_9716

 

then warmed up the three dairies (1.5 c. cheddar, 1 c. manchengo, and 1 c. Greek yogurt)

And combined them to make one super duper comfy meal:

 IMG_9714

Simple, no? Delicious, no? 😉

This makes WAY more than one serving by the way – probably more like 5 or 6? That bowl is HUGE.

——

Back to work I go…

What’s your favorite comfort food? What dish soooothes your soul? Besides macaroni and cheese, mashed potatoes just do it for me.

 

PS –> Check out this week’s seasonal recipes from other bloggers!

10 Responses

  1. I can’t even remember the last time I have mac n’ cheese. I’m thinking I was around 12! Your’s looks soooo goood. I’m more of a grilled cheese & tomato basil soup fan when it comes to comfort food. I think its because my momma used to make the for me when I flew home from college for winter break. It just makes me feel good 🙂

  2. I love mac and cheese! I’ve never thought to use greek yogurt….yours looks so good!

  3. Oh. my. mac&cheese. I probably would’ve eaten that whole bowl. That is one of my favorite foods! I’ve never played frisbee golf before but I have friends that do..it sounds interesting! My fav comfort food is beer (it’s a food right? or at least a comfort? 😉 and mac and cheese or pizza..or french fries..or chocolate cake…or. I better stop

  4. Wow, definitely going to need that mac & cheese recipe! That looks delicious. And it’s totally healthy because of the cauliflower 😉

  5. Mom’s meatballs and spaghetti! I’ve tried to make it myself, but it is never the same as when made by Mom. I’m looking forward to it this winter on a cold night. Yummy!

  6. A. I really need to get on board with the cauliflower and macaroni thing.

    B. My favorite “comfy” meal is tater tot hotdish. It’s SO not healthy or “clean” or whatever, but it’s beyond wonderful when it’s freezing outside.

  7. I always sub greek yog in mac n cheese its a fantastic addition!! 🙂 My favorite comfort food…………grilled cheese 🙂

  8. I used to hate fall, but I’m warming up to it as well.

    Mac and cheese is the ultimate comfort food. I love it.

  9. I think my favorite comfort food is grilled cheese sandwich with tomato soup. Love it!

Leave a Reply

