Scrambled, ‘Fu

Hey guys 😀 How ya doin? Pretty good over here. A bit tired, though! After a long day’s work at the gym, I had to haul booty to another gym where I play indoor women’s’ volleyball. It’s SO fun – but exhausting since I don’t get home until late.

When I did eventually get home, I wanted a bit of comfort in my tummy:

 IMG_9731 

last night’s mac and cheese – with a side of vegetarian baked beans – did the job just fabulously! 😀

 IMG_9735

Mmm mmm mm.

Since I ran four quick miles yesterday morning, I ixnayed my running plans for today. Ever since my hip and fascia pain, I just don’t want to over do it. Instead, I hopped on the elliptical for about 30 minutes before completing this upper body circuit routine upstairs in the home gym:

Arnold Press – 10 lbs, 10 reps

Long Arm Pullovers on the ball – 15 lbs – 10 reps

Reverse flies – 8 lbs, 8 reps

Pushups – 8 reps

Triceps dips – body weight, 12 reps

Hammer curls – 10 lbs, 12 reps

Repeat! Two more times.

My appetite was kind of off this morning too…I woke up not hungry at all. So I did this workout on an empty stomach. It’s not something I recommend, but I had a fairly big dinner not too long before going to bed the night before. Usually after morning workouts, I am starved! However, today this was not the case.

So I figured to roll with it since I didn’t have any particular cravings (at all) in general. But clearly, I needed some protein after pumping some iron. Hmm

So I got to thinking… I’ve never made a Tofu scramble. Today’s the day to change that!

Into the vitamix went 1/4 yellow onion + 1/4 green pepper + some button mushrooms:

 

IMG_9724      

chop chop!

I sautéed those along with some tomatoes and spinach in a pan, and while sautéing, I threw a 1/4 block of silken tofu in to chop. Note: I used silken, but I’d recommend regular. Silken was a little too soft.

Next I threw in the tofu, along with some spices – salt + pepper, tumeric, and cumin – to give it that scrambled egg taste 🙂

IMG_9728

It turned out just like scrambled eggs, but…without the eggies!

But apparently I didn’t lose myself completely – I rounded it out with somethin’ sweet:

IMG_9727

One Ezekiel cinnamon raisin english muffin – half with just organic butter – and half with my pumpkin dip.

IMG_9729

Pumpkin dip consists of:

  • 1 c. pumpkin
  • 1 c. silken tofu
  • 2 T. maple syrup
  • 2 t. pumpkin pie spice

 

IMG_9726 IMG_9730

Yum!

Busy day up over here – workin’ at the BIC and the training a few clients. Such are Tuesdays lately! 🙂

Hope you guys have a really good day!!

—–

Do you notice your appetite any different when you have a nighttime snack versus no snacks after dinner? I definitely do! Sometimes I’ll eat a nighttime snack just because I know I won’t want to eat breakfast before my morning workouts!

8 Responses

  1. It depends on what the “after dinner” snack is for me… Sometimes, when it’s something sustaining like peanut butter, it does do wonders on keeping my appetite from raging before the morning workouts…

  2. I’m just the opposite… I generally cannot eat for a little while in the morning (I wake up at 5…) but if I eat late at night, I wake up STARVING. 😀

    that scramble looks GOOD… I’ve never tried it before… I may have to…

  3. Ok that dish is simply too easy to not try, looks friggin amazing. And perf for cooler temps in my opinion.

    I’ll also take anything pumpkin:)

  4. I’m totally the opposite! I always get hungry at night (or just, I’m always hungry) and if I don’t eat a snack, I am fine in the morning and not uber hungry.

  5. Interesting tofu scramble. I’m working on perfecting mine… I like mine a little crispy. 😉

  6. Yay! Another set for me to try, haha 😀 I’m always a breakfast person, and I usually have a big enough dinner to where there is no room for snacking afterward. If I know that I am going to the gym in the morning than I will usually take something with me or plan on eating afterwards. Have a good day!

  7. my appetite is so random. the only thing i notice is that if i work out later than usual and don’t eat a big dinner, i am STARVING in the morning. last night this was definitely the case…as i randomly woke up at 2:45 am and started eating the bread that i just made. haha!

  8. my clients all the time ask about eating and working out on an empty stomach I always recommend they eat something esp if they are weight training!!! I do understanf if you had something heavy the night before and didn’t want anything first thing in the AM…thats happened to me before too!

    YUM that pumpkin dip sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

