Happy Wife, Happy Husband

Hiiii there! Thanks for all your sweet comments on yesterday’s Is That So Wrong post. Wrong or not – it’s true! I liked reading your contributions too 😉

The other day when I had a couple free hours to spare I meandered on out to the local Border’s. I’ve been waiting for this to happen for quite some time. You see, every now and then I like to use my free time to peruse the shelves at Borders, taking in the smell of new books and the sights of a plethora of words between pages.

I went in and started accumulating quite a stack in my arms. Two different genres for each arm – fitness and food.

Ellie Kreiger left with me:

 

 IMG_9708        

Ellie’s books are basically a dream cookbook for a vegetarian and a meat-eater living together, eating at the same table each night.

 IMG_9703

This is because basically any of her dishes can quite easily be made vegetarian, and vice versa.

 

I bought her other cookbook about a year ago, and some of my staple meals are made from it:

 image

Like…Portabello Lasagna Rollups!

 image

Keeps me happy, keeps the husband happy. This is what I like to see!

Her newer cookbook, called So Easy (which is PERFECT for me) came to fruition last night in the kitchen. I got home a little later than “ideal dinner time” last night and had my eye on a certain recipe – Quesadillas!

IMG_9743

This recipe called for a filling mixture of mushrooms, onions, garlic and spinach and some spices. It also called for chicken. But I simply added black beans instead! Then at the end, I added Shane’s chicken to his tortillas only.

While we were grilling, chopping, and cooking, we drank!

IMG_9741

And ate!

IMG_9742

And then after getting the tortillas nice and brown, it was time to dig in!

IMG_9743

Line up the dippers!

IMG_9746

Innards:

IMG_9745

These were SO delicious. And SO EASY 😉

—-

Well I’m off to go do a quick hip-opening flow and then take Nikomon on a walk before work! Have a great Thursday, loves!!

What’s your “go-to” cookbook?

8 Responses

  1. I don’t use cookbooks often… but when baking, I’m a big Martha Stewart fan. I’ll reference her before I check out other recipes…

  2. I totally want that cookbook. I love Ellie. Her recipes are delicious and healthy. And I obviously live in the same situation (veg wife, meat eater husband)- so this is perfect for me. Quesadillas are the perfect. My go to cookbook is Giada’s everyday italian

  3. I love Ellie’s recipes! My go man is Mark Bittman though.

  4. I love Ellie’s recipes. I have her first cookbook too and love it. Now I’m intersted in the one you bought! I love Giada’s cookbooks and Ina Garten’s!

  5. I’ve only tried a few of Ellie’s recipes and wasn’t impressed but I have one on the menu for this weekend- I hope it works out. Your ‘dillas look really great! 🙂 My go-to recipes are anything by Ina Garten!

  6. I’ll have to check out that cookbook! Doesn’t she have a show on Food Network? I think I remember seeing her on there. My go-to “cookbook” is actually a website! Myrecipes.com is awesome. You just type vegetarian into the search and BOOM! There are tons of them on there!

  7. Looks awesome. I’ll have to try that cookbook. I have a lot of cookbooks, but I typically go to websites for ideas on websites. Sparkpeople is great for healthy ideas and I also love eating well.com

Leave a Reply

