A Recovery Day

Hey hey!

Today’s been a “recover” day. You know when you’re away for the weekend, you get back home, go right to work the next day, and can’t catch up on what you need to until the following weekend? That sucks. That’s why I always schedule in a “recover day” from trips away from home. And after dance parties with the girls, a day of shopping, and running a race, a recovery day was much needed. Recover days consist of this:

30% laundry

20% cleaning

20% errands

5% workout

15% baking

10% lounging

Done and done! Now I’ve got a little break before cooking dinner and heading off to train a client and play some volleyball! It’s a late game tonight.

Today’s eats were all about recovery as well. If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been falling apart lately what with my foot and hip pain. The latest one to add to the list would be my left shoulder. I’m pretty sure I sleep on it wrong every single night, and it’s getting to the point where it’s a little painful when I do a front raise – especially in the morning!

Recover me breakfast:

 

IMG_9774           

I was feeling the fall oats this morning! With the addition of organic currants [vitamin C, phosphorus, calcium, and iron,] chia seeds [antioxidant overload,] pumpkin, p.p. spice, flax, + banana.

IMG_9778

And a heart shaped out of PB+ pumpkin butter! 😉 I’m not big on toppings for oats – a little peanut butter is usually all I need. The oats give enough chew for me – so nuts and dried fruit…and baked goods don’t really appeal to me.

This energized me through a 3.75 mile easy run + some leg work at the gym, errands, and a shower!

Recover me lunch:

IMG_9786

This was phenomenol – and all it is is cauliflower, broccoli, + mushrooms tossed in hummus surrounding a scrambled 1 egg + 2 egg whites all on top of a bed of spinach.

IMG_9787

Alongside a smooothie

IMG_9783

A Cherry-nilla smoothie! ~15 frozen bing cherries, 1 c. almond milk, 1/2 scoop vanilla jay robb, 1/4 c. plain greek yogurt, 1 frozen banana, and 1 tsp vanilla extract.

IMG_9784

This was SO good. And cherries are known for their anti-inflammatory properties!

IMG_9785

Wheat germ on top!

I’ve heard about cherries being natural anti-inflammatory for quite a while, but this weekend my girl Kim brought up a great point. She mentioned that a good part of her fiance’s family deal with Plantar Fasciitis and they use pure cherry juice to combat it. I’d never thought of this! So of course I had to pick up a jar while I was out running errands today:

IMG_9791

But it’s rather tart on its own, so I paired it with some club soda!

IMG_9792 - Copy

A tasty and medicinal beverage!

Well the husband’s home from work and I’m going to go spend some time with him before I have to leave. Have a great rest of your day, friends!! 😀

How do you recover from a weekend away? Do you give yourself an extra day to gather yourself (and your dirty clothes!) after being away?

5 Responses

  1. Oh, Mondays are always my recovery days 🙂 LOVE your heart in your oats by the way!

    I’m more relaxed getting some things (like laundry) done on Sundays, but Mondays are good for delicious and clean eats, working out, and some quality couch-time!

  2. Love your recovery day! Your eats look fantastic!

    I do always try to take a day to recover after trips and such. But usually it turns into more of a work day. Anything to feel caught up, though!

  3. I usually try to make Monday either a rest day from exercise or a yoga day, that way I can look forward to a relaxing night at home. It makes Mondays much more tolerable!

    I’ve heard that about cherries, but never tried cherry juice. Good idea!

    I hope your injuries feel better soon girl!

  4. Nomnomnom to your oats and smoothie 🙂 and humus on broccoli? Love the idea! Glad you were able to have a recovery day!

  5. I had oatmeal with pumpkin butter and nut butter today! I know, I am behind on your blog again.. don’t punish me.

Leave a Reply

